We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location was great, very nice staff, the most comfortable beds! We were in town for a family affair but took in all that Philly had to offer and made some great family memories at the DoubleTree Philadelphia City Center, thank you! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,452 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent one night here while visiting friends in Philly. The hotel is in a good location, near City Hall and close to a lot of restaurants and night life. We didn't have to take a cab at all.

The staff was helpful when checking us in and gave us a cookie.

The rooms were spacious and had a nice view. The beds were comfortable. The baths were half updated (everything but the tub).

We had breakfast in the room. It was expensive, just like room service at most hotels. The food was good although it was a bit cold by the time it was served 45 minutes after we ordered it. Recommend trying somewhere else for breakfast.

I did not pay full price for the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nothing special, but nothing bad. It fits the bill, but didn't dazzle. Seems like a older building that has been updated pretty well, but still see the old building here and there. Windows for all room are a nice corner except when in the corner you can look into corner windows of rooms on either side of you. It is still private as long as you aren't standing right by the windows.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Trip was business and family combined. The pool was over treated adn casued my adult eyes to burn and my 9 year old son got a chemical burn or allergic type reaction to the pool water from the chemicals used.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was typical of all the others in it's class. What makes a property stand out is all the little things that make a stay memorable. I didn't find many positive things. The lounge staff seemed more interested in talking among themselves than in attentive service. The room was clean and comfortable, but the thermostat on the wall wouldn't work properly because the heat from the TV in front of it would over-ride it. The ice machine down the hall sounded like an idling diesel truck. This is not a bad hotel, it is just sadly average.

Room Tip: Avoid the ends of the hallways! There are staff entryways at the ends and they pay no heed to how mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougDVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We’re sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure issues like these are not repeated. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement. We strive to be better than average!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here while attending a trade show in Philadelphia. The hotel is what I would expect from a Doubletree and had a fairly modern decor. These are not suite-style rooms and do not include a micowave/refrigerator. Within easy (~5min walking) distance, there are so many wonderful bars and restaurants, especially on 13th street. There is construction going on nearby which was noisy during the day, but in the evening it was very quiet.

Room Tip: The ice machines were located near the XX01 room on one of the floors and I can imagine it was disru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Meghan at the front desk: Excellent service, quick, and very sharp. Zero folio request, BAM. Delivered. Done. Questions on parking lot logistics? BAM, perfect simple explanation.

Bartenders and staff in the lobby bar: Perfect service. I ordered GG and lemon juice and my coworker ordered a mojito. BAM. Fresh lemon juice, fresh mint, and 2 perfect cocktails.

Held a company event in the Ormandy Room. Perfect. Bartenders, drinks, staff, all perfect.

Looked for a Starbucks and couldn't find one. Ask the bar staff. BAM. A good cup of coffee and a green tea. Done.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AminaSokarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,319 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $112 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing