We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Better than I expected.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently stayed a night. The hotel room was very spacious. The bed was comfortable and I felt like the room was underpriced. The only thing I would suggest is that make more spacious elevators. Besides that, everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiomara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Xiomara C,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent visit to the area.
We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, and what a great value we offer. We have the unique combination of an historic building, a complete modernizing of the building, and a total rooms renovation we recently completed. All that combined with our excellent location and competitive prices indeed makes our hotel a great value. We look forward to having you back again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    379
    90
    30
    11
See reviews for
271
234
34
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Location, room, and staff all excellent. In the center of the city close to Reading Terminal market and walking distance to Independence Hall (about a mile) and to Museum of Art 1.5 miles. wear you're walking shoes, but you are also right across from the Septa Line at old City Hall. And speaking of City Hall, what a view! Asked ahead of time for a room and we were so fortunate to look upon the City Hall building with William Penn standing above the clock tower. It is part of the skyline and could see it all the way from the Stadium complex. Best Courtyard I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Request a room that offers a view of Old City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobfinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear BobfinNH,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your comment that this is the best Courtyard you have ever stayed in. We have a very unique hotel, in that we are in an historic building from 1926 which was completely modernized in 1999 and completed renovation in 2014. As you mentioned, we also benefit from an outstanding location in the heart of the city, with easy access by walking and also public transportation for a small fee. We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My daughter and I walked the 2 blocks from the train station and were greeted by friendly bellstaff who directed us to the front desk. The kind gentleman at the desk addressed my 12yo child directly and asked if she would like a newly renovated room on the 12th floor of the hotel. He went on to explain to her the historic significance of the building. She was ecstatic. The room was terrific. The pool and jacuzzi overlooking the street were also a huge a treat for her. The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Wesley J

Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff's friendly service during your recent stay. Like yourself, our guests frequently comment on our excellent location near Reading Terminal. We're pleased to hear that your daughter enjoyed and pool and jacuzzi with the great views. We look forward to your returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just stayed at the hotel for five nights for an international conference. Loved the hotel: excellent service and a beautiful early 20th century architecture hotel: old Philadelphia. The service was excellent! My only concern was the swimming pool 3 feet in depth: do not quite get this. Other than the pool, we loved the hotel, the cafe/bar, Starbucks, and the care we were given. Certainly look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor with a quite view of the capitol building ... beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteoakspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear whiteoakspring,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent trip to the area.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our outstanding location in the heart of Center City, with easy access to all the amenities and attractions Philadelphia has to offer. Our hotel is a unique property in Philadelphia, as we have the benefit of an historic building from 1926, combined with a complete modernization of the building, and a recent custom renovation. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel has been recently renovated and is very tastefully decorated. The location can't be beat. I was there for a conference at the convention center and it was a very short walk (1.5 blocks) to the convention center. Additionally, the Reading Terminal Market is the same distance. Macy's is a block away and my room overlooked city hall. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions, getting cabs and making suggestions. Housekeeping kept my room looking great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccam2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear rebeccam2565,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent visit to the area. Thank you for your positive comments about our excellent location. We believe that we provide the best possible rooms, services, and amenites with a location providing easy access to all of the attractions to Center City. The Reading Terminal Market is truly a unique experience. We look forward to your return soon, whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels, and a lot of Marriotts, for work. This was a pleasant surprise since I was counting on the typical Marriott experience, yet if was a bit more upgraded than normal. This hotel was part of a large conference, and often hotels are overwhelmed with the size. The sister hotel next door was a bustle of attendees fighting for bar space, lobby seats, and elevators. I found the Courtyard Marriott surprisingly quiet and civil. My king room had obviously just been renovated, and I loved the space and decor. Very relaxing. The bed was a bit too firm for my taste, but the pillows were exactly as I like them and I was quite comfortable. Kudos Courtyard Marriott, you validated why I choose you first when I have to travel.

Room Tip: Request a renovated king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear cynth,
Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent visit to the area. Like yourself, our guests comment that we provide an outstanding facility to meet all of their needs while visiting the area for business, convention, or pleasure travel. While we have 499 rooms, and are the largest Courtyard hotel in the United States, we strive to provide a boutique hotel experience, with a focus on relaxation. As you mentioned, our hotel was recently renovated with a custom decor unique to this hotel, and provides some of the best views of the city. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

No one wants their school age daughter to catch the flu on a family vacation, but when she does, you want the kind of support the staff at the Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia provides in spades. They were thoughtful, kind, and extremely responsive for such a large hotel, especially Moise on the janitorial crew. He provided extra towels and bedding whenever we called and cleaned the room spotless, no doubt helping the rest of us avoid catching the 24-hour flu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Bruce U,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent trip to the area. We are very sorry to hear that your daughter became ill during your trip, but very pleased to hear that our staff providing the assistance and support you needed. We are very thankful to have excellent staff members such as Moise, and greatly appreciate your mentioning him. We hope that you will come back soon so that your daughter can have a full vacation in Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing