We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Whidbey is not what it looks like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Captain Whidbey is not what it looks like”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins (#32) on June 23rd. This is an old place, with few electrical outlets and old stiff furniture to relax in - not very relaxing. The cabin felt dirty and old. The bed sucked is all I'll say. The website sold this room with a hottub - the hottub is not working and has not worked for years according to the front desk. Very disappointing since we paid the full price. The "free breakfast" they serve is a joke - it's served between 8-10 and we got there at 9:00 and the offerings were stale muffins and hard bagels and english muffins. Another fruit tray was brought in while I was making toast and the existing folks eating in the dining room got up and took all the fruit and no refill followed. Same with the coffee - it was gone and a fresh pot never showed up. We had planned to stay an extra night prior to our arrival, but after our one night stay, there was no way we would stay another night. Wonderful views, nice staff but not a place I would go back and spend the night at.

Room Tip: I heard cabin 31 is the nicest of the 4 cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    74
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
40
154
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After visiting the tulip fields in the Skagit Valley, my wife and I checked in to a Lagoon room for one very rainy night. The lady at the reception desk (literally), in the single common room available to all guests, was pleasant as she quickly checked us in and give us key to our room. The room had a comfortable bed (the only positive feature we could identify), two bedside lamps, a rustic dresser with a phone sitting on a small table next to it, an amoir, and one high back uphostered chair. The curtains covering the large window (aluminum framed single pane glass) were almost sheer as we could see through them during daylight so we assumed someone outside of the unit would be able to see into our room at night when the curtains were drawn. Since it was raining, using the outside deck was not possible as the table and four chairs were wet and it was cold so there was no point. Since there is no TV, my wife sat on the bed to read her Kindle and I sat in the highback chair after I moved the small table over so I could set up my laptop. I had to take the other bedside lamp and place it on the small table so I could have light to be able to see my notes and complete write-ups. I don't understand why they would have a single chair in the room without having a floor lamp or wall lamp by it so one could sit in the chair and be able to read.The lighting is poor at best. This arrangement was set up after we had gone over to the main building and set ourselves up in their common room where the lighting was somewhat better. Electric baseboard heat kept the temperature in the room comfortable but it made cracking noises whenever it was on, making sound sleep difficult. The only updated feature in the room was the single fiberglass shower/tub unit in the very small room housing it and a knee knocker toilet (the door swung a few inches from the toilet).
I suppose if the weather was warmer and sunny, sitting on the outside deck during the day/evening would have been pleasant but not on a cold rainy day. Would we return to this spot? Not likely as there are many other lodgings on the island in Langley which offer better accomodations and amenities for equal or lower prices. IMHO, the Capt. Whidbey appears to survive on an outdated reputation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, B.C.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Driving out of Oregon, on the spur of the moment, we decided to revisit The Captain Whidbey Inn, our last visit was 25 years ago. What a pleasant surprise, Sarah the receptionist was very accommodating and gave us the honeymoon suite and we were not disappointed. The large king size bed, amazing views of the harbour and spacious room was just the treat.
The continental breakfast was great, would have liked to hear some back ground music played.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was a honeymoon to remember at Captain Whidbey Inn. We adored our private cottage and the madrona logs have to be experienced to be appreciated. Just the smell of the place evoked beautiful images of the pacific NW. Loved our private boat cruise in the Coupeville harbor, too. The interior is rustic and cozy and romantic. Our breakfasts, suberb. I would never hesitate to recommend our favorite destination in the world. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Make sure you drive via Deception Pass, the sunsets there are amazing. Look for the cottages if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touchet, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This was our first visit to the Inn. My husband and I enjoyed walking the grounds and learning of the Inn's beginnings. Looking at the construction of the Inn, makes one appreciate our draft free homes today!
The Inn has different lodging options (cabins, rooms over- looking the water and bathroom, and rooms inside the INN). As sharing a bathroom with other strangers doesn't appeal to me, my husband, wisely, did not choose a room in the Inn.
Our dinner on Sunday evening was interesting. We were the only dinners, so our server was able to be very attentive. The food was good, but the advertised Fresh Crab wasn't available. The wine list was limitied and they did not have everything listed.
All in all, it has a historic value and is in a rustic setting that can be peaceful and restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building which gave us our own bathroom, a water view, and balcony. Take luggage th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Recently stayed at Captain Whidbey Inn and from the moment we arrived till the time we left we were terribly disappointed in the entire property. We found it very misleading from what is published on their website. We were charged two times for our rooms and had to make several calls to get the problem solved and even then we were not given the correct rate or discount they promised. We decided to quit calling and wasting our breath and to just pay the rate they charged us. Very bad management practices. Would suggest you stay in other places on the island and would not recommend supporting this business.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms we had were very old and tired. Not quaint at all. Not clean either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tim98004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Captain Whidbey Inn is an experience you don't want to miss. This old hotel is constructed of peeled madrona logs, inside and out, with a tidy fireplace crackling in the cozy low-ceilinged lobby, water views sparkling through the bubbly antique glass in the windows, creaking floors, a tiny winding staircase going up to a little "library" with easy chairs, a wood stove -- and always those log walls, and views of the bay. Most of the rooms are small -- with the exception of a double-sized room with a tester bed -- but they are immaculately clean and have lovely bedding -- down comforters, luxury sheets, quality amenities, comfy robes There is a spartan luxury to this Inn which, combined with the feel of history and "Pacific Northwestiness" makes for a wonderful and memorable experience. The rooms are "European style" which means....down the hall. I thought this would be a problem, but it wasn't. The bathrooms are really quite lovely with lots of fluffy towels, nice soaps and toiletries -- and as with the rooms, very clean and attractive. And the hall is not long.
There is a large wrap-around porch with plenty of chairs inviting you to sit and watch the bay. It is serene and quiet, except for the scream of eagles now and then. It was the sort of place that made you want to draw in a deep, deep breath just for the pleasure of it. It was a warm day on our most recent visit, so we spent as long as possible on the sunny deck with glasses of wine and a wonderful sense of time stretching forward and backward. The Captain Whidbey is the kind of place for that.
The grounds are large, with various little gardens here and there, banks of rhododendrons and fragrant evergreens, and always, the water. No loud traffic rumbling by, no franchise restaurants or strip malls...as a matter of fact, the Captain Whidbey Inn is now inside an historical preservation area, making the experience all the more special.
We ate in the tavern part of the facility rather than the restaurant, mainly because we wanted a less formal feeling than "white tablecloth", and felt just right with those log walls and low ceilings. The restaurant has the same wonderful water views, but with a blazing fireplace. The food is good. No complaints there, and nothing is unreasonably priced.
The inn was not crowded or noisy, rather it was intimate, comfortable, and romantic.. We were only there for one day and one night, but it lingers as my best memory of the year.

Room Tip: Water view rooms cost a bit more, but honestly, the other side feels like it's in the tree tops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing