We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Location”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly and accommodating. It was nearly impossible to get the a/c to a comfortable temperature, which had me getting up all night. The sheets were rough, and with only 2 real pillows on each bed (the other 2 were oversized for decoration), it was hard to find one that was comfortable. Probably the worst night sleep I have had in a long time at a hotel. The location is awesome, across the street from Reading Market Terminal and transit trains. Excellent selection of tv stations, but service went out during a storm. The citrus water we saw as we walked in to register was gone by the time we got our key :(. It should be made available all day. Wifi should be free. Asked for upgrade to concierge level and was turned down. Most hotels will even provide keyed access if they can't put you on that floor. Another reason I loved the Hilton family of hotels the best. Won this room on a Priceline bid so I can't really complain, but I do prefer the Doubletree down the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    1,303
    615
    206
    118
See reviews for
576
563
164
1,361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location in the heart of the city. The room was nice and clean. A lot within walking distance. Great location for traveling with family. Staff was great and helpful. Wonderful indoor pool. Overall, a nice hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My two night stay at the Downtown Marriott provided everything one could want in a hotel. To begin, the check in process was speedy and the staff friendly and helpful. Despite the presence of two large conferences, the manangement greeted arrivers personally and made sure everything was as you would like. The rooms were large, very clean, well-stocked and very comforable. The guest floors are only available to guests with keys for added security and quiet. The location is perfect. The hotel is directly across from the Reading Market Terminal and the historic area with the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, etc. was within walking distance as were some excellent small restaurants and shops. I did not use the hotel restaurant but found wonderful dining nearby. The staff of this hotel was quick to answer questions and assist in any way. A great place to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
338 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is everything you would want in a hotel in the downtown area of a city: it has a convenient location walkable to most attractions, or near the subway for others. It has large, clean, comfortable rooms with all the amenities. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. There is plenty of parking in the vicinty--which isn't cheap. But then again, you are downtown in the thick of the city. Great find.

Room Tip: The higher floors have good commanding views of the Philadelphia skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRegoPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was at the hotel for a conference which was held in the hotel. The room was nice and clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location next to the Reading Market Terminal is excellent. Everything was within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

In the center of the city, easy access; amazingly quiet. Wonderful pool. Concierge lounge was only ok, always crowded, noisy, rushed food. Not pleasant for a quiet moment away from the day's activities. Staff very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Typical Marriott hotel; nice rooms, nice service, clean etc.

A fabulous location for exploring Philadelphia on foot.

My one complaint - I am a Platinum Elite, and always reserve 2 rooms because we have another couple who always travels with us. Marriott ALWAYS sends the Platinum gift to the room occupied by the other couple; not the room occupied by me and my husband. How hard it is to get that right?!?

Helpful Hint: Try the restaurant Green Eggs, about a 5 min walk from the hotel - AMAZING breakfast options!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
935 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing