We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cardiff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with family (spread over 2 rooms). The lobby certainly has the wow factor (though it did feel like it was more a "business" hotel rather than a "vacation" venue. The rooms were spacious and clean with all the needed amenities. The hotel itself is incredibly central and within easy distance of just about all of the "must-see" sites (Independence Hall / Liberty Bell are six blocks away and the Reading Terminal Market is just outside the main door). There were a couple of small faults in one of the rooms but they were easily (and courteously remedied). My only fault is that (outside the lobby) there is a charge for wi-fi. I stayed in several less expensive Marriotts on this trip and their wi-fi was free. It did therefore feel that the hotel was trying to squeeze out as much money out of those staying (which I guess is okay if your company is paying but we humble vacationers are not always so flush!).

Room Tip: Try and avoid the back of the hotel (overlooking the AC machines) as they were noticeable from my fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bachanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    1,241
    589
    195
    107
See reviews for
540
544
157
1,289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed only one night, fortunately. The lobby feels like being at the airport, noisy and packed with people. They have a main building and a few rooms above the conference center. Far to walk there and the rooms are way better in the main building. Gym is below average, I expected more from a marriott Hotel. Although they have a few hundred rooms they do not offer a breakfast buffet during the week. This is an absolute standard in comparable hotels. I cannot recommend the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bontzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent experience. We appreciate the opportunity to benefit from your feedback. I would like to apologize for your disappointment in our hotel and accommodations. It is our goal to make all our guests feel welcome. Your feedback will be used in our quest to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for business in Center City. Facility was well appointed and very clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was large, clean, and comfortable. I got a great deal at $179 per night but suspect it is usually more than that. My only complaint is the pricy parking, but there are plenty of local lots and garages if you don't insist on a valet. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown for a weekend while attending a convention. The hotel was perfectly located near the Convention Center. It was also surrounded by great restaurants. The hotel was very clean and very comfortable. The staff was very nice. We hung out in the hotel bar one night & that was very fun as well! Had a great experience at this hotel & will be staying here again next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown for a conference. The room was fine. The only issue was that the curtain didn't cover the window completely, so there was always light from the street entering the room. All of the hotel staff were very helpful in providing great restaurant suggestions, extending my check-out time, and holding bags.

The location is excellent - I was easily able to walk to many parts of the city. The hotel is directly across the street from Reading Terminal Market, making it quick and easy to get delicious sandwiches and snacks.

The conference rooms were very, very cold, and the food provided with the conference was mediocre, at best. I didn't try out the restaurant or bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gardens,florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very pleasant stay where the staff was customer focused, rooms clean and restaurant good. Excellent location as we were attending an event at the convention center. Restaurants in the area, along with historical sites within walking distance. A good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed at during our 3 week trip covering the northeast! The staff was very helpful and friendly and the location was perfect, close enough to walk most places we wanted to visit. The amenities were outstanding. Definitely will stay here if I am ever in Philly again.

Room Tip: If you have neighbors that want to talk so everyone on the wing will hear at 2 in the morning-just m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing