We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Lovejoy - a perfect base for seeing Whidbey Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island
Ranked #9 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We travelled to Whidbey Island from Seattle for a change in pace and a glimpse of island life - and we got both at this charming inn. Coupeville is a lovely little town and a great base for exploring both north and south Whidbey. I preferred Coupeville to Langley, probably because it's got special protected status that means development is restricted.

The Lovejoy is perfectly located and everywhere is walkable. There are good dining options for such a small place. Christopher's was recommended by Mitch our host and was excellent. The inn has a lovely guest sitting / dining room with fridge, tables and so you can bring cheese and crackers and enjoy it with some wine - which is what we did one night instead of eating out. Glasses and corkscrew provided. The porch is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. Coffee was excellent and breakfast very good too, served plated to your table. Mitch is happy to chat and gives great pointers and recommendations of things to see and do. We hiked Ebey's landing which really was wonderful. Don't miss the cafe at Greenbank Farm for a slice of fruit pie and the cheese shop. And do make a point of walking out to the wharf for a coffee at Local Grown - you'll get a warm welcome from William - and it's a great place to watch birds and the driftwood float on the tide.

Our room was the Penn Cove - very spacious and comfortable with a good sized bathroom with shower. Views of the cove and lots of room to spread out (which I'm prone to do!) comfy bed, nice fluffy towels, everything you could need. There are only three rooms (in the inn itself) so you are not on top of other guests and the guest quarters are separated from the family's space so it's very quiet and private. We found all the locals to be friendly and interested in us as visitors and the birding and wildlife is fantastic.

All in all, the Lovejoy was a great choice for our three-night stay and I'd thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very clean, spacious, and friendly with an absolutely fantastic breakfast! We stayed in the Landing Room which is a very airy, tastefully decorated room with a large bathroom. However, since it is located on the first floor of an old house, sound travels quite well. If you're an early riser, this should not be an issue at all, however, if you prefer to sleep in, I would recommend an upstairs room. All in all, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed four nights in the Lovejoy Inn while attending a weaving class in Coupeville. It was the perfect place to stay. Comfortable, lovely, pleasant, quiet, soothing after each busy day of hands-on learning. Charming town, and the Inn is within walking distance to good restaurants. Breakfast at the Inn was "just right": special, but not over the top; perfectly sized portions; something different every morning. Charming, comfortable, and extremely pleasant. I will definitely stay there again when I return for more weaving classes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We prefer this type of accommodation over run-of-the-mill hotel rooms, but we still like some privacy and no doilies (the plague of the B&B scene). We enjoyed having this private oasis (the Carriage House) where we also had enough room to unload our car contents since we are in the process of moving across the country. Very nice owners, very clean apartment, very tasty breakfast treat (the first morning), and I think very reasonably priced. And, well located to walk to any and all Coupeville establishments. Only thing I found confusing from the website was whether any breakfast should have been available the second morning. We were in a rush though so I didn't get a chance to clarify.

Room Tip: Very handy for military couples in the process of relocating, such as ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sperry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found this inn on line and was prompted to book it initially as they would rent for one night only and I felt the price was very reasonable.

We booked the carriage house which is it's own building with a kitchenette and a balcony. It ended up not having an oven with a broiler so we pan cooked the steaks we brought, it was very tasty. For breakfast we had orange juice, coffee, tea, water, yogurt, coffee cake and real half and half for our coffee.

The room was clean and comfortable and extremely quiet. The inn is two blocks away from downtown so you can enjoy the local flavor and not have to worry about parking. The owner was friendly and pleasant to visit with. I would not only recommend this inn but would stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main house in a room which I am sure is great, but we really liked the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lovely, comfortable and perfectly located with a view of Penn Cove and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Owners Mitch and Lynda are the hosts with the most. Highly recommend for a week or weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in The Landing, a comfortable room off the entry. Spotless bathroom with a gigantic shower. Breakfast! Quiche, coffeecake, fresh orange slices and fresh raspberries. Great coffee. Fresh OJ. Just a block to stores and restaurants. Nice view off the front porch of Penn Cove. Helpful, friendly, efficient owner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coupeville hotels
1.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
280 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#4 of 13 in Coupeville
110 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fort Casey Inn
Fort Casey Inn
#3 of 13 in Coupeville
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage on the Cove
Cottage on the Cove
#11 of 13 in Coupeville
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island

Address: 5 NW 8th St., PO Box 82, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island is located in the heart of Whidbey Island in the historic waterfront town of Coupeville. Coastal colors, clean, uncluttered and private. Walk to wharf, beach, dining and shops. Affordable, relaxing and perfectly located. WiFi available, nice breakfast, large wraparound porch with views of Penn Cove. Four rooms from the private Carriage House Cottage to the cozy and affordable Coupe Room. Choose the Lovejoy Inn for a relaxing getaway or for affordable lodging during business trip, art class or weaving school class. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovejoy Inn On Whidbey Island Hotel Coupeville
Lovejoy Inn On Whidbey Island Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing