We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would I ever stay at this overpriced hotel again?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The client asked us to stay at this hotel; not sure why. The location is great -- walking distance to restaurants and tourist sites -- but why stay at a full Marriott if you can stay at a Residence Inn around the corner and not have to pay for breakfast and internet? After having stayed at a number of Residence Inn's and Embassy Suites, I imagine people want to stay at a full Marriott for the "amenities" ... but when you also add terrible valet service and unresponsive front desk staff, I just don't see the value.
Valet service is terrible. For $43, you should be able to call down to have your car waiting for you -- and the telephones in the room even have a "Valet" button ... which, btw, do not work -- it either doesn't ring, rings and goes to voicemail, or rings busy. When I brought this to the attention of the manager, nothing happened.
$12.95 for internet? Why pay for it here when the Residence Inn property around the corner gives it away for free?
If you have any special need, be prepared to call the front desk at least twice. And then, wait.
I was not a fan. Will not return. For the amount paid, would have surely expected better service and value.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,922 - 2,928 of 3,320 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

Used priceline and got a great rate of $93 a day for this 3.5 star hotel. The atrium and reception area is beautiful and spacious. The lounge area is large and full of internet users which leads to my 1st complaint, the in room internet service is IBAN and there is only WIRED internet so you can not move from the desk with your laptop. Also, what they call 24hr. internet rate at $13/day is really internet from noon to noon. So if you log on at 9am then you would have to pay $13 from 9am-noon and then pay another $13 after that . The rooms are average in size for a downtown hotel, there is no minibar or fridge in the room. The TV is OLD school. A 19" (yes 19") old tube television. Other than these things the hotel is in a great loctation with the must see Market directly across the street. Parking is very expensive per day so if it is the weekend you will probably want to park in one of the nearby lots.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milleick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Several girlfriends picked Philadelphia for a meeting place in mid-May. Having stayed at this hotel many times, I recommended that we stay here. It was a tough weekend because it was Penn's graduation and reunion weekend so the hotel was packed. As a result, the service at check-in was not quite as helpful as usual. Certainly acceptable, but not perfect. I asked to be put on the same floor as the other friends and she said she was unable to move anyone. I was a bit annoyed that she didn't even look. That said, we were all on the same floor anyway! The rooms are nice, typical Marriott but well appointed and comfortable. Even though the room faced Market St the soundproofing is very good and the rooms are quiet and the bed comfortable so a good night's sleep. Typical ridiculous charges for internet so we didn't use it. I was a bit disappointed that the hot tub in the pool area has been cemented over. It was a nice feature and I am sorry not to have it anymore. The location is excellent - steps from the Reading Terminal Market and right on Market St where you can get public transport all over Philadelphia. It is my location of choice in Philadelphia - as a Penn grad and with much family in the area, I go often and always stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Wiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I stayed in this hotel on two different occasions this month. Two different rooms that I got on priceline for $60 a night. Great price for a 3 and a half star hotel.
There is an old russian saying "When you get a horse for free don't complain about its rotten teeth" I tried to give this hotel a chance but it was impossible. The staff is rude. The cleaning people don't show up. I removed the "do not disturb" sign and they still didn't show up for a full day. And when they do they don't clean well. The beds are very uncomfortable, with mattress covers that are two small for the mattresses. I got a bad backache from the dip in the middle of the bed. . The tv's are old and small.
You will in two pictures I took with my cellphone, one is a fresh pillow case with lots of stains. The other is two drinking glasses I removed from their paper cover and was shocked to see how dirty they were. After leaving it outside, the cleaning people wiped off the glasses and did not replace them with new ones. I could tell because they had towel lint all over them.
The hotel seems nice from the outside. Has a pretty decent bar/restaurant.
But with such noise level, dirty rooms and unpleasant staff, I don't think it deserves more than 2 stars

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zermas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Our room was spotless, on a high floor with a decent view over the city, plenty spacious and comfortable, cozy beds, nice linens, attractive-enough furnishings, no problems with noise or anything else. Booked a week ahead through Priceline for $75 for a Friday night (friends got a room even cheaper), it felt like a no-compromises kind of place at a motel price. We weren't looking for a lot of extras; if you want a pool, exercise room, good restaurant, great business accoutrements, etc., it could be that it is lacking. And if you're looking for an intimate charmer, this is not it--although the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the hotel is huge. But for one night in a quite nice room in a terrific location at a 1/3rd to 1/4th of the quoted rates for this and similar hotels, we were completely happy with it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My partner and I stayed using a weekend deal rate, $135/night + tax -- which, while not being dirt cheap, was a good value for Marriott's quality and location. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and we would definitely visit again. I requested a high floor and we stayed on the 16th -- no noise to speak of despite the fact that the hotel was packed with convention-goers.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

The hotel is so convenient to the historical district as well as being right across the street from the Reading Terminal Market. We used the Phlash Bus which was in back of the hotel on Market Street. This bus takes you to all the major sites for Philly. You really don't need to use your car once you check in. Taxis are very convenient after hours and usually about $10 for a trip to most places from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $147 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing