We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential. ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potential. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on July 19th. Upon arriving, it was quite difficult to utilize the valet parking we paid for, as a bus was parked directly in front of hotel, and we had to endure angry philly traffic as we were stopped in a lane waiting to see a valet attendant.
The hotel itself looks rather lovely... I enjoyed the decor and furniture layout in the rooms. The bathroom had a shower head that allowed you to adjust the stream. The bathroom did however have signs implying they "go green" and basically asking you to keep and reuse your towels (tho the signs did state they will glady bring you more). Our room came equipped with the smallest amount of amenities I've ever seen....enough soap, shampoo, etc for one use. The coffee maker came with 2 paper cups and maybe 4 sugars and 2 creamers. Cheap much? There were also no OTHER cups or glasses. I asked the lady at the front desk where I could get wine or drink glasses, and she said 'at the restaurant'. I said 'isn't it closed?' (It was close to 2am, and I knew it was closed) She said no. I went....it was, of course, closed. She just didn't care about customer service....I work at a hotel and our front desk staff would go GET you a glass.
I think my biggest gripe is that I am a smoker. Hotel is non smoking, fine, whatever. But there is absolutely NO where to sit outside. The only place to enjoy sitting outside of this hotel is right out front. There is ONE measly little table with 2 chairs...and the entire night it, was occupied by a bum. As I sat on the ground outside for an hour to smoke and use my phone, I was pestered by mutiple bums. There is no security. Its not safe. You'd think a hotel like this would as least have the bum sleeping for hours on their outside furniture removed. Nope. So the bum ueed the furniture and I paid and sat on the ground.
The beds are crazy comfortable, and it's in an great location... right by reading terminal market, and in walking distance to a lot of great restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Christina S,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We appreciate your positive comments about our excellent facilities and outstanding location, with easy access to all the great things which Philadelphia has to offer. We were disappointed to learn of some of the challenges which you had, I assure you that this is not our normal standard as we have a long tradition of providing excellence in service. We do take your comments very seriously and will incorporate them in our ongoing improvements to provide the best possible services and amenities to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    358
    86
    30
    11
See reviews for
255
230
33
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Rooms are large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The furniture is new, and perhaps best described as oversized baroque kitsch. I'm not sure if it's an example of ironic interior decoration or not, but it does the job! Windows do not open, but climate control is OK.

The gym is excellent, and available for use 24 hours a day, but the pool is small and rather dingy.

Rooms on the lower floors at the side of the building can be rather dark. Try to get a room on a higher floor at the front or the back.

I didn't eat in the hotel at all. Reading Market is just around the corner, and has many, many excellent options for breakfast and lunch. There are also many downtown restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors at the side of the building can be rather dark. Try to get a room on a hi...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel states that towels that are hung up will not be removed. But when you do leave them on the hook, room service staff will still change them!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TevredenLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Located in the heart of downtown, across the street from the beautiful city hall within easy walking distance to all the major sites. The rooms are very large and spacious with above average Courtyard furnishings. The café just off the lobby offers Starbuck's coffee shop along with nice and reasonably priced meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for a week and were very satisfied. The staff were all very nice and professional. Book early for the best rates. Very close to museums and historical areas, and plenty of places around to eat. One negative, too many panhandlers around, especially at night. A little more security would be a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Prime location in the center of Philadelphia; you can even see City Hall--across the street and to the left--from the entrance. Also within a couple of blocks are Reading Terminal Market, Macy’s, and numerous restaurants; within 10-15 minutes’ walk are the Franklin Institute, Barnes Foundation, and Free Library. The rooms are spacious and fresh with linens that feel good on the skin and carpets that awaken the feet. The color scheme is striking: white walls and bedding against a gray ceiling with drapes in bold black-and-white horizontal stripes. Bathroom is large with everything in fine working order. The basin is outside the room that houses the tub-shower and toilet, allowing two to get ready at the same time. The shower head is placed high, and the water pressure is sufficient to give full play to all its varied sprays. Provided are ample outlets for your devices, all of them at easy-to-reach spots on the desk and nightstand. There is a larger than usual exercise room and a pool; caution: these must be accessed through the hall serving the conference rooms, something you may want to consider before deciding what to wear when getting to them.

Three quibbles and a Star: 1) The entrance on congested Juniper Street is daunting. Our taxi could not get into the circular drive so he let us off in the street, and we had to circumnavigate cars and other guests to get inside. This wasn't a major problem as it was a sunny summer day; inclement weather would make for a quite different experience. Again, when we checked out, the drive was congested and no bellman was available, so we walked to the street and hailed our own cab. 2) Accommodating its guests is not on every hotel employee’s agenda. The housekeeper on our floor was completely silent when I asked her help in figuring out how to disengage the deadbolt so that our door could be closed. She walked into the room and partially closed the door--leaving me outside in the hall--and performed the task but not so that I could learn how she did it. I realize that I took her from her job tending to the room next door, but did she realize that there will be rooms to be tended only if guests return? The Star: In fairness, all other staff encountered were pleasant and efficient. Especially guest-conscious was a manager(?) in the lobby on our second day who saw me waiting in line to speak to someone at the front desk. Although there was only one person ahead of me, he came over to ask if there was anything he could help me with. When I told him I just wanted change for a $20 bill, he fished out his wallet, looked through it, and apologized that he didn’t have change. 3) The complimentary wi-fi is slow, agonizingly so during peak usage. While emailing during peak times, I pressed SEND and then had enough time to fold a letter, insert it in an envelope, and affix a stamp, were I doing it the old-fashioned way. The hotel does offer a higher-speed wi-fi for an additional charge, something you should consider if you are doing anything more demanding than emailing and surfing.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto the city with a parking lot immediately adjacent. It was fine as we were on...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers the same towel- and linen-saving practices as most other hotels do today.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonKimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel satisfies all of the rules of a hotel ... Location, value, good food and quality rooms! This Marriott ranks among my favorites .. The room was really spacious and very comfortable ... The rooms are QUIET!!! A definite re-visit is in order!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are away from the City noises but overall the hotel is quiet!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious .. There are sigs explaining their rules on towels etc ... They are user friendly and easy to follow.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FPFD318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is An old attractive building converted to a good hotel near the convention center and other sites. Great staff and service make up for louder than usual air conditioning in an otherwise large and comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eclectic779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Marriott
Philadelphia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing