We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean rooms at a budget price”
Review of The Tyee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tyee
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good clean rooms at a budget price”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My companion and I needed an affordable place to stay during a recent road trip to Whidbey Island. Coupeville has a number of trendy/spendy B&Bs, but each was either booked or too expensive. The Tyee fit the bill for $69, where we found a clean, bright room with basic amenities. Check in at the bar was easy enough. (The restaurant for breakfast is decent. It's mainly a place for locals.). The location is about a mile or so from the waterfront, where most of the other restaurants and accommodations are located. A grocery store is across the street. No complaints and very good value compared to other places nearby, including those in Oak Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aurora_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room was clean and quiet. Not fancy, but comfortable. Rooms are rented through the restaurant and bar, but in a separate building.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The previous reviewer had it about right - it's not that the place is so bad, it's that it's priced way above its class. I was bicycle-touring and I'm not real picky, but...

Here are a few things you do without at the Tyee: a DEADBOLT (important because the door opens to the parking lot); 3-HOLE SOCKETS (so unable to recharge my netbook - maybe not that important because there is no...WIFI); TELEPHONE (if you can't e-mail, it would be nice to be able to phone home. Or call the desk - oh wait there is no desk - check in at the bar and be careful not to knock over that fella's beer as you shout to be heard); BATHROOM COUNTER (think about it - no place to stash your stuff); BATHTUB (hey, I like a soak after pedaling all day). Not that I would bring my wife to a place like this, but she'd recoil at the scuzzy carpet, lack of amenities, no coffee maker, dingy lighting, etc. As a comparison, the next night I spent fifty bucks (25 dollars less) at the Sundowner in Sequim and got all of the above items.

Anyway, the staff were friendly enough, the restaurant food about average, and I got a good night's sleep. If I had it to do over again, though, I would have overnighted in Oak Harbor or pressed on to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank NVanHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

From the impression I got on the internet, we were expecting an older quaint little hotel. We stayed there in Sept 09. For $80 a night to stay in an old motel, right next to a pub it was a bit of a surprise. The room was not in very good shape, the carpet was in need of being replaced, there was way too much light coming through the windows, and we got to listen to the pub patrons until it closed. The bed was actually quite comfortable and it did get quiet earlier then I feared but overall the place was just too run down. It was close to the town center and not far from the ferry but the only way I would ever stay there again is if it was $40 a night There is no way it should have been $75

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed here because it was close to the ferry terminal and we had reservations on the early morning ferry to Port Townsend. There is really not too much in Coupeville - we drove back to Oak Harbor for dinner. The room is definitely no frills and somewhat dated. It was kind of weird checking in at the associated restaurant. But it was clean, and fairly quiet. However, i wonder if it would be on the weekend when the associated restaurant turns into a bar with karaoke... Our main reason for staying here was proximity to the ferry and it certainly was that. I would not stay here if i were just touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyMcBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

The Tyee is still the best lodging value I know of on the Central and South end of Whidbey (and likely the whole Island, but I don't care to stay in Oak Harbor).. The food is pretty good too. My regular dinner during our visit was the Teriyaki Chicken w/pineapple sandwich.

Helpful?
5 Thank CAMason22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.1 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
89 reviews
5.7 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tyee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tyee

Property: The Tyee
Address: 405 S Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-3537
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Tyee Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing