We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, pretty, disappointing service, food, & cleanliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient, pretty, disappointing service, food, & cleanliness.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The stay was disappointing, especially because of the service.

Service: Dave & Dianne were courteous, considerate, & answered email enquiries promptly. We could approach them with questions. But service was lukewarm upon arrival & departure. Dave was the friendlier one. I'd emailed Dave & Dianne stating this trip was a birthday gift for me. They didn't acknowledge my birthday. Dave said in person, & they stated via email, that innkeeping can be tiring/rough. They emailed me later, politely asking if we could review the inn. I emailed them my feedback & I said I'd provide a fair review online.

Sleep quality: We slept in the Chalcedony room. The room was cosy, we liked the decor. The house looks beautiful inside & outside. We didn't hear any traffic noise at night. The bed & pillows were comfortable. But we heard snoring from upstairs & could feel vibrations from the snoring. We were awakened at 6+am by the guests upstairs who got up early.

Food: Though we awoke early, there were no "fresh baked goodies" for early risers (though stated on their website). We were hungry after breakfast, as the portions, though tasty, weren't big & "sumptuous". There weren't any "fresh seasonal fruit" & "a variety of breads" (though stated on their website). It'd have been nice to have some seasonal fruit and a variety of breads, instead of sweet cakes (served that day). I like how guests can help themselves to beverages (water, tea, coffee) at any time of the day in the dining area.

Safety: The main door lock, during our stay, wasn't working & was kept unlocked throughout the stay. The Chalcedony room door had its own lock, though.

Cleanliness: The bedsheets, bathtub, & toilet bowl looked clean. Shoes can be worn indoors. There were a few strands of hair in a container of cotton balls in the washroom & dark green grime/slime at the bathroom sink/tap area.

Location: Very convenient - just a few minutes' walk to the water, nearby restaurants & shops in Coupeville.

Thoughtfulness: There's a binder of lunch &/or dinner menus from several Whidbey Island restaurants. There's a binder of instructions & tips in the bedroom. My husband had a headache & it was considerate of Dianne to offer Advil, & to help me open the bedroom door when she saw me carrying mugs into the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-and-Mrs-2o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    50
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
346
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staying at the Anchorage Inn was a wonderful experience. The Inn is well maintained, clean and serves the most fabulous breakfasts. We stayed 4 nights, had 4 different breakfasts and all were really good. Owners are well versed in how to be the perfect host and hostess. We were close to all the fun of Coupeville - walked to everything there. We even learned how to fold napkins in different designs - a new design was presented at breakfast every morning. What a fun way to start the day. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, are roomy, have private baths - hard to pick just one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was a pleasure to serve to a hot breakfast and present a new napkin fold every morning. On your next visit we'll have you practice napkin folding and award you a diploma in 'Napagomy'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Due to a tight schedule, we only stayed one night but absolutely loved this B&B. The water view from the Cabot Room is stunning. The location is great with several excellant restaurants just a short walk away. Like other reviewers, we found the breakfast very tasty! Next time we visit Whidbey Island we plan to return to this B&B and stay several nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was a pleasure serving you breakfast and making your short stay comfortable and memorable. Our web site has a listing of events in our area all year round to help you better plan your next visit. D&D's B&B for R&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was built to be a B&B so each bedrooms has highly insulated walls and it's own bath! Great food for breakfast and treats/drinks throughout the day. Water views and only a few short steps to all the fun shops and restaurants and waterfront!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlestarbucksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
548 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Anchorage Inn August 28,29,30,2012.....as a respite from Seattle while visiting our married daughter and husband.
The New Yorker in me couldn't help but be skeptical with ALL the raves........but guess what? It didn't take long for us to realize that the RAVES ARE DESERVED! The Inn is charming,our room delightful,breakfast delicious and bountiful and Coupeville a joy!!!!! We stayed in the Onward...on our next trip i would upgrade to the Cabot or Discovery. In fact......before leaving we got my daughter a gift certificate for 2 nights in the Cabot.
We drove the Island from north to south,mostly stopping at state parks and city parks.
Don't even look at other accommodations.......just book here.

PS: Nothing is forgotten from the rubber ducky to the flashlight to Vaseline Intensive Care to great shampoo and wonderful soaps. Wi-fi is strong in your room.

Room Tip: If you really want to splurge,Crow's Nest @$155 is much more beautiful than the photos suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great Breakfast, lots of conversation with other travelers. This was my husbands first Bed and Breakfast, and he had a great time. Homeowners gave us a history of the town we stayed in. Love to hear stories how Town's evolved.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1200Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It's always a pleasure to have guests from Canada! We're glad we were of service to you and made you stay comfortable. Have a great summer/fall season. Dave and Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our accommodation greatly enhanced our brief but very enjoyable holiday. We covered quite a bit of Whidbey Island and saw and admired it's Victorian history and the landscape. The museum in Coupeville was great. We will recommend Anchorage Inn and Whidbey Island to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We're so glad our breakfast was such a joy for you to enjoy. One thing our guests need is a good breakfast to give them the energy to explore Whidbey. Thank you for such kind words. Dave and Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
2.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 807 N Main St, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-3432
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast is a Victorian Inn, located on beautiful Whidbey Island, in Puget Sound, Washington. Our award winning B&B can be found in the historic town of Coupeville, overlooking picturesque Penn Cove. Coupeville was home to many of the Northwest's sea captains during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Many historic homes still grace the streets of this Central Whidbey town. The majority of the seven lavishly appointed rooms provide splendid views of Penn Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing