We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and funky hotel, gorgeous views, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical and funky hotel, gorgeous views, great food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though it's not for everyone, we've always loved staying at the Captain Whidbey. It's got more character than any other "hotel" I've stayed in anywhere in the Pacific Northwest. The rooms are small, and definitely not modern, but they have a charm like no other. It's almost like staying on a boat without the rocking motion (or potential to fall off the dock). The gardens/grounds/beach are beautiful, rain or shine. The restaraunt is very intimate, the food excellent, and the service friendly. Excellent romantic get-a-way for couples...the main building is not great for people who have trouble with stairs, but the lagoon rooms are an accessible option.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but it's worth shelling out a little more for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    75
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
41
155
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My mom used to take my brother and I to the Captain Whidbey when we were kids for special occasions and going back is a wonderful reminder of how unique and wonderful this place is! It hasn't changed much at all over the years (I started going there in the early 1970's), it still has so much charm and elegance. The staff help to make the stay that much better - warm and friendly as well as very professional. The rooms in the inn are small but so comfortable and the shared bathroom is not a drawback at all unless you have privacy issues. This is an affordable and lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The inn rooms that face Penn Cove are worth the extra rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shamrock05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife & I have been several times and we absolutely love the Inn. The peace and quiet of the room's that over look the lagoon are just what we need to get away from it all. The food at the at the Inn is fantastic and we look forward to every dinner we sit down to. All the beauty of the sound, the solitude and it's so close by, we can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the lagoon or the cabins next to the Inn. If you stay in the Inn, everybody can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank longrifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been going to the Captain Whidbey Inn for over 20 years. Usually with my girlfriend. I think it's the best kept secret on Whidbey Island. A very charming and romantic place ! The perfect getaway from the Seattle area.

Room Tip: Reserve early if you want a view room And avoid peak season (June to Sept)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This charming Inn has a delightful setting on Penn Cove. Built in 1907, it has seen a lot of years and a lot of people. My decorating and organizing temperament made me want to get right in and go to work. We stayed in a lagoon room which had a lovely view of a small lagoon; but things needed to happen in the room. The shower curtain liner was too long and was sour. Carpet appeared to be updated, but the chair didn't match the decor. A floor lamp was in need of tightening and straightening. Faucets in the kitchen needed to be secured to the sink. There were what could have been lovely herb and flower gardens, but they were taken over with weeds and the soil was not prepared to receive new plantings. A local garden club would probably love to take them over.. Inside the inn reception area an arrangement of fake flowers should be retired. A round table which could have held someone's books, beverage, puzzle, game - whatever - was filled with numerous glass vessels, making it impossible for guests to use and enjoy. An old OLY neon beer sign, bear's head, and fake fish adorned the lounge . . .not appropriate to the era and the setting. Rooftops and fences were in dire need of attention. With a bit of elbow grease (and quite a bit of money), this Inn could be returned to a REALLY charming place. The continental breakfast, while ample, lacked imagination. Coffee was so-so; but other restaurants served Fidalgo Bay coffee, which was wonderful. Homemade breads or pastries would have been better than Costco muffins. Having said all of this, dinner was tasty, the staff friendly and accommodating, the setting wonderful. It just needs a lot of TLC. Most people enjoying a casual weekend will find little fault with the Inn.

Room Tip: Inn rooms have only one bed and are quite small. Many sharew a bathroom down the hall. Lagoon or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodlover_12203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Recently spent a night at this Inn. We had intended to stay in Oak Harbour but one look at the neon lit homogenous eating places and the huge hotels and we kept driving. Found Captain Whitbey Inn and its welcoming lights by chance. The reception lady was very pleasant and gave us keys to look at the various accom options. We chose a hotel room rather than a cabin and then went up to the restaurant for dinner. All very pleasant, the meal was very good and the atmosphere though quiet with few people around was cosy and welcoming.
The drawbacks from our stay which I should mention are:
No television in rooms
Wifi was a little dodgy
Strong smell from the balcony (sewerage outlet nearby?)
Invasion of flying insects into the bathroom overnight which may not appeal to some folk.
The cost was high - in fact our next night in 5 star hotel in Seattle was less.

These cons to one side, we did enjoy the uniqueness of the place and prefer it to the national chain hotels on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have now been to Captain Whidbey Inn twice. Once in the fall and once in the winter. SO beautiful! Only 40 minutes from the Mukilteo-Clinton ferry. The staff was awesome and so willing to help with anything. The food was great and well made. The rooms are rustic, but really comfortable and clean. We had a room overlooking the lagoon and it feels like you are right on the water. So many great places to hike around or you can go down to the beach (NW style beach) below the main lodge. Excited for our next vist this summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
317 reviews
19.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
275 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing