We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spacious room, high ceilings and very comfortable bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious room, high ceilings and very comfortable bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Marriott is in such a great location - Reading Market and Chinatown just down the road, restaurants and buses very handy and lots of beautiful buildings within walking distance. Our room was spacious, with a separated lounge area ( with a desk, two chairs, a foot stool, coffee table and a sofa) and the bed was extremely comfortable. The one criticism I have is the paper cups and no real milk for the in room coffee - what with that? How about some nice crockery cups so they can be rinsed out for our second coffee and a small carton or single portions of real milk - there is an in room fridge. That said in the lobby there is cold water, coolade and ice blocks available for tired, hot travelers. That's a nice touch Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryevaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    1,198
    570
    187
    103
See reviews for
511
512
153
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Philly Marriott for six nights for a conference. At checkin, I inquired about upgrading my room. For an extra $70/night, I upgraded to a huge suite. It had a a dining area , living area, bar, and bed. I stayed in a very similar room last year at the Atlanta Marriott (exception, it did not have a dining area). The only real gripe is the size of the bathroom. It was extremely small and small sink area outside the bathroom.

Although I did not use the fitness center of pool, I did check it out. The fitness center was average and the pool was small and indoors.

I did not eat meals so I cannot provide feedback. I did, however, partake in the consumption of beverages at both bars. The central bar did not have any draft beers and had a fair selection of craft bottled beers. The other bar (13) had a small, but good, selection of draft beers.

The Reading Terminal is across the street and I highly recommend going over for breakfast and or dinner. Forget trying Philly Cheesesteaks, and go for the Amish Doughnuts. You won't be disappointed.

If you are in the mood for a run, the Rocky steps and statue are less than 1.5 moles from the Marriott. Once you get there, there is a great running trail along the River.

Also, the subway is across the street too and provides convenient service to the airport for $8 one way.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The location is great, parking cost 40 bucks a day. The rooms are nice and clean. There's Starbucks and Reading terminal market is across the street. The only thing that I didn't like was the elevator took forever. Seriously I almost called the Guinness book of records to nominate it for the worlds slowest elevators.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, the hotel’s great location and convenient amenities. I would like to apologize for the slow elevators; we recently had some issues that caused them to run slower than usual. These have since been addressed. As for the price of parking, the $40 charge is a competitive rate for hotel parking in downtown Philadelphia. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Every time I visit this hotel. I receive the greatest customer service anyone can receive . The staff is so friendly. They go out their way to assist you. The sitting area is a beautiful sight to see. I make it a priority to stay at this hotel. It is very accessible to the surrounding area between the shops, restaurants, the attractions to see. I love the setting of the hotel. Very peaceful and well secured. Just amazed that this hotel is in great condition and beautiful place to be.

Room Tip: You must visit this hotel. So close to the Reading Market
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is located in Center City Philadelphia and within walking distance of most things that Philadelphia has to offer. You walk into a huge lobby and are promptly greeted by staff. They are efficient and polite. The room is a standard hotel room with coffee maker, safe, hairdryer, etc. Everything was clean, although the room did smell a bit musty over the humid Summer weekend. There is a casual sports bar downstairs next to the lobby. We had beer and watched sporting events while having some food (not the best food ever, but it was a decent meal for a hotel).

This is a major Philadelphia hotel, so one thing that I would mention is that if there is some event (concert, race, conference, etc) going on in Philadelphia, the hotel will probably be full of guests who are attending that event. I was there during the Made in America concert and there were plenty of young partiers. I would mention that despite this, our room was quiet.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a beautiful hotel in the center of the city. There are lots of places to eat in the area, especially the Reading Market across the street. Easy to walk around, shopping, get to the Philly games, etc.

Room Tip: Look on line for various sites for the best pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purchasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Excellent location, great room service not pricey for room service. Clean large room very comfortable bed. Valet service excellent. Definitely stay there again would tell family and friends to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TUT174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#21 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing