We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sansom Kabob House

Sansom Kabob House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansom Kabob House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #690 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian options”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a quaint little restaurant with wonderful service. There are many vegetarian choices on the menu, and they are clearly identified as such. We enjoyed our meal very much.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinggnome48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mfarid2009
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Afghani Resturant”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience in this resturant. The atmosphere is really authentic and the staff were so much friendly. I had the sambosa for the appetizer and the delicious yoghurt drink. For the main dish i got the Qablee Palaw and it was fantastic. My company got the lamb kabob and he also enjoyed it. Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfarid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A Great Find in Center City Philadelphia”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A friend suggested we have lunch at the Sansom Steet Kabob House. From the outside, one would never imagine the great find! You walk down some stairs to what appears to be a fast-food kabob house. Seating is in the back, with the food preparation being near the entrance. The atmosphere is filled with character in the seating area; Afghan rugs, artifacts and more. Judging from the lunch time crowd, others have surely already found this gem. If you like grilled meats, pumpkin, eggplant and other mixed Afghan dishes, you'll be glad you made it to Sansom Kabob House.

Open for dinner, as well. Bring your own wine or beer and make it a night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Kabobs and Afghani Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing kabobs, with the sauce that is too good!
Prices are not too bad.
Platter is served with afghani bread, which is great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kashmiri-chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opteron
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Find For All”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the only restaurant I know that I can invite adventurous, timid, rich and frugal friends, with or without children to and be sure they will enjoy the food and be comfortable with the tab. Simply put, the spicing here is the most harmonious and gentle of all the cuisines with which I am familiar.

Haing been a frequent customer over the last 5 years or so, I can attest to the fact that the food is consistently and carefully well-prepared. I find the salad dressing (a mild leben-like dairy product) quite well done and properly distributed. (Folks who have issues with dairy products might ask for the salad without it.)

The bread, which is prepared fresh in the restaurant, is wonderfully chewy and a welcome change from the bland pitas that are used in so many places. It is a perfect complement to the hummus, which differs from others around the city, and is my favorite among them.

The sevice has always been good and the decor interesting without pretension and never less than pleasant. I am certainly in favor of BYO places and Sansom Kabob House hits that mark as well.

All in all, I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansom Kabob House also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sansom Kabob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing