We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but no hot water during snowstorm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but no hot water during snowstorm!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

As far as business hotels go, this is decent enough. Room sizes were huge and spacious, with nice views of the streets below.
The downside? There was a snowstorm which meant going outside was basically impossible, and the heating system broke down, meaning the hotel woke up to no hot water or warm air from the heater fan. A nightmare! It took several hours to restore this but in the meantime had to shiver my way around to get dressed and attend a conference downstairs.
I assume this was a one-off and hope other guests do not endure freezing rooms during snow storms again1

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya-N-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    1,331
    629
    212
    123
See reviews for
590
579
171
1,394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for a week in March. The hotel is great central location in Philly, we were able to see city hall right out our window. There was a restaurant and Starbucks right in the lobby, which was convenient. The room was recently renovated with modern decor. However we did not have a mini fridge, which one would expect. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great girls' weekend at the Philadelphia Flower Show. We like the Marriott because it is connected to the Convention Center, easy walk over. We had a lovely weekend, with the usual great Marriott hospitality. Room service coffee in the morning was prompt and the large room in the Headhouse Tower was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Headhouse Tower if available…They are large and comfortable, easy way to the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown for the first time last weekend. Excellent location, great staff, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast in the hotel was delicious! Can't wait to go back next year. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ngIslandL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in very good location near city Hall, subway, Reading Terminal Market, Macy's etc. Good rooms and staff. Only negative was the restaurant. They'd only A la Carte on weekdays, and the order of breakfast took like 45mts to come. Even the dinner order was very late. But food tasted good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jillsdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Large Marriott right in the heart of PHL. You can get to the convention center easily, as well as Reading Terminal Market, City Hall and it's just a few blocks from the Liberty Bell and Constitution Hall.

The rooms are standard Marriott, nice, attractive and comfortable. I had a great view of City Hall.

Grand lobby, nice staff and great hot chocolate when I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were glad to only stay one night at this Marriott. Usually, I'm hoping to extend my stay but not this time. The location is great - close to the Wells Fargo Center for the George Strait Concert, across from the Reading Terminal and walking distance to McGillin's Old Ale House. The rooms are not updated and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. (found hair on the sink). Check in and Check out were a mess and we waited for over 1.5 hours in 20 degree weather to get our vehicle from the valet - and only after we went to the valet manager twice. Do NOT valet at this hotel as they do not have their process together. Park across the street for half price and you can leave on time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibyAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and the hotel’s great location. I would like to apologize for the extended delay in retrieving your vehicle from valet and for the extra steps you had to go through. Your feedback is vital in our continued effort to improve our guests’ overall experience and will be utilizing them to make improvements in our service. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
972 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,139 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing