We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diverse menu and good food”
Review of Kim's Cafe - CLOSED

Kim's Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Diverse menu and good food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for something for everyone then this is your place. There are your standard American Beach fare as well as a variety of SE Asian dishes. Service is good and the food was great. The atmosphere of being on the end of the pier is awesome too. We eat here every time we visit coupeville.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ponderosa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    3
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprising to find such good Asian food in a touristy setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kim's has a wonderful location at the end of the big dock in Coupeville, surrounded by water with lovely views of the town and the islands. You might expect a restaurant in that location to be overpriced and low quality, but you would be very wrong.

The food is really tasty and varied - our daughter had a corn dog, I had (really good) pad thai, with my choice of spiciness, and my partner had a really good burger. There were other Vietnamese and Thai options on the menu, as well as standard American food. I ate most of my daughter's fries because they were so good.

Service was fast and friendly, and when my daughter spilled her juice it was cleaned up within a minute, with no fuss. We sat inside but there's a fabulous patio out back over the water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great place to have lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had the chance to have lunch here recently on a sunny Monday. we sat outside and watched the water the whole time. the chowder and the summer rolls were great, and we would recommend this restaurant for it's service and the quality of the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gtrtfromyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The service was excellent and the food was great. There were 10 of us and they handled our table very well......even with two active youngsters in the group. We ordered a variety of meals and everyone like what they ordered. We were too full for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just oriental food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were a large party of 10. We were able to be seated and served quickly, WOW!. Most of our party ordered the steamed mussels which were in a wine sauce. Excellent, especially with the French bread that came with it. We were here during Mussel Fest and the next day we had their Mussel chowder tasting, I expect they won the competition because it was so tasty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim's Cafe also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing