We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, OK accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, OK accommodations”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days in July. I have to say that this hotel has a great deal of charm and is in a fantastic location... SO beautiful! We stayed in a lagoon cabin, which gave us the feeling of being in our own log cabin out in nature. Very peaceful and really lovely. On the down side, though, the room itself was more than a little "tired". A fresh coat of paint and cleaning up some of the mineral crud buildup on the faucets and shower would go a long way to improving the room experience! Ok, so the room wasn't exceptional, but as I mentioned the location is stunning and let's not forget that the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Many rooms have shared bathrooms, so if this is not for you, make sure you ask about rooms with priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
42
155
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The Captain Whidbey Inn is lovely and the location unbeatable. The water views, the deer greeting you in the morning, the grounds and gardens are like a historic estate... All peaceful and pristine.

It felt as though they weren't quite ready for high-season, though. The hot tubs were closed for maintenance, the gardens in need of grooming and weeding, the wifi out half our stay and the staff's noticeable frustration made things seem more chaotic than they had to be. We wondered if the Inn is under new management or just didn't expect a busy June weekend?

Things to know: no TV, don't count on any wifi and the beds (at least in Lagoon Rooms) are small and uncomfortable. But don't come for any of that. Come for the beauty, the peace and quiet and the potential that they'll smooth their maintenance an processes before summer!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pattygalhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Do not stay here if you want a good nights sleep. My friend and I stayed
for one night and got almost no rest....the bed was the worst I'd ever slept on....it felt like trying to
sleep on doorknobs! The room was old and the bedding was shabby. There was no tv and the room had a weird smell. We had planned on staying another night, but couldn't stand to. We had booked the room for $115 and ended up having to pay almost $200 with taxes....the clerk said there was a "mix up" and we were given a different room?!!!

Room Tip: View of lagoon was blocked by a large white tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My companion and I paid $176 per night for a shabby double room with threadbare sheets and dingy towels. Non-working wifi in room. A cheap, poor quality breakfast, with unripe and overripe fruit, and no warm food, even though they have a kitchen on site. Coffee pot in room didn't work. Hair in shower. Poor upkeep and maintenance in room. The website and photos are misleading. I've stayed in nicer mom and pop motels on secondary highways. A real ripoff for the money.

Room Tip: Stay away. You either get crummy cabin room as my friend and I did, or an upstairs room with a share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would highly recommend Captain Whidbey's Inn to anyone, whether you live here in the Pacific Northwest or if you're from out of state. The staff is wonderful, the grounds beautiful and the food in the dining room is superb! It is so nice and quiet that you will think you're much futher away from Seattle than you really are. Personally I reserved a Lagoon Room outside of the Lodge itself, as you share a bathroom when staying in the Lodge.
You're also near a quaint town named Coupeville which offers fun shops, restaurants and history.
Get away for the weekend and enjoy.

Room Tip: Reserve a Lagoon room unless you don't mind sharing a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I discovered this Inn through an online voucher and thought it the perfect place to unplug, but it had WiFi! Not that I'm complaining, mind you. It was perfectly charming and as expected from the description and photos on the Inn's website. Tiny uneven stairs you had to haul your suitcase up, floors that creaked as you walked on them, tiny rooms with a wash stand with hot and cold water - I thought I was going to get a wash stand with a pitcher of water! The bathrooms are in the middle of the hall.

I stayed at the Inn proper, not the cabins or the modern Lagoon view rooms. I had bought a weekday voucher with a charming garden view and was able to peek into the rooms with the glorious view of Penn Cove and sitting area as the unoccupied rooms had their doors open and were simply roped off.

My room was tiny and the floor sloped a little. Two large windows provided a lovely view of the gardens and I propped one open for fresh air. There is a library and two chairs upstairs and a room with a large fireplace at the entrance of the Inn - which I availed myself of both nights I was there.

The Continental breakfast is substantial with fresh cut fruit, juices, various pastries, bagels as well as yogurt and cereal. It was a pleasure to take a plate and a cup of steaming hot tea and sit outside in the sun on a chilly May morning with a view of Penn Cove. Truly a lovely place to unplug at.

Room Tip: The water view rooms are more expensive but if you want the private sitting space, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Purchased voucher for 2 nights from LivingSocial.com. Prior to purchasing I called the Inn several times to ask if there was wifi in the rooms. I learned they had no tv sets so I took my ipad. I was assured that there was wifi in the rooms and I didn't have to hang out of the window to get it. This was not true for my room. There was no wifi. They sent someone over and he confirmed there was no wifi getting into that room. They did not have another room to accommodate me and my friend. I had upgraded the room when I booked it. I spoke to the staff about leaving the next day and wanted some type of refund. The owner was the only one that could handle the situation and he was not in town but the staff emailed him. I waited for some word from him the day I arrived. Waited the next day and finally it was too late to head all the way back home. He never returned my calls or responded to emails from his staff about the issue.Poor service from the owner. The staff was very nice and expressed they did understand why I was not pleased. You may wish to check out other places on the island to stay. I looked at a few and they were very nice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tblanks253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
327 reviews
19.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
277 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing