We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short but Sweet”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoys sweeping views out every window. Snuggle up to the cozy fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Enjoys sweeping views out every window.
Snuggle up to the cozy fire.
Open floor plan.
Fully equipped kitched to test your inner chef.
Relax in the Jacuzzi tub and rainfall shower.
Enjoy our locally handcrafted soap.
Rest on the plush queen pillow top bed.
Wake up to views of the sun kissed Olympic Mountains and fresh coastal air.
Historic Waterfront Coupeville
Admiralty Head Lighthouse
Deception Pass
Stroll along driftwood lined beaches.
Explore local historic attractions.
The cottage is on the top floor of the detached garage to maximize the surrounding views.
Close to most Whidbey Island attractions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wanderlus...
davis ca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short but Sweet”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I found this charming cottage on Airbnb the night before we wanted to go. The owners were quick to respond. We were just looking for a clean quite place for one night. Kathy greeted us warmly as we pulled in and showed us around. The cottage was very well appointed with what appeared to be new furniture. It was immaculate. The bed and couch were very comfortable. The coffee was delicious. I love to cook but we didn't have time for that. The kitchen looked quite adequate, my only suggestion would be maybe stock the cupboards with some spices and necessary pantry items that really add up if you want to cook some good meals but have to purchase all of the little stuff like spices, vinegar, oil and condiments. I'm sure that people would take and leave items, as many consciences cooks do when traveling away from home. The cottage is in a semi-rural spacious setting. We woke to the sounds of a rooster and horses neighing. Two sounds that I love. Kathy and Dave gave us a great recommendation for dinner and helped us plan our next day. They have done a great job and take a lot of pride in their "cottage" and go out of their way to please.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zobostic...
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't be Disappointed”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The accommodations are up just one flight of stairs, which provides an excellent view of the surrounding area. There is a very comfortable chair, couch and coffee table in front of a big screen television and DVD system. Next to that is the dining room and spacious kitchen with all appliances, dishes and utensils. Everything was well stocked, and our hosts also had a bottle of sparkling cider set out as an anniversary treat for us. The bedroom and bath were also a good size with a great Jacuzzi and rainfall shower, so don't let the word "Cozy" fool you.

Everything was clean, quiet and the decorating was well thought-out. We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: We enjoyed the decorating, cleanliness, peace and quiet.
Liked least: Having to go back home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvin and...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again.”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Service:
While booking on line, service was great.
Received a follow up email to confirm stay.
At the start of the stay, service was good

The attitude and service was not the same as when booking the rental. There were some positives, however, we were very disappointed with our stay, and will not stay here again.

The property was over the owners garage, up high so you could see around the area.
The room was as shown in the photos.
The furniture was not very comfortable, cushions sank down on the sofa and the chair. I was in the furniture industry for many years, I know comfort, this was not.
What we liked the most:

There was a nice kitchen, the organic coffee was a plus.

There was filtered water, this was good.

The location was good as it is close to all of the state parks, 20 minutes at the most, and some good restaurants.

The soaking tub waiting to be filled was as pictured.

What we did not like:

The amenities were not good. One small bar of "handcrafted soap" was provided for 2 of us for 3 days. This was simply not enough. Upon request more soap to shower with, we were made to feel like we were a bit wasteful. We received an explanation of how they are able to use this amount of soap for such and such amount of time. This was not relevant to our comfort and needs for a refreshing shower and soaking tub experience.

One small bottle of shampoo and conditioner for 3 days.
This was not what we understood according to the wording on the website for what was provided. I guess maybe reading through the lines was necessary.

The water was from a well, it smelled not so good, and it was very yellow. Thus my vision of a sparkling, clear, and clean tub of water to soak in, was replaced with a soaking tub of yellow water that smelled. This was utterly disappointing. We were told that we could have read this in the manual on the kitchen counter. I am thinking I would not have booked this place for our anniversary had I known the water smelled and was discolored.

The owner made excuses instead of finding solutions to our discomforts while staying there. We were told we could have one of the soaps they had in the basket for sale in the kitchen. $6.00 for a soap---I know they are handcrafted, but please, conduct a gift shop outside of the room and provide the amenities as one would expect when staying for 3 days.

Another example besides the soaking tub was the planned, that is to them, repaving of their dead end street scheduled for the week of our stay. We were not informed loud road construction trucks would be rolling through and stopping in front of where we were staying. So not much true relaxation during this stay.

We were made to feel stupid for not knowing we could have driven across the neighbors yard to exit the property when the paving caused the access in and out of our entry to the cottage to be completely blocked off for 2 hours. We were stuck in, if we had been out trying to access the cottage, we would not have been able to get back in for 2 hours.

It really didn't add up to a "Cozy" stay. I wish it would have, anniversaries only come around once a year.

Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the property
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The organic coffee
Liked least: The odor and color of the water; loud construction, obstruction to property at any time of stay; owners lack of professional way of handling problems that existed, were not disclosed, and those that arose that they felt were out of their control.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
This review came as a surprise to us because the guests told us that everything was good when we spoke during and after their stay with us. At no point did we intend on making the guests feel wasteful or stupid as stated in their review. It was quite the opposite of our intent and we apologized to them for the misunderstanding. We were happy to provide additional sundries and solutions to the short-term construction inconveniences. In trying to communicate solutions to a suggestion they had, they were offended somehow which then changed their overall experience.

It?s unfortunate that we weren?t able to satisfy the situational frustrations with their stay. They did receive a free night during construction and an apology letter from us.

We hope that they will still find B&Bs and vacation cottages ?a better way to stay?.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful little getaway!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time, plenty of space, beautiful location. The local amenities were a wonderful touch as well as the personal recommendations from Dave about where to go on the island.

Date of stay: September 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melange81
Ferndale, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful upstairs (garage only below) apartment. Very light-filled and clean. Wonderful owners. ***

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the windows! The comfort of the furniture (including the bed).
Liked least: Wi-fi signal was very poor, not worth connecting to.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vn1247
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average stay.”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Decorated in a cottage style, this vacation rental still has a few tweaks to work out. The bedroom is tastefully accessorized, but between the thin pillow and the mattress that sinks in the middle, I woke up with such a sore back, that by the third morning my muscles hurt whenever I took a breath. Which means I also didn't sleep well. If I could've kept my body to the side of the bed, I would have been okay. Also, we found it best to keep the windows closed, as the noise from the road is incredible at night - more and louder, traffic than one would expect. That's not a knock on the inn, just a good to know. The bathroom was adorable, but the door stayed neither open nor closed. We did find something to use as a doorstopper. The kitchen was fine - only wish they would have provided one more frying pan, and a lid. They have many pots with lids, but only one frying pan. We made it work - had to. We tried to use the internet when we arrived. We ended up calling the owners because we couldn't get it to work. When we finally got it going, we decided to use Netflix. Not worth it. The bandwidth isn't strong enough for either the internet or Netflix. Also, not really a knock on the inn, though kind of - I don't think they should advertise something they have, but doesn't work right. They do have Directv, however, so that's good. Also, the DVD library isn't readily available. It's located in the owner's house and we needed to call to get a movie. That's not convenient, especially if it's later at night. I think what bothered us the most is that the night before we were to arrive, the owner called (the male, who seemed friendly), and said he and his wife would be on vacation. We found that frustrating. We tried to call them a few times when we were there, but initially couldn't get a hold of them. They must've been out-of-range. They left a number of a local person, but that person didn't answer - in their defense, we never left a message. We just found it odd that when renting out an apartment, the owners would leave at the exact same time someone was arriving, and then get back home the same day the people left. Doesn't seem very business-like. There is one other matter, and that was the water. We were told by the owner the water was a little brown and there was a filtered water system in the apartment. Yes, it had a brownish appearance, but it also smelled, a bit like a sewer. We didn't use the Jacuzzi because of the aroma. It was horrible just taking a shower or washing your face. Again, not sure if this is an owner issue, or the way the island is. Though I have to say we used water in other areas and didn't smell anything. So I'm not sure what to say about this. One other thing about the bathroom, it has a bit of functional obsolescence, in the way that the mirror is to the side of the sink, not in front of it. Apparently that doesn't work well when trying to shave, which means my husband shaved only one day, then quit - it was too hard on his neck. The last evening we were there the water filter light popped on, indicating the bottle needed to be replaced, but it was quite late, and we didn't feel we should call. Apparently there isn't much of a warning system on the filter, for in the morning when I went to get water, it was out (it was early, so, again, we didn't call, and we were trying to get ready to leave). Thankfully, we had a small bottle of water in our car. All in all, the place was cute, but we wouldn't stay here again. We felt the amenities were a tad embellished, and felt a bit inconvenienced by things like gross water, running out of water, having the owners gone, and buying DVDs so we could sit and relax when we got back. Maybe we are picky, but we're really not that picky. We just want nice accommodations for our money, someone who is available when we need them, and water that we can drink and shower in without smelling it in our hair all day. I guess this just solidifies why we should stay in a hotel versus a b-and-b type of place.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the decorating
Liked least: the smell of the water
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
It is unfortunate that the guests felt that they were not supported during their stay with us. Although we were off the property, we made ourselves available 24/7 with several ways to contact us. We had hired onsite support to take care of any day to day needs as directed by us, and a local innkeeper to take care of emergencies beyond our control. We were contacted only once to help the guests choose the proper Wi-Fi network and we got them up and running in less than a minute. As needs came up they attempted to call us a couple times, but left no messages. They indicated that they didn?t want to bother us as the requests were ?small?. We wish we had been given the opportunity to serve them even with the small things. Had we received a message we are confident that we could have met every one of their needs and their experience would have been much different.

This was the guest?s first vacation rental experience and we hope that they will try a B&B or vacation rental again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleta S
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I was taking a class at the Pacific Northwest Art School and stayed at Cozy Harbor Cottage. My mother joined me for a few nights. The unit was very clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. My mother slept on the pull-out couch, which she said was "surprisingly comfortable!" Dave and Kathy live in the house on the property, and they are lovely people. I had trouble with the internet one night, and Dave helped me solve that issue promptly and cheerfully. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you for the review! We are glad to know that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We are also pleased to know that the provided memory foam topper makes the sofa bed a comfortable choice for extra guests. We'd love to host you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing