We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Kansas City
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

After quite a bit of research, I finally settled on this hotel because it was in a good location for the tourist stuff & seemed to have been remodeled recently. We were very pleased with our selection. The hotel was centrally located to what we wanted to do & close to the Plash stop for catching a shuttle to places that were further away. The room was nice & we found the sheets/bed to be especially comfortable. It was only about a 15 minute cab ride from the airport & our check in was very quick. We did not have any problems with noise, service, or security during our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeToLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    1,243
    590
    196
    108
See reviews for
542
544
157
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was nice. The staff was great. While I checked in, my husband talked with the guy from the bell desk. He was great - very informative about the area. The room was clean, spacious & centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Kare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel has a great staff - they really care about whether you are happy or not. The housekeeping service was outstanding. We were there for 10 days with a convention and our housekeeper 'Sara" was excellent. Our room was always serviced on time and expertly so. The guest services manager - Ms LaPorta was quick to resolve an issue regarding the concierge lounge. I have stayed there before, and this hotel always delivers good service.

Room Tip: If you are not Gold Elite with Marriott - you should upgrade to the concierge floor for an extra cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I traveled to PA from 7/14/12 - 7/15/12 with our seven year old daughter. I booked this hotel through Priceline. I bid $90 and got the room with taxes for $111. Check in was pretty easy. I called on our way from NYC to Philly and asked if our room was ready and if they could please call us when it was. They advised that they would. When we got to the hotel they still had not called but I decided to see if they could get us into a room anyway at the check in desk. They gave us a room without a problem. A few hours later we received a call that our room was ready, lol. Obviously, I would advise going straight to the desk if getting into your room early is a priority.

Another issue with this hotel is the EXTORTIONATE parking rate. They should really be ashamed. $46.50 a day? That is craziness. There is a link on the Philadelphia FAQ section of tripadvisor that I used to find a close lot that we paid $43 for from Saturday morning until Sunday night. It is called Parkway and it was located on 12th between Samsom and Walnut. It was very close. We could see it from the hotel.

Other than that I have no real complaints. The room was clean and quiet. The air conditioning worked well. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with granite countertops and plenty of clean towels. The pool was a real selling point for me. It is indoor and was open until 11 pm. There were plenty of kids there and it was a nice way for us to unwind after a long day of sightseeing.

The Reading Terminal Market is AMAZING! There are many different types of food for all different palates. There was also a Hard Rock Cafe, a Melting Pot and a more upscale Italian restaurant right across the street.

The hotel was walking distance to all the historical landmarks as well. Overall it was a good value and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was over 10 years ago, but I thought the hotel was more upscale than it currently is. The fitness center then was state of the art, now recently remodeled and it doesn't have enough facilities for the guests who use it. There is a huge empty space in the middle and not enough cardio vascular machines for the users. The weights are 3, 8 and 15 pounds. All of the others have walked off, according to the concierge. The TV's on the cardio machines have 400 channels, not one of them is a sports channel!! Made a mistake of having lunch in the restaurant and could not get served in time and eat before my next game. I also told the concierge that the bathtub was slippery and I was fearful of falling. He sent a text telling me that there were no tub mats. I used a towel instead. The location is good, right near the Reading Terminal and the Septa trains.

Room Tip: My room was quiet, it faced North so it stayed cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. The hotel is very impressive. When we drove up, there were multiple car attendants to greet us, quickly remove our bags and get us to the front desk for check in. The check in was quite seamless and the staff were very kind, considerate, warm and caring. By the time I receive my keys, I was already quite excited about being at this amazing hotel. The lobby is exciting and convenient having concierge services, a Fedex, a Starbucks and a restaurant and shopping all within the hotel. The hotel has recently had a renovation and our room felt quite new with nice bathroom amenities, very comfortable bedding and state of the art televisions. When we called "At Your Service" to request a hypoallergenic pillow for my wife, it was brought instantly and with a smile. What is further amazing about this hotel is its unbelievable location. I was able to walk easily to Rittenhouse Square, to the theatre to see "the Buddy Holly Story", to all of the shopping, restaurants and sightseeing that I wanted to do. The hotel is right next to the Reading Market, the Convention Center and is very near the beautiful shopping areas. This is a hotel that I felt when I left that I was truly feeling at home. Cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Philadelphia Downtown Marriott was a convenient location for a one night stay during a recent business trip. My room was comfortable and clean, but nothing extraordinary. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a number of restaurants and bars and is connected to the convention center. There is also a well apportioned fitness center available free of charge.

My otherwise pleasant stay was marred by very loud night construction noise on the street outside the hotel. My colleague requested a room change and was moved to a different room, but he found the reduction in noise to be only minimal. Until the construction has stopped I would not recommend staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the back side of the hotel where loud construction was taking place on the street in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing