We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, rustic, a change from our normal lodging preferences...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Bremerton, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, rustic, a change from our normal lodging preferences...”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Whidbey Island as a couple. I had visited the island several times as a kid but we always were camping, so we gave the Inn a try. The exterior and grounds are very welcoming, relaxing, and charming. The lower part of the lodge was the same, very unique and welcoming, and the gal who checked us in was great. The building is old but clean, and it has its quirks such as the narrow stairways. Upstairs has a sitting area and large corridor leading to the rooms. The room itself was small, but I would imagine that was the standard for the time. The Inn rooms do share common bathrooms but they were clean and well kept. It just was a change for us, as this wouldnt normally be our preference but it worked. It was considerably cheaper for an Inn room rather the cabins or lagoon rooms that have there own bathrooms. Though small and lacking the modern convienences such as A/C, TV, etc, it was a place to sleep and a experience of its own. We didnt eat at the Inn, choosing to eat in Oak Harbor at various places but the dining areas seemed to have steady traffic both evenings we were there. Overall it was not a bad experience as some have reviewed, just a change from the norm for us. If rustic and simple is your preference is you, this is your place. We may be back and will spring for the lagoon room or a cabin the next time for more space and our own bathroom.

Room Tip: Inn rooms share common bathrooms and are limited on space. Bring a fan in the dead of summer as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
42
155
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came on a Friday night, the Inn itself is very picturesque sitting on the water. Built in 1907, it has the rustic charm we love about the Pacific Northwest. It actually felt more like a camp than an Inn... that kind of rustic. Adirondack chairs are in several places overlooking the water and the various garden and lawn areas, the grounds are pretty and kept up.

There are small Inn rooms with shared baths, lagoon rooms in newer buildings across the way and cottages overlooking the water.

My summary would be: this is a place that would like to be something more, but just misses the mark. It has some of the same atmosphere as the Lake Quinault Lodge, but not the strong infrastructure. There are small details that are missed in several places that in the course of a stay can add up to a less than spectacular visit.

We had reservations for a lagoon room, $175 which we felt was very overpriced, even with breakfast.

The first door key didn't work, apparently they had changed some locks.
The room, as mentioned in other reviews, had limited furnishings...it wasn't cozy, rustic,-yes.
There was an upholstered chair, sitting by itself, no lamp and no table, so in our minds, of no use.
(Which is tough when one person wakes up before the other, it would have been great to have a cozy chair to read in while still in pajamas, what a loss!)

The lagoon view outside the deck was completely blocked by a large white wedding tent.
The curtains were so sheer that we had to hang a towel on them to block the the deck light next door that was blazing into our room.
Bathroom was tiny but updated, however the old style orange heating lamp in the bathroom made us think of french fries under the lamp at a fast food place.

Dinner... they just didn't have the staff to support dinner for a place of this size.
There is a choice of a dining room, the "tavern" which is just an adjoining rustic room with a small bar and the outside deck overlooking the water.
We opted for the deck. After 15 minutes and not even seeing a menu, and realizing everyone around us was waiting, we opted to leave and have dinner Oak Harbor.

Breakfast was continental, and actually had a very nice selection of yogurts, breads, fruits and cereals. But here is the funny part again, they had hard boiled eggs, but not a single salt shaker anywhere. I actually checked every single table in the restaurant, the "tavern" etc. They ran out of cream for coffee too.

We were sad to have this experience, the reputation this place has led us to believe it would be a real treat and a wonderful place to share with others. Not so... for $175 a night, it would be better to look into a B&B in nearby Coupeville. That's what we will do next time.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have better views and you don't hear the people below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aksnt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

After several phone calls between us and the hotel we finally had two cottages reserved to celebrate my friend's birthday. Several days later we received a call from another reservation specialist who asked whether we were still intending to reserve a room - they did not show it in their computer! Finally, that was taken care of. We noted to him (as we had the first person) that we would be arriving by boat and wanted to make sure that we would have dock space. Not a problem. Dinner reservations, please. Well, that's where it got interesting. It seems the restaurant is closed on Tuesday evenings. But, the man assured us - there are plenty of places just a short drive away in Coupeville. Did I mention we were arriving by boat? Did the hotel have a van or car service? No. Were taxis very available? (This is a VERY small town on an island near Seattle). No, not really. Well, what to do about DINNER. I decided to bring dinner with because we paid extra for the cottage with a kitchen unit. We would have a deck (lovely, we were told) a bbq and a limited, but very efficient kitchen.

Long story short....we arrived and checked in. The cottages are, ahem....rustic, to say the least. Clean, but I felt like they had been furnished at Goodwill. Vintage, but without charm. The deck and deck furniture covered in leaves like it had not been attended to in quite some time. The cottage kitchen - not at all possible to serve a meal (even a fully prepared one) from it. So, it's a lovely day in late July on Puget Sound and we have a birthday to celebrate with food to be eaten but no way to eat it. What to do? We went to the main lodge and explained our dilemma to the receptionist. "Go to the tavern (which is closed), I will bring what you need." She promptly arrived with utensils and serving pieces and plates and water. And we proceeded to have one of the best birthday parties in years. Four of us in a closed restaurant with wonderful food and drink and no one bothering us for orders or refills or tips! We laughed at the absurdity and the uniqueness of the situation and were glad we were there to do that.

So, it's difficult to be too hard on them when we made the best of a situation (with help from the staff) but the reality is - we won't go back. We paid over $200/night for a kitchen unit that we couldn't use in a hotel that had no restaurant and stayed in a unit that felt a little like a time warp.
Other people's comments regarding the breakfast were true. Comments about the overall condition of the hotel, the amenities - all true. How nice the staff is - true. So - travelers, be advised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here one night while on a spur of the moment vacation. Having not planned in advance, the lodging options were limited. We paid 110 plus tax for one night, in the original lodge, with a shared bath. Bath is shared between about 8 rooms but each room does have its own sink and mirror. The rooms were very small but charming and furnished with antiques. Bed was very comfy and bedding was very nice (and I am picky about bedding). There were several rooms larger than ours if a person needed more space. The sound view from the room was gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful and the waterfront multi-leveled deck available to the guests is fabulous. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was minimal but sufficient for a continental meal. A microwave for the oatmeal would be nice. I felt it was reasonably priced for the island. Would stay again as the setting is gorgeous and it was a great break from generic chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. Give yourself time to linger with evening wine or morning coffee on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnarabbit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins (#32) on June 23rd. This is an old place, with few electrical outlets and old stiff furniture to relax in - not very relaxing. The cabin felt dirty and old. The bed sucked is all I'll say. The website sold this room with a hottub - the hottub is not working and has not worked for years according to the front desk. Very disappointing since we paid the full price. The "free breakfast" they serve is a joke - it's served between 8-10 and we got there at 9:00 and the offerings were stale muffins and hard bagels and english muffins. Another fruit tray was brought in while I was making toast and the existing folks eating in the dining room got up and took all the fruit and no refill followed. Same with the coffee - it was gone and a fresh pot never showed up. We had planned to stay an extra night prior to our arrival, but after our one night stay, there was no way we would stay another night. Wonderful views, nice staff but not a place I would go back and spend the night at.

Room Tip: I heard cabin 31 is the nicest of the 4 cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After visiting the tulip fields in the Skagit Valley, my wife and I checked in to a Lagoon room for one very rainy night. The lady at the reception desk (literally), in the single common room available to all guests, was pleasant as she quickly checked us in and give us key to our room. The room had a comfortable bed (the only positive feature we could identify), two bedside lamps, a rustic dresser with a phone sitting on a small table next to it, an amoir, and one high back uphostered chair. The curtains covering the large window (aluminum framed single pane glass) were almost sheer as we could see through them during daylight so we assumed someone outside of the unit would be able to see into our room at night when the curtains were drawn. Since it was raining, using the outside deck was not possible as the table and four chairs were wet and it was cold so there was no point. Since there is no TV, my wife sat on the bed to read her Kindle and I sat in the highback chair after I moved the small table over so I could set up my laptop. I had to take the other bedside lamp and place it on the small table so I could have light to be able to see my notes and complete write-ups. I don't understand why they would have a single chair in the room without having a floor lamp or wall lamp by it so one could sit in the chair and be able to read.The lighting is poor at best. This arrangement was set up after we had gone over to the main building and set ourselves up in their common room where the lighting was somewhat better. Electric baseboard heat kept the temperature in the room comfortable but it made cracking noises whenever it was on, making sound sleep difficult. The only updated feature in the room was the single fiberglass shower/tub unit in the very small room housing it and a knee knocker toilet (the door swung a few inches from the toilet).
I suppose if the weather was warmer and sunny, sitting on the outside deck during the day/evening would have been pleasant but not on a cold rainy day. Would we return to this spot? Not likely as there are many other lodgings on the island in Langley which offer better accomodations and amenities for equal or lower prices. IMHO, the Capt. Whidbey appears to survive on an outdated reputation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Driving out of Oregon, on the spur of the moment, we decided to revisit The Captain Whidbey Inn, our last visit was 25 years ago. What a pleasant surprise, Sarah the receptionist was very accommodating and gave us the honeymoon suite and we were not disappointed. The large king size bed, amazing views of the harbour and spacious room was just the treat.
The continental breakfast was great, would have liked to hear some back ground music played.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
327 reviews
19.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
277 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing