We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ciao

Ciao
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Coupeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stopped by for dinner, I had the pizza and it was super, best I've had in a long while. My wife had the minestrone soup with fresh bread and really enjoyed it ( she's Italian background and claimed it was just like "mama" used to make). She followed the soup with scampi which she really enjoyed, fresh and seasoned just right. The restaurant menu has a good selection of Italian choices as well as a wide range of wine and beer offerings. Deserts, especially the gelato are worth saving some room for. Service was excellent, our server was friendly and knowledgeable and all the staff seemed eager to make our stay pleasant. The venue itself while not upscale, was clean, functional and not unattractive, bringing to mind something like the local Italian eateries form the 60s or 70s.
Both my wife and I would recommend this place for a great meal at a reasonable cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zubian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    58
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great place. Great pizza, house wine and gelato for dessert. They are friendly and seem to want to please.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ordered takeout consisting of lasagna, pizza, and fried ravioli from the kids menu. I guess it is their version of marinara sauce, but I was surprised to find 5 green olives in the lasagna. That's probably why it was on the salty side. Unfortunately the lasagna had also fallen apart in the few minutes it took to get it home, which made it look quite unappetizing.

The pizza had a nice crust and tasted fine, but had a huge puddle of oil on top. The fried raviolis were on the dry side, but edible. Overall, food quality is just average. Perhaps it depends on what you order, and we just didn't order the right stuff. Service was good though, the guy taking the order was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice pizza choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped for a mid-afternoon snack our first day in Coupeville. 3 people had gelato and I had a cup of Tuscana soup - very tasty. The gelato choices were many and different. We returned the next day for dinner of pizza and a scoop of gelato. The pizza is thin crust (my favorite) and there were several nice options, including red & white sauces, and - the newest trend: salad pizzas! There is a large brick oven so the pizza was nicely crisp and came very quickly. They also have a small selection of appetizers, pastas and sandwiches, plus beer and wine. A nice little place when you want a change from grill/restaurant menus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoldenKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK for a quick meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came here after a long day of touring and just wanted a quick meal. We ordered the Penn Cove mussels for an appetizer to share with four. The appetizer was plenty for all of us--we even left a few in the bowl. We had the clam pasta and the fettucine alfredo. The clam pasta was fairly bland--no seasonings except oil olive and parsley--was a bit dry. Fettucine alfredo looked like a better choice. The service, unlike what I read in other reviews, was adequate but not really welcoming. We were in and out in the time we hoped and didn't go away hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing