We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an airport hotel, but not for an Aloft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
aloft Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had an early morning flight out of Philadelphia, so I wanted to stay near the airport. I have enjoyed Aloft's in other cities, so I hoped to have a similar experience here.

Pros - location, gym, bar (Cesar was great), plenty of snacks for purchase
Cons - very loud A/C unit, the first room I entered hadn't been cleaned and was a mess (but I did get another room quickly), the bar oven was broken - so no food

I have had better experiences at Aloft Hotels, but this is probably one of the best options near the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask that your room not face the bar patio and that it is away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Valerie p,
Thank you for taking the time to write an online review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, W XYZ Bar, and fitness center. We apologize for the inconveniences our broken oven may have caused and sorry that your room did not meet your initial expectations. Thank you for passing on the information. We have forwarded your comments to our team and will look to make improvements. Thanks so much and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 698 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed in Aloft in other countries and this was very similar in all respects.

The hotel shares its grounds with 2 other starwood hotels and this hotel seems to be the newest of them

The room is comfortable and clean although the air conditioning is one of the old style units attached to the wall and was pretty noisy. The lifts are also pinfully slow!

The parking was $12 per night (I note earlier reviews mention $7 and $9 so maybe it has gone up). The problem was it was extremely difficult to find a parking place and resulted in a long walk to the hotel.

Free wifi is good for an airport hotel.

The bar was pretty funky and the gym had good Lifefitness equipment.

Staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We love the feel of the Aloft chain but were disappointed in just 1 aspect of our stay in Philadelphia: the room was not as clean as I expect from a Starwood Hotel.

Very convenient for an early morning departure to Philadelphia airport. Do plan ahead if you depart at a busy time. The shuttle to the airport is meant to come every 10 minutes. However, if lots of folks are piling on with lots of luggage it take more than ten minutes Suggest that early morning travellers either take a taxi or allow extra time for shuttle.

The Aloft rooms are so cool! The TV, alarm clocks iPod docking are all convenient. The Bliss shower products smell great. We love Aloft!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandaceBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the 2nd Aloft we have stayed in and it was great. Simple room, comfortable bed, complimentary water bottles, friendly check-in staff, a nice little pool we didn't have a chance to use, fast wi-fi... couldn't ask for more! The shuttle ran every 20 minutes to the terminals and we did not hear any noise even though the room overlooked Route 95. I had wanted to stay at the Marriott in the terminal, but it was 2.5 x the cost of the Aloft! It was well worth having to take the 5-minute shuttle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dera jlle,
Thank you for your positive online review. We're happy that you enjoyed our hotel amenities, convenient location, and had a comfortable stay. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed her overnight during the bad storm that knock out power during the night. First impression of the hotel is that it is decorated very modern. The doors to the rooms were very heavy to open. At first, I thought the sound of rain drops were from the rainstorm but then felt wetness on the rug. Went to front desk to inform them that the air conditioning unit was leaking. Maintenance man came immediately but said could not fix the problem till we left the next day. During the night, the power went out. I personally thought that the hotel should have informed guests of what was happening. When we opened the door there were flashlights going down the hallways so you could see but the hotel did not offer any compensation for the inconvenice that we went through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobkat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear bobkat10,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Philadelphia area. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Our first priority is to ensure our guests are safe from the storm. Should you like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to reach out to our General Manager, Chris Hartzell, at 215 220 4607.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a one night stay close to the airport for a super early flight out. A terrible rainstorm saw cancelled flights and power out at the hotel. After checking out and discovering from their shuttle driver that my flt was cancelled, I sat in the lobby trying to reschedule my flight back home to Key West, the wonderful staff offered me my room back! They were very patient and courteous to guests explaining the prolonged power outage. It seemed more of a hipster nightclub when I walked in, was a little miffed about people running up and down halls at 1am...BUT the staff redeemed my first impression....well done!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpaSlut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review. We have already shared your kind words with the team and we were happy to have served you well during the storm. We hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Way too expensive for what you get. Check in was terrible, the hotels computer system didn't work the whole time I was there. Had to check in by hand and no reciept for when I left. Coffee machine was pumping out luke warm coffee. Internet service didn't work in the room. Shuttle bus to the airport was early to pick up so I missed and had to walk across the street to the adjacent hotel to catch it there. Come on ... you gotta do better than this. Most people staying here are business people and should get a little bit better service. It wasn't inexpensive either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at aloft Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear pvbtravels,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are sorry that you experienced so many challenges during your stay. At your convenience, please contact our General Manager, Chris Hartzell, at 215-220-4607 so we can speak with you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
#45 of 88 in Philadelphia
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Philadelphia Airport

Address: 4301 Island Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19153-3256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $129 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Philadelphia Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Philadelphia Airport offers guests a bold, new travel experience just minutes from downtown Philadelphia and conveniently located near Philadelphia International Airport (free shuttle service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your aloft Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Philadelphia Airport Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing