We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Fabulous location, fantastic customer service and very clean. Take the SEPTA from the airport and it drops you off right across the street from the hotel....talk about convenience and no need for a rental car!
Everything you would want to see in Philadelphia downtown is walking distance from the Marriott. The staff were very helpful and the executive lounge for Marriott preferred members was excellent.
This is a great Marriott property and lives up to my expectations of a good hotel for business or leisure travel while in Philly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,689 - 2,695 of 3,276 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

I had high hopes for this Marriott located near City Hall. Check-in was smooth. The elevators worked quickly. It is a very large hotel. The lobby is large with a nice center lounge. The workout center is pretty large and the pool area looked nice.

What made the hotel average was the room. It was quite small. I was told I was in a renovated king room. If it was renovated, it is hard to imagine how horrible the room must have been in the past. Most courtyards have better decor. The carpet appeared dated. The view was non-existent, even on a high floor. The air conditioner had a water leakage sound and the toilet made a flushing sound every 20 minutes. Housekeeping did a pretty good job. The bed was comfortable.

The concierge lounge was large, but dated. The food was adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Basically, it is walking distance to all attractions, the Liberty bell, independence hall, etc. I actually spent no money for the transportation during the visit. The bus station is several blocks away, and you could easily find your hotel when you step on Philly. Very close to Chinatown, so for Asian travellers, there is no better stay with good quality for you to enjoy the foods.
Service is good, staffs are nice and helpful. There is a Starbucks on the first floor, so that you could get the free wifi. Bus and train station is right outside the door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youandi0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great location! Walking distance to many of the landmarks including the LOVE Park, The Libery Bell and Reading Market Terminal (sort of like Faneuil Hall Market with many food stalls). The rooms have just been renovated and are very modern.
Great concierge service-thanks Ivan from Hempstead, NY. for all your help in making restaurant reservations, getting me tea bags late at night when I was sick and for printing out MapQuest requests.
Only downside....Parking is pricey in the downtown area. The hotel offers overnight parking with unlimited "in and out" privileges while the surrounding parking lots do not. Think ahead about your plans before you decide to park elsewhere, or take a taxi.

Room Tip: Go on Priceline.com; we lucked out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen0fFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in August of 2011 on vacation. The location of this hotel is amazing. Walking distance to many things including: The Reading Terminal Market, Independence Hall, the U.S. Mint, China Town, & Christ Church(where Ben Franklin was buried). Also, the Melting Pot, Chili's, 7-11 and the Hard Rock Cafe are literally across the street. The beautiful City Hall building is also a 5 minute walk away. As for location-this hotel is the best. If you want to ride one of the sight seeing buses-their stop is also right out in front of the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The lobby is pretty and renovated. The bellmen, valet and desk clerks were all smiling and friendly. The lobby has a restaurant and bar that are open late and seemed to always be hopping.

Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom amenities were very nice. They use Bath & Body Works Orange Ginger scented shampoo and lotion and they were fantastic!

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anybody coming to Philly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertRatTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We are moving our daughter to Philadelphia and used this property for 4 nights as a base for a condo search. Location is central, in the heart of City Center and next to the Reading Terminal Market. The lobby is updated and large. We discovered that their 1st floor bar, Thirteen, had the best prices for happy hour ($3 cold draft beers). Our room on the concierge level was large (for a city hotel), immaculately decorated and with excellent city views. The concierge lounge provided a hot breakfast including eggs. Overall this is an excellent, albeit business-oriented, Marriott property. The only downside is the wifi connection in our room was spotty. Also got a great rate with the Marriott Friends and Family promotion.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I traveled to Philly for a conference. I traveled with my work laptop and an iPad, and a Verizon 4G personal Wifi hotspot. Well...in the hotel room it stopped broadcasting a Wifi signal (I had a strong 4G signal). I went next door to the Verizon store to see if they could fix it. It worked fine over there. I went back to my room. It did not work. I went to the convention center the next day, and it worked fine. Went back to my hotel room, and it did not work.

Verizon had a booth at the conference, and I went to ask the guys there if they had any issues. They said that at least three people had been there asking the same question, all staying at the Marriott.

I think they block the use of personal hotspots as a heavy-handed attempt to force you into using the hotel's expensive internet options in your room. This is ridiculous, and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aslguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $165 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing