We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great choice in philly downtown, very convenient if travelling from the airport with the public train as the station is right below the hotel. The food market is very close too and is not to be missed.
The hotel itself is massive, we were given the room in the annexe. The room was huge, recently renovated with a little living room area (sofa, armchair, table), and was very cozy.
Shame the free WiFi was available in the lobby only, but this is the only improvement I can suggest.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,276 - 2,282 of 3,392 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want to be in the center of Philadelphia, this would be the place. It is next to the Convention Center, City Hall, Terminal Market, several bus and trolley stops and the Market East station. Liberty Bell is about 6 blocks away. Reasonable prices, many rooms and great hotel service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed here a couple of times and the rooms overlooking City Hall were out favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CabernetFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for the weekend of my birthday for two nights. While the room was nice, it wasn't anything special. The main thing I didn't like was the fact that we didn't have a refrigerator in our room. I thought they came standard in hotel rooms but apparently not. Something I did like is that you need a cardkey to go to the hotel room floors so it was like an added safety knowing that not just anyone could come in. Although the hotel room itself was average, the location was perfect. Just steps away from public transportation and within walking distance to the historic district, Center City and many other things. It's also right across the street from Reading Terminal Market. I would stay here again based on the location alone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff was very responsive and gave us a room with a great view of city hall. There was supposed to be a fridge in the room but one was sent within 5 minutes of my second request.
Pool- was a fair size but not at all crowded (it probably would be in the summer). The water was a nice temperature.

Food- I was a little surprised not to have more food options in the hotel. Circ is a swanky bar/lounge (but is not for kids) and 13 had a paltry selection of food (which was mediocre at best). The staff was friendly but it's not worth eating there. Walk across the street to Reading Terminal Market or Maggianos.

The concierge was less than helpful recommending restaurants nearby (I'm in Philadelphia I refuse to eat at Chili's). She seemed to be in a hurry to do something else each time I asked she started walking away before I'd finished my response. Not cool.

Also- My smoke detector went of at 3:00- talk about a rude awakening. I wish I had known that i could take off of the wall and take the battery out like I do at home. My 6 y/o and I were miserable for ten minutes waiting for maintenance.

Room service was wonderful and speedy considering the size of the hotel. The room was neat and clean. No complaints!

Mani/Pedi- I guess the hotel's salon is closed. It was recommended that we go to 4 Season's Nail Salon. The service was great but the neighborhood was NOT. Keep a tight grip on your bag. My daughter had lots of questions about the homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk (one was shrieking). Caught a two man team that had me marked to steal my purse/wallet. Had I waited 30 seconds longer to change directions our trip would not have gone so well. Scary.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This chain hotel is in a perfect location for the history seeking. A typically classiy Marriot with lovely rooms and impeciable service. For food, take advantage of the Reading Terminal Market across the street, sit under the cherry blossom trees and watch the world go by, or hop on the city tour buses at the Marriot's doorstep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the "City Hall " give you a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We Price lined this great hotel for a stay before we headed to New York. It was great from the moment we walked in. They upgraded my kids and myself to a suite which was awesome. The location is minutes from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. It is right next to Reading terminal which has all the food you could want. Some of the best ice cream. The restaurant is in there that has the best sandwich in the USA voted from Man vs. Food show also! Awesome location, great staff, and nice rooms. We even had a great swim while there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The only reason to ever stay here is the location. I'm kicking myself for staying here again above and beyond that. As usual there is no upgrade available at check in even though Ive been a rewards member for 15 years and there are many rooms available online upon check-in. Incredibly inept management flourishes at this property. There are 5 birds nests prominently diplayed in the Marriott sign on Filbert st. How nice. Room service is a joke and the employees are uneducated and untrained reference hospitality and professionalism. Just listen to them taking breaks outside property on Filbert st complaining about this place. Again, location is great to just about everything including restaurant row and shopping and terminal market. Aside from that this is potentially the must incompetently run Marriott I have ever seen. Rooms have a musty odor which is incredible since they were refurbished in 2011. Overall its just a very disappointing property. To the Regional people im asking you to replace the management here, please!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ny_nyHonestreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $165 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a Center City Philadelphia hotel ideally located downtown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing