We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Chinatown? check
Convention center? check
Reading Terminal Market? check
Gayborhood? check
Big Bus Tour? check

It is all about the location and the Marriott is conveniently located whether you are here as a tourist or on a business. All the sites are easily accessible from here, whether walking, via mass transit or tourist buses. The hotel itself is a typical Marriott. The lobby is modern with a large lounge bar. Our room on the top 23rd floor appeared nicely updated and tastefully decorated. The view is not bad either. The elevators worked well and the room key had to be scanned in order to go up to the room. The main entrance is on Filbert St. Other entrances needed the room key to enter for security purposes. We had 2 minor issues which were addressed promptly. That is outstanding for a large hotel. Only gripe is slightly worn and below average quality towels.

The pool appears to be an afterthought. You have to enter through the gym on the 7th floor. It is pretty small and dark, the lining is cheap vinyl type that is little worn, and certain parts are rusted. It isn't really a pool to hang out for a longer period.

The lounge is closed on weekends and no breakfast coupons are provided for elite members. Marriott should be consistent amongst all the properties with this benefit.

Reading Terminal Market is food lover's paradise. It is great for breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks, etc. Chinatown is great for lunch, dinner, late night meals. The gayborhood is fun to people watch and hang out at night time. There are some homeless people in the area but they are harmless.

This is a solid hotel and a good choice for any occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piaget18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    1,319
    622
    207
    119
See reviews for
581
571
168
1,378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of the marriott is perfect. I've been there for a convention in june 2013. The rooms were big, clean. Of course, it would need a refresh but it's a nice place.

The service was great too. There was a hard rock café by the hotel so it was nice. I would return to this place when going to downtown philly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxrx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, good service. Our only complaint is how big and strung out the facilities are. we are in the convention center part of the hotel so it's quite a stroll getting to the amenities (restaurant, Starbucks, bar...) It's located near a lot of the tourist attractions so it's easy walking to train stations, museums. Lots of tourist. It's what one would expect in a downtown convention center hotel.

Room Tip: Find out whether your room is located in the main hotel or the convention center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okietravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed there as I was attending a. Convention, the good thing that I was the for business and wasn't on leisure. Hotel is worn out, service is far from par. I couldn't believe that it is a Marriott. Far more better choice nearby as I visited some hotels where other associates were staying, the four seasons, Sofitel and other are a far more better choice. Don't say I didn't warn you of the noise, the old style, worn out fixtures..... Marriott, you can do better!!!!!
Ps. There is a noise that I couldn't figure out if its the air conditioning or. Metro station!!!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. You can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MS
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Philadelphia, and we couldn't have asked for a more centrally-located hotel. Reading Market/Terminal was two blocks from the hotel and we found ourselves able to walk to Independence Hall AND the Museum (both a little over a mile in different directions). Lots of restaurants to choose from nearby. The room was what you'd expect from a downtown Marriott: clean, granite countertops, coffee maker. We needed a rollaway bed, and although it took about 2 hours to get it (there were several school groups in the hotel), they were accommodating. The hotel was super busy, but with 6 elevators, they kept up with no long waits. A nice surprise for a convention hotel. The Starbucks off the lobby was a nice plus. The cleaning staff was hit and miss: they didn't vacuum, no bathroom "staging;" did just the basics--and we tipped. I chalk it up to having a lot of business. But when we were specific and left notes of what we needed (extra towels, shampoo), they did it.

Room Tip: If you want view, ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a convention hotel so be prepared for it to be super busy at all times. Parking is about 48 bucks with unlimited in out privileges. There is a self parking garage across the street for $32 I think but no in out privileges.

This is not the place to frequent for a romantic rendezvous but for our purpose it was ok. you are about 6 blocks walking from the main attractions- Independence center, etc. So great location. Literally next door to Reading Terminal....awesome foods to explore. We ate there for breakfast and dinner (they close at 6 though so you have to eat early).

Hotel was decent. Just so many people coming and going. Starbucks downstairs which was nice.
Here are my issues- seems like folks attempting to help but looking for a tip as well. Really, just give me the luggage cart and I can roll my own luggage rather than pay an extra 4- 5 bucks per bellhop on top of 48 parking and 200+ night rate per room.Really, we insisted and they still would not let us roll our own luggage. No wifi- except downstairs lobby which kept kicking me off and losing connection. Really, for this type of Marriott with so many people probably there for work related services and at 200+ a night can't I get free wifi.....what gives.....time to get with the program and offer free wi fi to everyone. Seems like the more you pay for a hotel the less amenities you get. If the Holiday Inn Express can offer it... why can't you! Really, the quality was not much different than the Holiday Inn Express!!!

If in town for convention or quick visit to see attractions....go for it. Otherwise, skip it for the price unless you get a good deal. Used Hotwire and ended up with it.

Room Tip: rooms seem to be recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and both times I found it a little expensive. BUT, it's centrally located and has those great Marriott beds.

The lounge ran out of eggs when I went up for breakfast, so I had some other options. I would advise they plan a little better in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingProducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing