We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, remarkable service - good ambience!!”
Review of Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Coupeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: -Our dining room offers views of Penn Cove -We have outside dining available on our deck overlooking the water -Our menu changes seasonally and often to offer the freshest, local ingredients -We have a limited bar, as well as an excellent wine and beer list -Our open kitchen provides a one of a kind experience for diners
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food, remarkable service - good ambience!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a Coupeville gem! The attentive and insightful service was superior. This is a real classy rural restaurant. Located in the village of the delightful village of seaside Coupeville, it is an intimate facility with a quality menu. The food was remarkably good. The wine choices excellent. Don't miss this one in Coupeville. The prices are in the upper range but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    21
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious, seasonal, and local”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Copy/paste from my Yelp review:

We came here on our anniversary trip to Whidbey island since our B&B was right around the corner and it was perfect! The restaurant was mostly full when we arrived, but we got a table without a problem at all. We got help with wine recommendations and really enjoyed the WA Grenache that was recommended. The food seemed to be French-influenced, but with NW ingredients.

Appetizers:
Bread plate with housemade potato chips and dill sour cream
Salad with crisp root vegetable chips, goat cheese, and hazelnut butter (I think there was something like a currant jam, too)
Pan fried oysters
Apple sorbet with olive oil (really grassy and citrusy) and a rosemary flower as a palate cleanser
Main courses:
Rabbit loin with poached egg and duck fat biscuit, garnished with watercress
Duck leg with panzanella salad
Dessert:
Beignets with some kind of ice cream and pears
Pannacotta with meyer lemon and a tuile cookie
Pour over coffee

Our server was really friendly and helpful, and we loved everything that made its way across our plates. We were out by 8:30, but did feel bad that we were the last table in the place, even though our server assured us it was ok (it sounds like they close whenever the dinner rush dies down, so don't dilly dally about getting over there).

Can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NDillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

professional chef--great prices , great menu , really unique tastes not the same old same old, great view, small and quaint, and you can watch the chefs' work in open kitchen, nice servers and trained at it..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NicePerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have patronized this restaurant during each of the last 3 changes in chefs/ ownership and can confidently state that the current owners have taken it to a new pinnacle. Every dish was perfectly executed and totally delicious.

We started with the sweetbreads and the brussel sprout slaw. I was particularly impressed by the perfect ripeness of the Camembert served with the slaw - perfection on the palate! Next came a palate cleanser of grapefruit sorbet with a drizzle of dill purée - so delicious.

I chose the rabbit tortellini appy as my main. My disappointment at the slim amount of rabbit surrounding the tortellini was quickly dispelled when I discovered the large portion hidden under neath. Husband had the sturgeon and enjoyed it.

We are delighted to have a restaurant in our area that utilizes ingredients like sweetbreads, rabbit, and sturgeon, rather than the more standard salmon, steak, and halibut.

The new owners seem to be dedicated to building this business and adhering to a high culinary standard. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
657 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Even better than before”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has had three owners over the last few years. It has gone from good to better to great. The new owners, since Jan 2014 have taken the Oystercatcher to a really high level. The service is excellent and the food is outstanding. Try the sweetbreads if they are on the menu. I had sturgeon which is hard to find. Desserts were excellent. This restaurant is creative and really wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oystercatcher also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Langley, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing