We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual Marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not your usual Marriot”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I attended a Conference the past few days and stayed at this Marriott. I've been a big Marriott fan for years and this one was a great disappointment.

A few things:
1) Wifi is only free in the lobby and it is so slow, you are better off going into the attached Starbucks and use their service. The room charge for Wifi is almost $20 a day.
2) Valet Parking is $48.00 a day, but their are public garages across the street for half the price.
3) Marriott is usually known for their soft beds, this hotel recently changed their mattresses. My mattress was so hard that I had to take 2 Tylenol to sleep through the night. The next day housekeeping placed additional mattress pads on the bed. It helped but it still did not provide the comfort I associate with a Marriott.
4) We paid $28 for two glasses of White Zinfandel, their is a Liquor store across the street:)

The past thing about this Marriott is its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryla222_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    1,290
    610
    206
    117
See reviews for
569
556
163
1,346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 days for a conference. The hotel is very nice, typical for a Marriott in a large city. We had no complaints except the parking: Valet parking is $48 per day ($40 + $8 tax). If you don't utilize the parking, arrival and departure loading/unloading are rather difficult. We utilized nearby garage parking; with a coupon received through the conference coordinators, we paid only $15 per day.
What made our stay memorable was the hotel restaurant, "13." I have food allergies, which makes it difficult to eat out safely. I rarely enjoy the experience. At "13," I received excellent service, careful attention, and creative, delicious meals. My husband, who has no allergies, enjoyed every dish that he tried. We ended up eating there every night. The prices are typical for a large city restaurant.
I would highly recommend the restaurant, regardless of whether you stay at the hotel or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location, especially because it is attached to the convention center. The service was very good, beds comfy, rooms clean. But... My biggest gripe would be the drink prices! They were charging 11.00 for Woodbridge wine! This is about a 500 percent profit! And it's not that all of downtown Philly is expensive like NYC, you can walk a block and get great wine (and a decent pour) for $7.00. They basically know they have the corner on the market with folks attending conventions and they gouge you. Second biggest gripe...they shower heads. Looked like new shower heads and looked like good ones, but basically it was like showering in the rain. I had to rinse my hair under the tub spigot to get the shampoo out. So irritating if you have to be there more than one day! I gave the hotel a 4 out of 5 for the location and service, and the beds were especially wonderful. My advice? Buy your own wine down the street and be ready for a long frustrating useless shower! :)

Room Tip: Go for "the tower".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown was a sensational location for the conference I attended. The six day stay was refreshing as the friendly and always helpful hotel staff provided for every need. Housekeeping was gracious and our room was extremely well maintained. The hotel eateries offered a variety of tasty options at reasonable prices. Due to the central location of the hotel many of Philadelphia's best sites were in walking distance or there was a taxi ready to take you where you wanted to go. The Reading Market across the street was fun and inviting. The tour bus company picks up as stop 5 right at the corner of the hotel making sightseeing easy. I would love ti return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First let me say my family and I stayed here because of a convention I was attending.

We received a very good rate as a block rate for the convention and the hotel extended that rate for the entire time we were there which exceeded the conference. They did not have to do that but it was nice of them.

The concierge desk was very helpful and attentive and personable each time we used them.

We did rent a car from Hertz while we were at the hotel as they have a desk there. Treated very well by Harrison who is the branch manager.

Hotel was clean and modernized. Easy check in and out.
Had to call for maintenance the first day as the toilet backed up. They responded very quickly and it was handled right away. So, a potentially bad thing was quickly attended to. Also, there was a fair amount of mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and paint was peeling quite a bit.

Hotel did a very good job taking care of the needs of the conference and the attendees. More than 3000 of us.

Downsides? Only a few (very few):
First - Starbucks. The line in the morning is HORRIBLE!! There are two more within a couple blocks that we never had to wait more than a couple minutes. Not bad service or treatment just horrible lines. There is also a dunkin donuts on the corner for those so inclined.

Second - Hotel food. Nuff said. But you have INCREDIBLE choices only a VERY short walk from the front door. Don't waste your money on food in the hotel. Go outside. Go to the Reading Terminal Market for breakfast or lunch and any one of the plethora of very good restaurants nearby.

Finally - Valet Parking. Ok I realize that this is a city...downtown in a city. And I realize that parking is a premium...but $50 a night? Park in nearby parking garages for about half that. And last but certainly not least. If you do use the valet parking make sure that you inspect every inch of you car when it is brought back to you. We did not do this and found out later that the valet had backed into something and damaged the bumper in the rear of the car. Since we did not notice this when we picked it up from valet we assumed responsibility for the damage (even though we had no clue where or when it happened) and went to file the papers with Hertz. It was then and only then that we found out that the valet had later confessed to the damage but we were not told until that evening when we got back after worrying about it all day. Kinda unprofessional on the valet part but in the end it all worked out.

Would I stay here again? Probably would.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the market street side as it gets kinda noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a tour. As it is in downtown Philadelphia, it is probably best suited to single night stays or business travel. It has the high standards that one expects from a Marriott. The bonus for us was that it was over the road from Macy's (Shop till you drop) and the Reading Market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I attended a large business conference at this hotel, and it handled the event and the crowd pretty well. The rooms are pretty standard but very comfortable and clean. Food quality and service were very good, and the check in/check out was efficient, especially given the hotel's size. The workout facilities are very good, and the pool is nice, though small. It appears that what used to be a hot tub is now an indoor garden - there is no hot tub available. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center and Reading Terminal Market and is a 10-15 minute walk from many historical attractions, but I would have stayed on Broad Street or near Rittenhouse Square if it had not been for the conference. This area of downtown seemed pretty dicey - on Market Street we saw petty crime in broad daylight, fights on the sidewalk, and derelicts passed out in storefronts. Every store has armed security at the door - store security must be one of the growth industries here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grotshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing