We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here eveytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We come into Philly at least twice a year. We always stay at the Marriott. It is so close to many of the things we like to do. Walking distance to South Street and Walnut Street shopping. Reading Market Terminal is right across the street!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stay here 15-20 days a year, enjoy it and frequently return. Above all, the staff is tremendous - cheerful, helpful and always willing to serve.

Rooms are of a good size, but not ridiculously large, although double-sized suites are available. For Marriott Elite members, the concierge lounge is a particularly nice one, with excellent breakfast, hors d'oeuvre and dessert services. The fitness center is very good - 4 ellipticals, about 8 treadmills, some other cardio equipment, free weights and machines - open 24 hours, but it can be pretty busy between 6 am and 7 am. There is also a good lap pool - possibly 25 yds, I think.. For runners, circling the Art Museum (Rocky's steps) and passing the boathouses on the Schuylkill is about a 5 mile loop.

The hotel is especially convenient for meetings at the Pennsylvania Convention Center, which can be reached without going outdoors on one of those rare days when it's not "Sunny in Philadelphia". Access to the SEPTA subway system is also possible without going outside. If you do go outside, there is a lot near by - the Reading Terminal Market across the street, Independence Hall 6 blocks away, Old City Hall 1 block away, and more. While the hotel restaurant is good, there are also many great and unique restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

The proximity to the Convention Center creates an interesting vibe in the hotel. Each convention is different, so the bars, restaurant and halls all are usually fun to hang out in if you're not one of the conventioneers.

Cab fare to and from the airport is $29 - the train is also very easy, departs the airport every 30 minutes and costs $8 - exit at the Market East Station, come upstairs and you'll see signs for the hotel. From Amtrak's 30th Street Station (the main Philadelphia Station) the train is even easier, just two stops east to the Market East Station - cab fare is about $12.

Some items to consider:
- Internet access is not free, except for higher level Elite members
- Valet parking can be expensive - about $40/night if I remember correctly
- There are other hotels closer to some of the major financial buildings west of City Hall
- During convention seasons (primarily spring and fall) rooms can fill up early, so book early

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is certainly up to Marriott standards. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice (nothing special about them) and clean.

My main complaint about this hotel is that it does not offer free WiFi throughout the hotel (there is free WiFi only in the lobby). I think it is outrageous for a hotel to charge $13/night for WiFi in guest rooms, and what is worse is that even if you pay this amount, you cannot use this WiFi on the conference room floors. Stop charging for WiFi!

The fee for parking is also outrageous - almost $50/night for valet (and sometimes valet is the only option for parking in the hotel's garage).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from elevators and vending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our staff’s friendliness and the overall cleanliness of the hotel. As noted, we do charge for internet access in our guest rooms, but it is complimentary in our lobby space and we do offer a room package (Liberty package) that include internet access and a food & beverage credit. As for the price of parking, the $40 charge is a competitive rate for hotel parking in downtown Philadelphia. Thank you again for your time and consideration, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for a convention. Rooms spacious and clean. Staff helpful. Restaurants excellent. Great location near shopping and eating. Reading terminal is just across the street but beware of pickpockets in the terminal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived late, and had made reservations through a discount site. We requested a king bed, but you know that's not guaranteed. The only room left with a king was a room for people with disabilities. We took it. There were conventions happening, so not surprised.

Uh oh - the room was nice enough, but close to the ice machine [natch] and next to a family with a screaming baby. The view was not good at all. And, the bathroom was not what I wanted for this getaway.

So I called downstairs and all the rooms were gone. They weren't when we were down there, so I begged for a different room even if the king was not available... I wanted a bathtub! We were found another room in a different tower. A super friendly bellman delivered the keys immediately, like within minutes! He offered to take our bags... we didn't need the help, so we found our new room and it was FANTASTIC! Huge, beautiful, and a BATHTUB!!! I was so happy. What a great relief.

Beds are comfy, bathroom is really nice [nice bath products, btw], lovely...everything.
The valet was not up as early as we were, so no one answered the phone - and we had to go downstairs to get the rental car... made us late, but no biggie.

The maid replenished the coffee every day, towels were replaced or hung beautifully. There was a refrigerator in the room.
You can walk to restaurants, there is a really convenient 7-11 across the street, and China Town is just a few blocks away with fantastic food. There are some sketchy areas nearby, too - but didn't feel too unsafe. Never made it to the Reading Market due to our work hours...

We did order breakfast with the overnight door tag - it was really great and not obscenely expensive. Nice way to have breakfast in bed.

Was really happy with everything after all - and I did take a bath!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for business a few years ago and in my review commented how worn and outdated the rooms were. It is nice that the rooms have been modernized since that time. I would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhkfreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful Location in Philly. I attended a conference and stayed 4 nights at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown adjacent to the convention center. Everyone was great including front desk, room service, engineering, restaurants and housekeeping. The room was great, the hotel was big but not too large. The air in my room was not working properly, room service suggested that I call the front desk. He sent Maintenance right over. They fixed my air with no issues. I love the concierge desk. Overall great hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purple0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $148 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing