We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic charming inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Reviewed December 2, 2010

thooroughly enjoyed staying in this authentic historic inn (log cabin type). good breakfast and restaurant. charming victorian town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellacharmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the "top" room available, advertised as having a private hot tub, WiFi, fireplace, larger public hot tub, of being the main points.

Well, the private hot tub didn't work, and was filled with mucky water. Considering we reserved a month in advance, you'd think that would be plenty of time.

The public hot tub, thinking it would be a backup plan, had no heater working. Sure, the jets worked, but what good is a hot tub when it isn't hot?

The WiFi was broken... not just the wireless, but the public computer with internet access didn't actually have internet either.

Ontop of that, we were, at first, given the wrong keys. We had to go back and get the correct keys.

The firewood was soaking wet, and would not hold a fire. The kindling was wet. The newspapers were damp. Not very good for fires.

For the price, we could have rented two suites at a holiday inn and gotten more bang for the buck.

The concession we were given was 10%, which barely brought the price down to the other expensive cabins available, which actually had kitchens, which the top cabin did not. Way overpriced for the current venue.

An email sent to the main contact asking for a rebate has gone unanswered thus far. Not only terrible service and responsibility, but a clear sign of management and ownership that just doesn't care.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank facher83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainWhidbey, Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

We recognize that our hot tubs are an important amenity for guests and provide service to each hot tub three times each week. On rare occasion, the tubs breakdown. We have to order parts to repair them and have to wait for their arrival. When this happens, as a policy, we call all guests ahead of time to give them an opportunity to reschedule their visit or we offer them a discount. Our guest did not receive the message on this occasion.
Our previous WiFi system was affected by the wind, woods and distances to the outlying cabin in question and it sometimes proved difficult to get a reliable connection. To correct for this inconsistency in signal strength, we have upgraded our service to provide outstanding connection anywhere on our 7 acres, including the inn deck. If WiFi is unavailable, the staff offers the use of other broadband-connected inn computers to guests. If our broadband service is interrupted, we apologize and notify guests when it is back online. Any adjustment offered is of course small compensation for a guest disappointment. In this case the adjusted rate was lower than the rate for a comparable cabin without a hot tub. We also offered this guest a free 2-night stay at another time but he refused the offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Captain Whidbey Inn is a National Historic Landmark that was built in 1907 that offers several different types of accomodations. The main building with its century old structure offers charming but small rooms on the second floor of the Inn. These rooms share a common female/male bathroom. The main floor of the Inn, is taken up by a large fireplace with ample seating as well as a formal dining room and a smaller room which is the tavern at night and the breakfast area during the complimentary breakfast each morning.
A second option for lodging is a structure a couple of hundred feet away that offers larger rooms in a newer structure that overlooks a small lagoon and gazebo.
Finally (and where I stayed) there are 4 individual cabins that offer individual bathrooms, larger living quarters, a shared jacuzzi and private decks. The cabins come in various sizes and one of them has a small kitchen. Each cabin has a fireplace.
There is a rather complete complimentary breakfast complete with juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruits, muffins, bagels, and cereals. On Sunday, there is a Brunch that must be paid for.
Dinner is also available (although I did not try it) but heard that the chef is fantastic.
We had the chance to meet and speak with the owners who purchased the Inn 3 years ago and are bringing the Inn back to its former glory. The owners were very gracious and are dedicated to making one's stay as pleasant as possible.
The staff was always very courteous and helpful, we could not ask for better staff.
The cabin was very comfortable and quiet with very soft and luxurious towels. The room was made up every day and the fireplace cleaned.
The location is ideal if you want a very quiet and peaceful stay. The Inn overlooks Penn Cove and the grounds are very well kept with numerous gardens on the premises.
The town of Coupeville is only minutes away and the largest town on the island - Oak Harbor is only 15 minutes away.
Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our 4 night stay and had no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve90064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The Captain Whidbey Inn is a quiet, quaint, and rustic inn which has landed it on various "Best" lists over the years. This was a return trip for my wife and myself after not visiting for several years. Unfortunately the owners apparently think the quaint includes beds brought over from the old country by the captain himself. We had a room in the Lagoon buildings. The bed was hard; was swayed; and slanted foot to head. I would expect better in a flop house. We complained the next morning and the staff said we would be moved to a room with a "new" mattress. When we returned from sightseeing, we checked out the new room. Same crummy mattress. If this was a new one, these folks don't know a thing about buying a mattress. My wife discussed the problem with staff while I was on the phone looking for another place to stay when magically a room with a pillowtop bed appeared to be available. The second night was a much better sleep experience.
The rooms have stained carpets with cigarett burns. Real class. One of the chairs was covered with a massive coffee stain. The rooms are in need of major work. The inn advertises WiFi throughout the property. Whoever wrote that never tried connecting from the Lagoon buildings. Yes I got a signal but it was so weak it would not connect. The signal in the Inn itself was fine.

On the plus side, the restuarant, while having a limited menu, has excellent food and service. The grounds are beautiful, quiet and relaxing.

Unfornately we will not stay here again unless we hear that someone has actually tried to make this into a comfortable and clean place in which to stay. We will return to whidbey Island and will eat at this restuarant again but will find another inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sage102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainWhidbey, Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

The Captain Whidbey Inn offers new pillow-top and feather-top mattresses to accommodate guest preferences. Rooms with either type of mattress are available and we offer the choice to our guests. If for any reason a guest tells us they are not pleased, we move them to another room.
This particular guest let us know in the morning and they were moved immediately. Had they expressed any preference for change upon arrival or in the evening we would have moved them to another room at that time.
Our WiFi extends to every room, throughout the 61/2 acre grounds, decks and to the end of the dock in Penn Cove for our boating guests. The service is free to all inn guests. For larger groups and intense users our technical staff is periodically on site to assist with any issues. 95% of the reception issues arise when a customer’s laptop has needs attention or when our broad band service provider has interrupted service, as happens occasionally on Whidbey Island. With the help of our technical staff we trouble shoot any guest issues and of course work with our local service provider to restore service that has been interrupted.
Our WiFi network equipment is regularly upgraded, most recently in January of 2011. We also offer use of our cable broadband guest computers located in the lobby to anyone having difficulties with their equipment.
In this case the customer was offered a discount for their inconvenience and they accepted our offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed in a knotty pine cabin. Very much like a family cabin. The bed was wonderful. The furnishings old but not terribly worn. It was raining but I didn't care. Would have liked to sit on the cabin's private deck with peaceful view of Penn Cove. Each of the 2 rooms had a large sliding glass door so I could watch from inside. I didn't try the fireplace. It was plenty warm inside without it. The lodge was amazing for its history and authentic historical furnishings. Be sure to tour the upstairs rooms. Although very small with a shared hall and bathroom, if you want to experience the 'real deal', choose one of these rooms. The dining room was up and running and the continental breakfast was varied and good. The grounds are breathtaking complete with a herb garden the restaurant maintains. The whole place was quiet and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ondies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We went to Coupville without reservations. We were told in town we might possibly get a room here and it was on the water, that is what we wanted. We went in and the young lady was very nice gave us prices around 120.00 for the night. She said we could go upstairs and check it out if we would like. It was very rustic but nice. I have never seen a place quite like this. The upstairs had 3 rooms available and they had them set up kind of like a museum with a rope across the doorway. We were able to look in all available rooms. There is a stairway up to a library type area or very large hallway. On either side are several rooms. We did look into one that was quite large with 2 rooms. The big downer is you have to share a bathroom and shower. each room had it's own sink but the toilet and shower was down the hall. We thought we would stay here for the experience. We went down and decided we would check in then she informed us that you can not have children there. We had a 10 year old with us. She said "because of the noise that most kids make it is our policy not to allow children to stay here." I was a little disappointed at first but then realized later that where we ended up staying was much better for our needs and we did not have to share a bathroom and we had a great view of the water from our room and the cost was about the same. If you are looking for rustic charm on the water with no children this is the place but remember you do have to share a bathroom with complete strangers .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozarks_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainWhidbey, Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

The historic Inn building at the Captain Whidbey is a hand-crafted 104-year-old log structure in a waterside setting with stone fireplaces and decor that is authentic to its time-period. The inn's unique charm is part of the draw for many of our guests. However, if one is looking for a different experience, staying in the original log Inn might not be the best match and we suggest one of our many contemporary rooms and cabins with newly remodeled bathrooms available (at a competitive price level) as the alternative.
The Inn was built with logs harvested from the island in 1907 and we make every effort to preserve it without disturbing its original historic charm. As such the Historic Inn accommodations offer an experience rich in charm and antiques. It is not something we recommend for a family with children because of the layout of the rooms, the construction techniques used by the original craftsmen, and the nature of our period furnishing, lights and amenities.
We do offer may wonderful rooms on the property with private baths, as well as furnishings and layouts that are appropriate for families and we enthusiastically welcome all age groups to the Inn.
This alternate solution was offered to the guest but not accepted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our family and friends traveled from the East Coast to this Inn for a weekend of celebrating a family wedding. Many of us stayed at the Inn and planned the rehersal dinner at the Inn. The management changed all the prices and services at the last minute and ruined a happy event for all of us. Their attitudes towards us as paying guests was horrible, the service at the dinner/party was poor, they increased all the prices and to add insult to injury I am now missing an expensive gold bracelet and another family member is missing a gold necklace. What could have been a beautiful, rustic treasure was a nightmare. Don't go.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank lmfbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
82.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
342 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing