We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Always a great stay in Philly, front desk is always prompt and rooms are great for a Marriott - always a consistent experience. Close to dining, train station, etc....I stay here 8 to 10 times a year...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthAtlantaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 3,347 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Perhaps I was just expecting more from this hotel. Living in the suburbs of Philadelphia my husband and I stay over night in the city mutliple times a year to go out to dinner and enjoy a night out without having to worry about driving home. We have stayed at many center city hotels and I must say that I was very dissapointed with this hotel. It appears gigantic and lacks detail to costumer service when compared to some of the other choices of downtown hotels. There was no one there to assist us with our lugguage when we arrived and I watched a bell hop make eye contact with me as I struggled with the door, but didn't offer to help. Check in was quick and our room was clean, but average, my pillow was lumpy ( I know I am picky) but nothing specutacular. The views were very nice and the location was a perk. The worst part was at 3:45 am when the "emergency" alarm" went off telling us an emergency had been reported in our part of the hotel and to wait for further instructions. Personally, I found this message to be unsettling and very confusing, were we to wait it out, or evacuate? Who was making the decision to have us not evacuate? I imagine this was suppose to make us feel better, but for a worrier like me I didn't like being on the 12th floor listening to this message over and over again, so we decided to leave for our own safetly and sanity. We went to the lobby where we saw fire personel. When the alarm ended we sat for a few more minutes and were approached by a female security guard who asked us very rudely if we were staying in this hotel, as if we didn't move fast enough when the alarm ended. I found her questioning tactic to be very rude and I was cranky and tired from having been awoken from the alarm. The next day no one made mention or apologized for the alarm, and on our way out, while in the lobby we were approached by a man asking us for money.

This hotel could do much better, I have concerns about the security, especially, the customer service and the disrupted sleep obviously impacted my review. If you are looking for a nice, romantic night out, I would not recommend this hotel, there are many other hotels in the city that offer a more intimate, detailed and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thrillseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had two rooms booked for two nights, Dec. 30,31st. I'm always worried traveling during peak times since service usually suffers. This was not the case! The Marriott, manager Michael, all the were beyond impressive. Normal snafu's (being place in a single bed room vs double) were taken care of speedily and with great courtesy. At the end of our trip one elevator stopped working and magically an employee with a walkie talkie showed up and directed our party of 8 (kids, grandmas) to a hidden service elevator and brought us down. I will be coming back again with our family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleinne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in early December 2013. It was the host hotel so I really did not bother shopping around for rates. This is a really nice hotel. There are actually two parts to the hotel, the main complex then an adjacent Headhouse which I stayed in. If given the choice stay in the Headhouse as the rooms are apparently a little larger and the history on display around the entrance to the Headhouse is quite interesting. Having no car I appreciated not having to shell out the nightly parking fee and I also appreciated the proximity of great restaurants and shopping. Unfortunately most of my days were spent in conference but this location is well suited for walking to many of the local historical attractions too. As other reviews have pointed out you must make time for the Reading Terminal Market. It is an unbelievable collection of restaurants, local crafts, gifts, etc… All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the Headhouse complex if given the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having lived nearby for a couple years and never visiting the hotel I had not ventured inside of it. Pleasantly surprised at what I experienced. Updated and quite rooms and hallways, great gym and pool, friendly front desk and bell staff. For a center/convention hotel it did not feel too big as most do.

Amenities galore...FedEx Office, Starbucks, Gift Shop, etc all inside plus restaurants and bars. Biggest plus is being across the street from Reading Terminal Market, a must-do for any visit to Philly. You also have Macy's across the street inside of which is the wonderful pipe organ than plays at certain times during the day. City Hall a block away as is the Broad Street line that takes you down to the ball parks.

It is nice to see a Marriott equipped with a different, upgraded soap and shampoo offering, something they should do at other chains within the brand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2MillionMileMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here during a short trip to Philly, but the hotel made us wish we could have stayed longer. The facility was great, with a decent workout room and a nice lobby and restaurants, and the location was perfect. It is a stone's throw from the Reading Terminal Market, a must-see destination in Philly for any foodie. It is also very close to City Hall and a subway line. Moreover, the check-in staff was good enough to let us check in early without any problem when we arrived early. My only objection is to the high parking fee ($48 per night). If we are in Philly again, we will surely look to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher is probably better -- you get a good view and are farther from the restaurants etc. on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed on several occasions- most recently with my wife so we could attend a holiday event in Philadelphia, which happened to coincide with Army-Navy weekend. With 1,200 rooms, they are busy enough and usually overwhelmed. Add this dynamic to the equation and it is darn near impossible to get any decent service. And good luck getting your car after checkout. The valet situation is ridiculous. Takes forever, and more hectic than a bus station at rush hour.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PSUFootball4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $143 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing