We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little small room but great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
241 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A little small room but great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room I had wasn't super high in the tower and was shaped a little strangely and so the room was a little cramped with a king bed. The bathroom was also a little smallish - but not unexpected for a big downtown hotel.

Not a huge issue as only really spent time there to sleep but generally everything was comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the wireless internet connection was pretty good.

Although they didn't upgrade my room, I did have access to the executive lounge upstairs and there were nice views up there and decent happy hour snacks and morning breakfast. That is always a nice treat.

I also had a chance to use the workout room. While they had 6-8 cardio machines, it was jam packed at 545am (luckily someone was just finishing so was able to get on the machine I wanted).

I would agree that the location was pretty amazing - 2 blocks from city hall and right in the heart of the Arts district - just a few blocks away from all the boutiques and decent shopping and local restaurants (I had probably the best vegan meal of my life 3 blocks away!)

Would definitely look at this one again but hopefully it won't be as full next time so I can get a room upgrade!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    1,242
    512
    208
    90
See reviews for
770
767
230
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirts of downtown Philadelphia. I would not feel safe walking alone in the area. Parking lot is deserted and creepy at night. Long wait to check in. Room seemed fine at first until I found a wet urine stain in the bed. Staff was very rude about handling the problem as if I was bothering them. Not sympathetic or apologetic at all. Not the type of service I expect from a big-name chain. Would not recommend. Would never stay here again. Too many other great choices in the downtown area.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPM, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear lucksgirl,
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. We apologize that you were not happy with our location. Our hotel is located in the heart of Center City; directly across the street from the Academy of Music, the Merriam Theater, the Kimmel Center, and 4 blocks from Rittenhouse Square. Our neighborhood is active and safe. Relative to the situation you are describing about the condition of your bed, we would appreciate if you could contact our Director of Front Office at 215-893-1653 to get more details as we cannot find any reports as described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for its location. We were given a room on the 16th floor so we had a great view of the city (the rooms have huge corner windows). The location is within walking distance to city hall and Independence Hall. There is a parking garage attached to the hotel and unlike other hotels, we were not charged an extra day for leaving our car there after we checked out (we had until 10:59 p.m. before being charged an additional day).
The rooms was clean and the beds and pillows are very comfortable - the best we have had in hotels. The only complaint is the heating/air unit - it is very loud (sounds like a plane getting ready to take off) when it turns on. It repeats the sound 4-5 timed each time it kicks on.
Despite that, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for two reasons - great view and further from street, which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Doubletree in Philadelphia Center City really is at the center of everything. Literally EVERYTHING is walkable. The rooms are very spacious and cozy. I felt like I was at a 5-Star hotel. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have gotten to stay here twice, once when looking for an apartment and once just to "get away" into some luxury for a night. We live in Philly and the Doubletree is just 5 blocks away from us. Both times we have been upgraded to a nicer room and have gotten free breakfast. Their rooms are clean, quiet, and so comfortable. The breakfast is also delicious...don't miss the homemade granola. Looking forward to our next escape in the city. There's no other hotel we'd go to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location is good for all downtown activities. I had a meeting in Chinatown and it was pretty convenient. Staff was friendly, but didn't require any special help so I didn't really test them. Bar staff and food was so-so, but breakfast restaurant was good....especially the staff.
If you are a Hilton person, this would be a good choice when needing a downtown location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestiswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this property again in Dec 2012 on whim after first there about 8 years ago. We were glad to see that all the rooms have been renovated and upgraded - overall amenities are good. The hotel is in an excellent location and the perfect starting point if you want to walk the city or explore by public transportation. Overall good service and good amenities - a few things: 1) The corner rooms have excellent views, but are not necessarily the largest ones 2) I'd skip breakfast here and just go to the deli around the corner 3) be sure to visit the underutilized hotel bar - the selection is fine (read: not for wine snobs), but the pleasantness of the staff makes up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank townsend416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing