We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Concept But Very Cool Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
aloft Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Their slogan goes something like this: "Live Life Aloft". Strange.

The theme is more like 2001 Space Odyssey meets Disco meets College dorm. I just didn't get it as a lodging option but I appreciate the effort.

The property is situated about a mile from Philadelphia International Airport in a fairly nice gated complex that houses two additional Starwood hotels, the Four Points Sheraton and the Sheraton Suites. I chose Aloft because I was awarded it after a $90 Hotwire selection. The other two run about 140-160 per night during the week and appear comparable in quality.

The main floor of the hotel has all of the standard amenities of a Marriott Courtyard with the addition of dance music blaring in the background, billiards table, a little grocery market, "new wave" bar and a swimming pool with a similar ultra-modern design. It actually felt like a place where you would go to pick-up a lonely flight attendant.

The staff actually greet you with "Aloha" when you check-in or ask them a basic question. I couldn't decide whether or not to answer with an Aloha back or break out with a "Buenos Dias".
That being said, everyone was really nice and took time to answer questions about the local area.

My room resembled something similar to my dorm when I was a freshman in college. It had a bed, a work table and little else. It was tiny and there was no tub. Rather, you get a stand-up shower, a sink and a toilet. I was waiting for a Resident Assistant to assign me a roommate. The only thing resembling a perk is the flatscreen. This is not what I expect in a room design.

Upon my return to retrive my car (you can keep it parked there for 6 dollars per day so long as you prepay) my car battery went dead and I forgot one of my bags at the airport. Staff were great. They immediately called for a driver who took us back to the airport where I found my missing luggage. They also called for a maintenance engineer from one of the adjacent buildings who was kind enough to give me a jump with his cables. My car started immediately. I am going to contact the management to let them know about their kind actions as they both went beyond the call of duty for me.

Overall, this place will probably work for single guys or men on business who are looking for a place to crash without their wives or girlfriends. I would stay again if traveling by myself but would not recommend for older couples, female professionals or familes traveling with children.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 693 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is a new modern hotel near the Philadelphia International Airport on the same property as the Sheraton Suites and another hotel. There was a very convenient shuttle to the airport which also allows you to get on the SEPTA train system so you can get downtown quite easily.

The lobby is open plan with a island check-in desk and a bar and a separate area with a pool table. There were also two free computers for surfing the internet. There is also free Wi-fi in the lobby and in every room there is an internet connection. This area had quite loud music which we found a bit obtrusive.

There is no restaurant but you can buy food and drinks from a display like a cafeteria and pay at the check-in. We had to go to the Sheraton Suites at the receptionist's recommendation for an evening meal.

The room is not big, though it has high ceilings and two large windows. There was a large flat screen TV but nowhere to sit and watch it except the king size bed. There was only one chair in the room and a rather noisy in-room airconditioner/heater which seemed out of place in a room that tried to be modern and up to date.

There is no bath tub, though it has a large glass shower cubicle which was fine. There was a room safe and coffee maker, though with only one pack of each type of beverage (coffee, regular and decaf, and a couple of types of tea).

Curiously there was very little room to put clothes away outside a suicase, no drawers and only a small hanging area. If you are staying more than a couple of days this is a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank apq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

This was my second stay at an aloft hotel and the design and amenities are all pretty much the same since they are all new hotels. The check-in person was very nice as were the parking attendents. It cost $6 for daily parking right outside. Everything was very clean and the rooms were all nicely furnished. The location was very convenient to most major historical attractions. Will definately stay here again during future visits. There are 2 other spg properties in this same location for those that might be interested. Pool was small, but fine for my young kids, workout room was nice as well.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crazywudsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This hotel has the potential to be a great hotel but small issues added up quickly. After spending about 10 minutes at the kiosk to check in, I was then told I needed to go to the Front Desk to get my keys. The kiosk is a marketing ploy to be different, so its important to get this right.

The room was nice with a good sized bathroom. I also liked the fitness center and the new running machines were awesome.

The Front Desk agent said she had posted the parking charge on my bill but when I went to drive to the airport, the attendant told me I owed him $6. The parking had not been posted.

A few simple changes and this hotel will be a good one.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I hadn't stayed at an aLoft before so I gave it a try. Arrived at night...the lobby was W-ish....music playing, dim lighting etc. There were lots of people hanging out.

My room was nice (the hotel was almost brand new) but nothing special. I am a platinum SPG member and am used to getting upgrades - I think I just got a regular room here.

The Sheratons (aLoft, Four Points and Sheraton Suites) are all in a little "park" by PHL Parking is $6 for overnight. I didn't get a good night's sleep in the room because a) the air conditioner was VERY loud and b) there are nice-looking blinds but no blackout curtains (so it's very light in the AM). Maybe these things would not be an issue in the winter.

All things being equal I would probably stay at the Sheraton Suites and if I wanted a "lobby scene" come over to the aLoft.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Afua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Simonetravelwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric J, General Manager at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean-Pierre-029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric J, General Manager at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
#46 of 88 in Philadelphia
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Airport
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Philadelphia Airport

Address: 4301 Island Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19153-3256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $136 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Philadelphia Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Philadelphia Airport offers guests a bold, new travel experience just minutes from downtown Philadelphia and conveniently located near Philadelphia International Airport (free shuttle service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Philadelphia Airport Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing