We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and wonderful staff will bring us back to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
home
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location and wonderful staff will bring us back to this hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree for two nights. Great location. Very busy hotel lobby .Comfortable chairs and couches available for people watching. We had a room on the higher levels and had a great view of the surrounding areas. The room was very clean and well organized. The beds are soft and cozy.
Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The staff made a difference in our stay. Our server Phillip at the breakfast buffet was extremely friendly and helpful . He gave us directions and helpful hints to the surrounding area. He went out of his way to make sure we had want we needed.
The only negative was the breakfast buffet used powdered eggs!!!!!! Why I do not know as there is NEVER a good reason for powdered eggs. It makes a potentially really good hotel look cheap. What are they thinking and why?????

Room Tip: Request higher level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,290
    553
    218
    97
See reviews for
814
824
243
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The building and furnishings feel a bit older, but everything is very clean. The room was a little smaller/narrower because it's downtown, but still comfortable. Great location within walking distance to a number of activities (shopping, food, etc.). There's valet or you can self park for cheaper. The ramp is easy enough to get in and out. Friendly front desk workers. Options for food in the hotel such as the executive lounge (HHonors), second floor restaurant for breakfasts, and downstairs bar. Staff in the mezzanine for breakfast were friendly, polite, and attentive. Spacious fitness center with several ellipticals, weight rack, and pulley machine.

Room Tip: lots of corner rooms with good views; mine was 1916
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdawgm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was here for a night after a meeting in the area. The hotel is in a happening location with lots to do. The staff was friendly and professional. I had an upper floor room with excellent views of the city. The room was very small and somewhat dated, but clean. Parking is a bit of a challenge (to be expected in the location). Overall, a nice place and I would return there when in the area.

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

While the room itself was really comfortable, it is an extra $10 a day for wifi. The room is kept very clean and the beds are extremely soft, but my room was next to the elevators which made noise until about 2 am. There is no where in the entire hotel that serves food past midnight, and construction on a building outside my window woke me up around 6:30 am. The location of the hotel is top notch. Broad street is near mostly anything you could want in the city. Walking distance from chestnut and walnut street shopping, half a mile from the liberty bell center and historic philadelphia, about 2 blocks from south street, and about 3 blocks from city hall. Just take heed that just about anything you want to add to your stay here will cost money. A bowl of cereal costs $7.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room at the end of the hall to avoid elevator noise, odd number rooms face away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPM, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sarah E,
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the early "wake up call" from the construction next door. We are glad you enjoyed the location and comfortable beds and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

For the past four years, my daughter, mother-in-law and I have stayed at the Doubletree for our annual Nutcracker weekend. The hotel is situated right across from the Academy of Music which makes it very convenient. The hotel is also located within walking distance to all of the great restaurants and attractions we like to visit. The front desk staff is always very helpful and friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The corner rooms are spacious and offer a great view. We will continue to make this hotel a part of our Christmastime tradition.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are big and have nice city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Was in Philadelphia for a weekend. I have stayed there on several occassion upon my visits to Philadelphia. Enjoyed my stay immensely! Room was immaculate! Staff was hospitable! Overall...........Great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The best and ONLY thing this location had going for it was the location. Aside from that, the staff was extremely " non caring, cold, unattentive, " They seemed to be just going through the motions waiting for pay day. There was no sincerity or warmth at all in there actions or attitudes.
Once again ....location great.....hospitality poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPM, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mark W,
Thank you for your comments and please accept our apologies that our staff during your stay was less than accomodating. We would be interested in hearing more about your interactions. Please feel free to cantact us at 215-893-1600 and ask for the Director of Front Office. We hope that if you return to Philadelphia that we get another chance to show you that your last stay was the exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,149 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing