We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Ready for a renovation”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I've stayed in Hampton Inns in different cities around the country. This ranks among the oldest ones with lots of wear and tear. I saw chipped paint and wood everywhere in the room, elevator, etc. There were dings and scratches in the bathtub and when the toilet kept running I opened the lid to find old, rusty, coated valves (I had to re-seat the stopper).

Front desk staff and shuttle drivers were courteous and helpful. I'd prefer that the shuttle would run more often than every half-hour since it's so close to the airport. The lobby was small and crowded at times because there were meetings going on and people using the tables and chairs to work. Breakfast was typical Hampton - better than most places with free food.

The room was on the small side, especially the bathroom which was at a funny angle with a wide door that swung in and took up space. The sink didn't have much space. Towels were stored in a wood cabinet under the sink so you have to bend down all the way to the floor to grab a bath towel. I prefer a towel rack mounted at a normal height on the wall, but more and more hotels seem to find it decorative or "classy" to fold or roll towels and make you reach for them in funny places.

The TV had lots of channels and worked well. The desk was small but plenty of lamps and outlets to recharge devices. There was a floor-mounted very noisy heat/AC unit that drowned out the TV whenever it switched on. Instead of a closet there was a small wardrobe cabinet, and the bottom half was occupied by a rack with an extra blanket. This arrangement makes it difficult to hang clothes such as pants or coats because they can't drape freely. You have to move the luggage rack out into the room in order to keep clothes neat.

My room was by the elevator so I got quite a bit of noise from the corridor as people came and went. You might want to request a room at the end of the hallway if you prefer peace and quiet.

There's a Ruby Tuesday next door or if you want to walk a bit there's a WaWa convenience store with quite a bit of food selection. Lots of hotels in the area so if you want something newer or larger, look elsewhere. Otherwise, this Hampton was adequate if nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at our hotel and the Hampton Inn Brand. We apologize for your concerns throughout your stay and will address them with my management team. We try to keep an atmosphere that caters to all travelers and we are and we hope to see you return again soon.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    377
    152
    60
    26
See reviews for
368
287
90
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A great place to stay if you have an early flight. Convenient fly/drive parking lot. Well-trained staff and nicely maintained property. Shuttle service was efficient and drivers were courteous and helpful with luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel and the Hampton Inn Brand. We try to keep an atmosphere that caters to all travelers and we are and we hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent place to stay! Entire staff is extremely courteous and very heplful. The rooms are very clean. The shuttle service was excellent. The drivers were very heplful in recommending places to see and do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel and the Hampton Inn Brand. We try to keep an atmosphere that caters to all travelers and we are and we hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 5th floor. Was placed near the stairwell and the door opened and closed all night. The walls seem very thin. Could hear lots of road noise and other guests. Wouldn't recommend if you need a good night's sleep.

The room was clean and welcoming. And the shuttle pickup from the airport was quick.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merf658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are sorry about the noise that you had encountered during your stay. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This Hampton Inn offers an affordable option for those looking to stay near the airport, the southern suburbs of Philly, and even Center City itself. For Center City the Airport branch of the SEPTA commuter rail line provides hourly service to and from the Eastwick station that is an easy walk form the hotel.

That said, the hotel is pretty basic. For whatever reason Hilton Hotels equips it's non-Hilton branded properties with the smallest bed pillows possible, and the breakfast was similar to what we encountered at Homewood Suites property, and that is so not a good thing. If you want a good hot breakfast look elsewhere, for basics like cereal, or a muffin their comp breakfast will work. If the hotel provided a more ample work desk, and updated the bathrooms (the tub in our room was slippery even with grips, that's how badly it needs to be replaced), the property would be all the better.

A few past reviewers commented on the area that the hotel is situated, and yes the adjoining section of Philly is not the best, but with the 24/7 nature of airport business there is always plenty of traffic and activity all around. I would not be concerned about the area that the hotel is located in.

Ken

Room Tip: The hotel sometimes hosts large groups attending functions in the area. Inquire about this, and requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krapug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

As a travel agent, I travel pretty often out of the Philly airport. I've stayed at some very well appointed Hampton Hotels the night before a flight , so after we found a great last minute deal which included parking, so we booked it.
First impressions were bad- a group smoking out front which made the entire lobby smell strongly of cigarette smoke. Doesn't promote that non-smoking hotel very well....There was a large bus tour staying here, many of the adults hanging in the lobby/check-in area. If you can call it that, it's very cramped and by no means inviting. Even the elevators smelled of cigarettes.
Little did we know the rest of the "kids" with the group were running amuck all over the hotel. I thinking the doors slamming, screaming, running down the hallways etc finally ended by 1am.
After our three hours of sleep we then attempted to use the shower- except the water didn't drain and nearly flooded over the tub after two short showers.
I was extremely ready to leave this place-- and of course the shuttle was the smallest van I've ever seen, squeezing us all on top of each other to make our flights.

This place needs an upgrade, some security to manage hallways and thicker walls!
Bed was comfortable, but to noisy to enjoy it.

If you want a good night sleep with a nice shower in the early am, Pay the extra $$ and stay next door at the Courtyard!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Service to and from the airport was great. The desk service when we arrived was also very good. Our room had another door which could be used if you booked both rooms which allowed no noise blockage. We heard the other guests cell phone conversation as if they were in our room. We had an early flight and got little sleep because they were on the phone late into the night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn -GM H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are sorry in regards to the noise that you had encountered throughout your stay. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Airport
0.7 mi away
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
#36 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
#45 of 86 in Philadelphia
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Address: 8600 Bartram Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19153-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport hotel welcomes you to Philadelphia with a free 24-hour airport shuttle and friendly service. Situated off Interstate 95, only .5 miles from Philadelphia International Airport, our Philadelphia Airport hotel offers easy highway access to downtown Philadelphia and Wilmington, Delaware. Explore the downtown Philadelphia historic district. See the Liberty Bell, tour Independence Hall and the Betsy Ross House, and stroll Elfreth's Alley, the oldest street in the US. Try a famous Philly cheesesteak or enjoy international cuisine offered in Reading Terminal Market. Visit the National Constitution Center to learn about the US Constitution. Spend a day viewing exhibits in the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Rodin Museum and the Franklin Institute. The popular statue of Rocky Balboa is also in the museum district. Cheer the Philadelphia Eagles football team at Lincoln Financial Field, two miles from our Philadelphia hotel. Comcast Center, the University of Pennsylvania, and many other corporations and universities are minutes away. Appreciate the location and amenities at our hotel by Philadelphia Airport. Reserve one of our 151 guest rooms featuring king-sized or double beds. For additional space and seating, select a room with a sofa bed. Connect to free high-speed internet access. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable channels on the flat-screen HDTV. Wake up every morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia International Airport Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing