We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile


I stayed at the Marriott Downtown Philadelphia for the weekend of April 12 to 14. It was a very nice stay. The staff was great and if I needed anything they were fast to accommodate me. The hotel is in a great location. It is close to restaurants, attractions and transportation. If you need a bigger room stay in the Head House wing they have a king bed with pull out sofa. Reading terminal market is right across the street, make sure you go there. Do not use the hotel parking, their is a parking garage across the street. It is self service and a little cheaper.all in all it was a good stay and will stay their on my next trip to Philadelphia.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    1,199
    570
    188
    103
See reviews for
511
513
153
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. It was a beautiful facility! It was a quick access to all of downtown. The only negative was the parking!! It was almost $40 per night to park (as are most downtown hotels) and the staff was less than courteous! As we waited for almost 45 minutes for our vehicle to be retrieved, we heard the revving of an engine with and deep acceleration followed byloud screech and bang of a vehicle into the concrete barrier. As the vehicle approached its disturbed owners, the attendant passed the keys over to the owner with no explanation as to why the entire side of the vehicle was damaged. He simply told the vehicle owners to refer to his supervisor who did nothing! I felt this was very alarming! How can a vehicle worth more than $40,000 have thousands of dollars of damage without any explaination or course of action to fix the vehicle!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

While this hotel looks nice - new fixtures, large flatscreen tv, etc. - it lacks in some critical areas for the price paid. Water temp varied during even relatively short showers from luke warm to cold. When asked if someone could bring a remote for the tv (since there was none in the room & the tv didn't work without it), the staff member who brought it said he had never had a missing remote from a room in the 15 years he's worked in the hotel business, which I found somewhat insulting. Even though the hotel is conveniently located, I'm not sure I'd recommend this hotel or return if I'm staying in downtown Philly again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa_shopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the Marriott for a night to go to a show at the Philadelphia Convention Center. I knew they were close, but didn't realize that there was a connector between the two, which worked out great. We were able to check in at about 11:00AM on a Saturday, left our coats in the room and didn't need them for the rest of the day. After the convention center, the Hard Rock and another sports bar were right down stairs and the Reading Terminal Market was right across a small street or alley.

We went out to dinner later that night. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance.

We stopped in the lounge in the lobby after dinner. The service there was poor at best and it wasn't very busy.

The room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning was included in our rate. The restaurant was crowded and served your typical breakfast buffet. Our waitress handed us a bill and said it would be adjusted for the free breakfast later. It showed up on our bill anyway. I called Marriott a week later when I saw that it posted on my bill and they credited it back with no problem.

All totalled, it was an enjoyable stay and a nice room. Just eat and drink somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnspnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
739 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has a nice central location in Philadelphia which is within walking distance to most of the downtown area.

The area is also really safe and we did not feel endangered walking around outside at night.

The front desk staff at the hotel were extremely helpful for anything that we needed. There was a problem with our reservation and once it was fixed, they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a city view on the top floor of the hotel.

They also have a really nice fitness facility with an indoor pool and plenty of meeting space for business customers.

I would stay here again for sure.

Valet parking however was 40 dollars a night. If you would like to save money I recommend finding a garage nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on business. Great location, good friendly service. Perfect place to stay for a conference at the Convention Center. Reading Terminal is nearby and offers many places to eat or shop during business hours. Elevators can be slow after coming from conference sessions with people backed up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic Location. We hosted a wedding event and had all of our guests stay here. They gave us a fantastic group rate that was better than any hotel in the city. The hotel itself is very lovely with modern features. The restaurant is very nice and the staff is unbelievable. The suite we stayed in was very luxurious and provided more than enough room. The regular rooms our guests had were also very nice. You also can't beat the location; close to many landmarks in Philadelphia and of course the famous Reading Terminal Market is right across the street. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Philly who wants to easily move about the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing