We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When I booked this reservation through Priceline, I had no idea where I would end up (but I only searched 4 & 4.5 stars). When I got Marriott I did not think much UNTIL I arrived and oh my goodness! What an amazing hotel! Located right next door (literally steps away, across the street) from the convention center. Perfect location. A $7 cab ride away from Penns Landing - don't miss Morgans Pier (a GREAT bar!). But the best part: this Marriott is directly across the street from the Reading Terminal Market which is a MUST SEE when you are in Philly.

BUT the ROOMS at the Marriott are OUTSTANDING. 12 foot high ceilings, in a HUGE room with a very large bathroom. Bed was so comfy and staff were all friendly and very helpful! Thank you for a GREAT stay! Can't wait to go back to Philly and stay here again! :))

Room Tip: Valet parking at the Marriott is a whopping $48 but you can save a few $$$ if you park across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Beach_Girl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    1,111
    536
    175
    90
See reviews for
468
469
146
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a business convention. The desk staff were lovely and very eager to please their guests. I asked for a room on a high floor, and was granted my request. i was also given access to the Club Lounge, which was great. They served an upgraded continental breakfast, evening canapés, and nightly dessert. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the bath amenities were nice.
One of the best features of the hotel was its access to attractions, the convention center, the Market and great restaurants. Loved my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamZMintHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was a one night business trip for me. I asked for the upgrade and was able to secure a larger room. The room was clean and reasonably priced. However, I was surprised that the breakfast did not open until 6:30 AM EST. I had an early meeting and wanted to eat closer to 6:00 so I opted for the Starbucks. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Every time the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) holds its annual convention in Philly, I make sure to stay here. Outstanding! Room is clean. Hotel is clean and connected to the Convention Center. Also just a short walk to the escalator to take you to the train station and mall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalSoccerFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here to go on the Philadelphia Segway tour. Was able to walk to the Segway location at Indepence Hall (about a 13 min walk). Walking distance to restaurants and bars. Accross the street from Reding Terminal Market. Hotel was very nice and clean. No complaints.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1138, it faced the Redding Terminal Market. It was a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaRiehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I spent three nights here for attending the 74th annual meeting of Academy of Management. It was an excellent hotel even though it cost only $110 per night thanks to both student and academic membership. It locates in Market Street, downtown in Philadelphia. For finding the hotel, the only thing that required me to do was to get inside a train at the Philadelphia airport terminal, to get outside the train at the Market East station, and to take an elevator that reached the hotel's air walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is our second trip to Philly, first overnight (only 1 night). Just returned home yesterday. The Marriott is conveniently located near everything we needed. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and polite. We were in the tower building. The sixth floor room was larger than what I usually receive. There was a king bed with a separate sitting area sofa, two chairs, and desk with tables and lamps. The tower was attached to the Convention Center, having to use your room key to access the floors on the elevator assured that we were safe. There was a bridge way that connected the main building to the tower...this would be great when the weather is not so great.

On our day trip to Philly we were introduced to the Reading Terminal Market. We were in heaven! This has just about anything your might desire to eat! This time we ate at the Amish Diner--fresh ground hamburger and cut fries. Naturally before we left we went to Beiler's Bakery for a doughnut ...go to the back left..YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY! Everything is in walking distance (we thought) from hotel. We did discover a shopping district The Gallery that goes underground, street level, and some third floor stores....this was from the back escalator of the Marriott Tower (Hard Rock Cafe and Dunkin Donuts there) to almost the Historical District.

The Historical District includes a Visitors Center (everyone was so helpful there)--FREE, The Liberty Bell--FREE, Independence Hall--pick up FREE Tickets at Visitors Center (go early), Christ Church Cemetery--*fee (Ben Franklin's grave can be seen without going in), Constitution Center--*fee....Betsy Ross's house is around but we did not go there. The US Mint, where coins are made, is right there....Tour is FREE.

Needless to say it was a very busy place and we enjoyed our selves. We felt safe and the uniformed officers were very helpful. There are options of the Big Bus Tours that start there at the hotel. The SEPTA (Public Transportation) train can be taken from airport to the Market Station~~hotel is just up the escalator. The cost is $8 which you will pay the conductor on the train when you leave the airport. The Market Station has a ticket agent, there are day passes.

Since our pick up back to the airport was 6:15 am we did find that the Dunkin Donuts at the base of that tower escalator opened at 5:30 am -- coffee was good!

Even with a conference, a couple of family reunions, and meetings...EVERYONE at the hotel was more than helpful...it did not matter how busy they were. We did not use the restaurant on site because we were going to see the city on this mother/daughter trip.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are away from the hotel lobby but are at the convention center. We were on the six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MathTeacherVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,382 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Chinatown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing