We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed April 17, 2013


I stayed at the Marriott Downtown Philadelphia for the weekend of April 12 to 14. It was a very nice stay. The staff was great and if I needed anything they were fast to accommodate me. The hotel is in a great location. It is close to restaurants, attractions and transportation. If you need a bigger room stay in the Head House wing they have a king bed with pull out sofa. Reading terminal market is right across the street, make sure you go there. Do not use the hotel parking, their is a parking garage across the street. It is self service and a little cheaper.all in all it was a good stay and will stay their on my next trip to Philadelphia.


Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Antinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 3,363 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. It was a beautiful facility! It was a quick access to all of downtown. The only negative was the parking!! It was almost $40 per night to park (as are most downtown hotels) and the staff was less than courteous! As we waited for almost 45 minutes for our vehicle to be retrieved, we heard the revving of an engine with and deep acceleration followed byloud screech and bang of a vehicle into the concrete barrier. As the vehicle approached its disturbed owners, the attendant passed the keys over to the owner with no explanation as to why the entire side of the vehicle was damaged. He simply told the vehicle owners to refer to his supervisor who did nothing! I felt this was very alarming! How can a vehicle worth more than $40,000 have thousands of dollars of damage without any explaination or course of action to fix the vehicle!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

While this hotel looks nice - new fixtures, large flatscreen tv, etc. - it lacks in some critical areas for the price paid. Water temp varied during even relatively short showers from luke warm to cold. When asked if someone could bring a remote for the tv (since there was none in the room & the tv didn't work without it), the staff member who brought it said he had never had a missing remote from a room in the 15 years he's worked in the hotel business, which I found somewhat insulting. Even though the hotel is conveniently located, I'm not sure I'd recommend this hotel or return if I'm staying in downtown Philly again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pa_shopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the Marriott for a night to go to a show at the Philadelphia Convention Center. I knew they were close, but didn't realize that there was a connector between the two, which worked out great. We were able to check in at about 11:00AM on a Saturday, left our coats in the room and didn't need them for the rest of the day. After the convention center, the Hard Rock and another sports bar were right down stairs and the Reading Terminal Market was right across a small street or alley.

We went out to dinner later that night. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance.

We stopped in the lounge in the lobby after dinner. The service there was poor at best and it wasn't very busy.

The room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning was included in our rate. The restaurant was crowded and served your typical breakfast buffet. Our waitress handed us a bill and said it would be adjusted for the free breakfast later. It showed up on our bill anyway. I called Marriott a week later when I saw that it posted on my bill and they credited it back with no problem.

All totalled, it was an enjoyable stay and a nice room. Just eat and drink somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnspnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has a nice central location in Philadelphia which is within walking distance to most of the downtown area.

The area is also really safe and we did not feel endangered walking around outside at night.

The front desk staff at the hotel were extremely helpful for anything that we needed. There was a problem with our reservation and once it was fixed, they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a city view on the top floor of the hotel.

They also have a really nice fitness facility with an indoor pool and plenty of meeting space for business customers.

I would stay here again for sure.

Valet parking however was 40 dollars a night. If you would like to save money I recommend finding a garage nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on business. Great location, good friendly service. Perfect place to stay for a conference at the Convention Center. Reading Terminal is nearby and offers many places to eat or shop during business hours. Elevators can be slow after coming from conference sessions with people backed up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic Location. We hosted a wedding event and had all of our guests stay here. They gave us a fantastic group rate that was better than any hotel in the city. The hotel itself is very lovely with modern features. The restaurant is very nice and the staff is unbelievable. The suite we stayed in was very luxurious and provided more than enough room. The regular rooms our guests had were also very nice. You also can't beat the location; close to many landmarks in Philadelphia and of course the famous Reading Terminal Market is right across the street. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Philly who wants to easily move about the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $159 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is a Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing