We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Business travelers will love the location, especially if attending a trade show at the nearby convention center. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of downtown Philly.

Location aside, the main lobby bar is a great place to meet up before heading out to dinner or catch up with a night cap. The 13 restaurant is ok but there are many better places to eat nearby.

Rooms are basic at best, as other reviewers have said the rooms are a bit small and show age. Linens are mid-level quality and fixtures and furniture dated. Poor value for the money, I'm a Marriott guy but I wouldn't stay here on my own $.

Recommended +++1/2

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    1,320
    622
    207
    120
See reviews for
583
571
168
1,379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night last month. I had been to this hotel back in 2005, and was looking forward to returning. Picked a good week, as the hotel wasn't full, and I got a slight upgrade to a small suite with a Murphy bed. Hector (I think) at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. Room was clean and everything worked. Didn't realize the old Sports Bar that used to be attached to hotel had closed down. Used to be a great place to watch sports with many great appetizers. Instead just had a drink in Lobby bar which was okay. Good central location, especially if you're attending an event at convention center. Nice having a 7-11 directly across street for snacks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Asked for an upgrade at check-in and was upgraded to a suite. Room was large and nice. Kids enjoyed swimming in the pool that was down the hall from our room. Two negatives - $40 valet parking and we called to get 2 pillows (we had none for the pullout couch) at 11:30 pm and it took them an hour to bring them to us. Not fun to be up until after midnight because we didn't have pillows. Had to call 3 times to get them to bring them up.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the 3rd hotel we've stayed in 10 days as part of a trip around the US. The previous two hotels were Hiltons and the difference in service could not be more stark. Taking a real example, at a previous Hilton hotel their free poolside wifi was having a bad day. We went to the lobby and without question were given free access to the hhonors network for the day, waiving the fee. The wifi in the Marriott lobby may be free but it doesn't work reliably even for emails and searching a few websites to plan some tourist activities. We spoke to the concierge who also brought across one of her colleagues, we showed them that the internet was not working on the ipad. They first blamed us accessing UK rather than US websites but when gmail wouldn't work we were told that it must be the ipad and there's nothing they can do. $13 later and the wifi is working fine so clearly not the ipad, just poor hotel infrastructure and poor service. This hotel is fine as somewhere to sleep and the location is good. Our room is clean, but for me those are the qualities of a 3* hotel. Service and attention to detail are needed for 4 or 5 *.

For $2-300 per night in Philly.... stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was here on business, and this is connected to the convention center, which makes it very convenient. The lobby is busy, bustling, and typical for an in-town, large city Marriott. That also makes the rooms maybe a little over priced, but you know what you're getting. We didn't eat in the hotel because are so many good places within easy walking distance.

One ding; booking through the convention site, instead of Marriott, means they didn't account for my rewards nights, even though I gave them my number at check in. The Marriott rewards system puts all the onus on you to account for nights they missed. It's a pain and not customer-friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Membermaine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was right across from the Reading Terminal Market AND right across from a wine store so it was perfect even if you wanted to just have a relaxing night in the room after a day out and about in the city. Staff was courteous and needs for travelling with family of four were met adequately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was there for a huge conference and my colleagues booked it as it directly adjacent to the Convention Center.For me the Marriotts in the US are all pretty much the same (standardized). So was this one. Large room with two queen size beds, a desk and an arm chair. Large flat screen plus the option to link your computer to the TV as it seems (never tried it).
The interior is not fancy but sufficient. As mentioned before: internet at 13 bucks is an insult. Concerning breakfast I recommend to go to the Down Home Diner or Reading Market.
Bathroom - as said before shower curtains . Also the ceiling could use another layer of paint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
954 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing