We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
downingtown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived at 10 am and check in isn't until 4 pm. Luckily, we were able to check in and go to our room. We were on the 16th floor and got a corner room. Very clean and nice. The entire staff was kind, pleasant and helpful. The pool was clean and well maintained. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurants. Great location! We went to Reading Terminal Market and Maggiano's- right across the street. Also, saw the light show at Macy's (glad we saw it, but not spectacular)- right across the street. Short walk to Walnut Street Theater and to Basilica Sts. Peter and Paul. Very close to Historical parts of Philly. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views. We saw Ben Franklin statue and parts of the city. Corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    1,199
    570
    188
    103
See reviews for
511
513
153
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Check in was very smooth! The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel is in a great location for sight-seeing. Valet only took about 10 minutes to deliver our vehicle. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here with the wife and some friends this past weekend. Booked it via Priceline for a steal.

Was greeted warmly by the front desk staff. Even though I booked both rooms via Priceline, the guy helping me let me choose king or doubles, which really helped because our friends didn't really want to share a bed. He was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Didn't even make fun of me when I locked myself out of my room. The other guy working was also extremely nice. He gave us a recommendation for cheese steaks.

The room itself was a bit small, but it was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was really nice. We were on the 8th floor and the view from our room was pretty lousy. Just the side of another building. I imagine the views higher up are nice though, as that building ended right about at our floor.
Nice/big flat screen TV. It also had the input wall thing where you can hook up your computer to the TV. I LOVE this feature. I wish all hotels had it.
Location of the hotel is really great. Walking distance to some of the touristy spots, and an easy walk from the subway line that take you North/South as well as the East/West one.

My only complaint would be that the elevators are WAY off to the sides of the building. Kind of an odd design. Not a huge deal though, and certainly no reason to avoid staying there.

Overall, if you can get this hotel for a decent price (I'd say it's easily worth double what we paid), you will not be displeased with your stay.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExistenceNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights while in town on business. Great location, just 2 blocks from Reading Terminal Market, a stone's throw to the convention center and a short walk to great restaurants and the major tourist attractions. Room size was good, had an issue with the TV but maintenance solved this in short order. Unfortunately, dinner at the restaurant was very disappointing and so was room service. Next time I stay, I will be sure to eat elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Convenient to everything historical, shopping, convention center. The beds just have not been upgraded to newer Marriott standards, very hard. Room size excellent for a city hotel, nice flat screen. We had some issues with TV but the techs were there in a hurry. Staff friendly, efficient and had everything as requested organized for our arrival. Starbucks on ground floor (free Wi Fi as opposed to hotel's surcharge of $14 a day) and Reading Terminal Market next door took care of any food needs we had. Good value at $150 per day during holidays

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent the first weekend in December at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown for a quick family getaway.
The location is fantastic! Easy walking distance to Independence Hall, Love Park, Macy's (and the old Wanamaker's light show) and directly across the street from Reading Terminal Market.
The hotel was clean and well-appointed and the staff was friendly and courteous.
I would recommend the hotel and it's location highly and I will definitely look to make this an annual event.

Room Tip: We were on the 22nd floor. We had a great view of the city and could see all the way down Broad Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel is close to attractions - Center City, Reading Market, Independence Hall - all within walking distance. Being in the city, valet parking is the way to go here. Rooms are typical Marriott rooms - nice and spacious and clean. Stayed here for a conference and so most meals were provided for us. Food was typical hotel fare...we did eat in the restaurant (Thirteen) one night though. It was quite disappointing....we had light fare, but found the food to be overly salty. Ordered a side of mashed potatoes and it was completely inedible. I would suggest you try one of the multitude of restaurants in the area/city instead of eating here.

The business center was a full blown fedex center so everything available for the business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank island-gal-in-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing