We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix the hot tub - the rest was GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Inn. The staff was polite and Paul went out of his way to take care of our every need. Keep in mind that the facility is over 100 years old, which comes with a few predictable charms. The grounds are excellent and attract many individuals to pop in and snap a few photos. Having read a few of the complaints below - I can agree with the hot tub - it did not work for us either; however, everything else was great! As for any noise complaints - we had none - though reading below I would guess that it is more a reflection of utterly rude travelers with no sense of decorum or their surroundings who continually subject others to their smoking, loud and obnoxious children and their general lack of taste when it comes to being in public. As many would agree - it seems there is no shortage of "travel thugs" out there, bullying the polite and courteous wherever they go. As for the Captain Whidbey Inn - nothing but class.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insightfully-yours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Captain Whidbey Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

sorry to say we felt very disapointed not to have had a successful visit. We asked for a queen bedroom - the room was in a lovely location but the smell in the room was awful...very musty ..as if the windows had been sealed shut for years. The smell was so overpowering, the bed was not a queen it was much smaller and the outside deck was shared with the neighbouring room. The people occupying the next room had set up camp with their children over the deck. We had to walk through their family activities to access our room and felt very uncomfortable. There was no room for us to sit and enjoy the scenery. As there were simply too many things not right and it was clear we would not get the peace and relaxation we hoped for we decided not to stay. Very disapointing as the place has bags of character and we believe the restaurant is amazing. We might try again sometime, next time booking a king room.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank happbcytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have close friend who wanted to show me this place. He had fond memories of going there in his younger years. We happened to be in the area on a job, and we stopped in for lunch. It was a very enjoyable experience for both of us. Our bartender was awesomely friendly and extremly personable. I think her name was Alicia. A week or so later, we happened to be in the area again, to do a job bid. We had our dogs with us, and were on th road for almost two hours. We decided to stop in for junch and a possible cocktail, but unfortunately there was nobody to serve us, because they are only open on certain days. That's ok I said to my friend, but lets let the dogs out of the truck for a minute before we leave. About that time a woman came around the building and asked in a stern voice, ARE YOU A GUEST? I answered well yes, sort of. Well she replied, WE DONT RUN A DOG PARK! We came there as patrons and I don't appeciate the way we were teated. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Staying in this hotel is like stepping back in time to traveling a hundred years ago, when rooms were for sleeping, when bathrooms were down the hall, when antique phonographs graced the hallway, when you might wake up from an afternoon nap to the strains of guitar and violin entertaining an outdoor wedding party, when a roaring fire kept you warm in the reception area as you cuddled up with a glass of wine after a fine dinner. The Captain Whidbey is not a big hotel but it oozes character, friendliness and outstanding hospitality on Whidbey Island.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing the bay. Tranquility will follow.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The price point is very high considering the soft, sagging mattress, late 60s decor, lack of amenities such as lighting near chairs, and noise level heard from other rooms in the Lagoon Building.

The good things about this Inn are the view, restaurant, and historic lodge.

Room Tip: Try the cabins.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EleeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

thooroughly enjoyed staying in this authentic historic inn (log cabin type). good breakfast and restaurant. charming victorian town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellacharmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the "top" room available, advertised as having a private hot tub, WiFi, fireplace, larger public hot tub, of being the main points.

Well, the private hot tub didn't work, and was filled with mucky water. Considering we reserved a month in advance, you'd think that would be plenty of time.

The public hot tub, thinking it would be a backup plan, had no heater working. Sure, the jets worked, but what good is a hot tub when it isn't hot?

The WiFi was broken... not just the wireless, but the public computer with internet access didn't actually have internet either.

Ontop of that, we were, at first, given the wrong keys. We had to go back and get the correct keys.

The firewood was soaking wet, and would not hold a fire. The kindling was wet. The newspapers were damp. Not very good for fires.

For the price, we could have rented two suites at a holiday inn and gotten more bang for the buck.

The concession we were given was 10%, which barely brought the price down to the other expensive cabins available, which actually had kitchens, which the top cabin did not. Way overpriced for the current venue.

An email sent to the main contact asking for a rebate has gone unanswered thus far. Not only terrible service and responsibility, but a clear sign of management and ownership that just doesn't care.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank facher83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainWhidbey, Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

We recognize that our hot tubs are an important amenity for guests and provide service to each hot tub three times each week. On rare occasion, the tubs breakdown. We have to order parts to repair them and have to wait for their arrival. When this happens, as a policy, we call all guests ahead of time to give them an opportunity to reschedule their visit or we offer them a discount. Our guest did not receive the message on this occasion.
Our previous WiFi system was affected by the wind, woods and distances to the outlying cabin in question and it sometimes proved difficult to get a reliable connection. To correct for this inconsistency in signal strength, we have upgraded our service to provide outstanding connection anywhere on our 7 acres, including the inn deck. If WiFi is unavailable, the staff offers the use of other broadband-connected inn computers to guests. If our broadband service is interrupted, we apologize and notify guests when it is back online. Any adjustment offered is of course small compensation for a guest disappointment. In this case the adjusted rate was lower than the rate for a comparable cabin without a hot tub. We also offered this guest a free 2-night stay at another time but he refused the offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
82.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
340 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
19.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range: $131 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing