We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toby's

Toby's
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited Whidbey Island with our extended large family. Beware, Toby's is very strict about their no minors allowed policy. The first time we stopped in for lunch, my husband and I had our niece and two nephews with us. One nephew was 19 and didn't expect to imbibe, but they would not allow us seating with anyone under 21. The second time we stopped by, we were seated immediately and ordered their local mussels. As we were waiting for our food, several other family members stopped by and they very graciously moved us to a larger table so we could all sit together. The drinks were delicious and varied. The local mussels were steamed to perfection. I would definitely recommend this tavern to anyone, 21 and older!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    124
    70
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If only the Bar and wait staff could smilie...just a little”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I know it is the 4th of July weekend with lots of out of towner s looking for a good beer (good selection), Penn Cove mussels (great receipt and delicious), Toby burger or the really good fish and chips with homemade cole slaw. Folks were patient and waited quietly looking out at Penn Cove and the platforms where the mussels grow but slow down the wait staff one-half step and look the customer in the eye making a good place to eat as friendly as the Town of Coupeville.
It would be a 4 star other wise

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 828SusanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff, bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really wanted to find a place where I could enjoy a meal and sit at the bar. This was not the place. The waitresses were very rude, the food was disgusting, and it was way overpriced. I actually ended up pretty sick to my stomach after the meal here. Total waste of time and money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not your usual waterfront restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great food. Waitstaff sometimes short staffed, but very fast moving. Some of the best mussels I had on this trip. Funky atmosphere, great local hangout. Watch the water and sailboats pass through Puget Sound and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“quite an experience dining here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had to wait only a few minutes for a table. There were 4 of us. We ordered a pound of steamed mussels and some clam chowder. This is the first time I had ever had steamed mussels. The chowder was superb and the mussels were also. They were very busy but we had great service in spite of that. Will definitely go back there again when we return to Whidbey Island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank clemab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby's also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Toby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing