We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We Went Twice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front Street Grill

Front Street Grill
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Coupeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alexander Street
Description: Front Street Grill is located on the waterside of Front Street in Coupeville Washington. We have spectacular views of Mt Baker and the Historic Coupeville Wharf.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We Went Twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Located in the heart of Coupeville, this stylish and contemporary restaurant was a good find. We stopped for lunch and had a great seat by the water. The restaurant is busy, but has plenty of seating and attentive wait staff. We enjoyed our meals and felt the portions were ample. We made reservations for a Friday night second visit and requested a window table on the water. With a small baby in tow, we were disappointed our reservation didn't seem to matter. The reastaurant was extremely busy on that Friday and seated guests lingered. We were at least a 30 minute wait past our reservation. However, we enjoyed it enough to put it on our "Must return when in Coupeville" list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    183
    62
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality of service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This restaurant consistently disappoints with their poor service and clear focus on making money rather than quality of service. First off, our waitress repeatedly asked us if she could answer any of our questions about the menu - our answer remained the same all four times she asked (within a 5 minute time-frame). Secondly, after running out of buns for the Kobe Beef Sliders and Pulled Pork Sliders, the cook took it upon himself (or herself) to serve a modified version, with less quantity (and obviously took a normal burger and cut it into four pieces, placed on buns three-times the size of the small piece of meat). Further more, the waitress, apparently unfamiliar with the menu, acted surprised when questioned about it. I don't know a clearer way of showing a customer that they simply do not matter than that. Shame on them for that. Tourists visiting Coupeville would get a better return on their investment by visiting a restaurant such as Ciao or Christopher's, where the passion for food, cooking, and customers is much more apparent. If you are looking for dining with a view, your money would be better spent buying a loaf of bread, tub of peanut butter and jar of jelly and having a picnic on the beach. I wouldn't give them a penny found on the street.

I live in Coupeville and support my local businesses which is why I have been stupid enough to return, but I cannot find it in me to return to this restaurant and am deeply disappointed in the poor management, poor quality of food, and horrible service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JM98239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The FSG was ok, walking by the outside we could see all the dirty dishes piled up which was gross but we went in for Happy Hour anyway. While in Penn Cove you must have mussels, they said the Coconut Green Curry Mussels where the top seller. I ordered these which were very good but very overpowered by the sauce, I could not taste the freshness of the mussel. We also ordered onion rings which came with three dipping sauces but still were overpriced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went back for a second time since our first experience was excellent. This time we had made reservations and got a seat which was a great view seat. The service was a littler slower but the place was packed. Our meal this time was a disappointment considering our first satisfying experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garys9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Whidbey Island is a Great Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The mussels are outstanding. Will never eat them anywhere else. The view of Penn Cove takes you back in time. On Front you encounter folk dancers and roving musicians spontaneously performing. Visit Whidbey Island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LBJoyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Grill also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Front Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing