We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great - IF YOU LIKE ANTIQUES!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Coupeville B&B and Inns
susiepants
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great - IF YOU LIKE ANTIQUES!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Well, what can I say? I had read the reviews in advance on T.A so wa expecting SOME antiques and a superb breakfast, but to arrive at a completely overcluttered house with no surface left bare was completely OTT. The owners were away and instead Erin was looking after the place as best she could, but when we were asked about what we would like for breakfast (we were all greatly excited after what I had read in the reviews about the great meal in store for us!!), she said she could only offer us eggs benedit or pancakes. Not the sumptious 3 course meal that another TA review had mentioned. Erin did say that if the owners had been there, then we would have been offered 40 something different options! Not worth the $120+ that it cost us!! We should have been offered a discount for the lack of breakfast choice (our daughter ate cereal that we had brought with us (didn't even have any cereal to offer her)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle wa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Marshall and Jan are energetic and very engaging hosts. We even got a ride in the Packard and a folder to remember our stay! But you won't forget your say because you will be so well treated and entertained. All their collected stuff is a kick, too. If you like dishes, they will show you their 52 sets. That does not include luncheon sets and little stuff like that. It's just a fun experience. (They told us that some guests had stayed with them 52 times, including a family that was with them for a solid month while renovating their house.)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Just a place out of time, Captain and Jan made you feel at home, just the experience has made me want to go back and spend more time with them and their lovely home.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious, the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had, very gourmet. They truly enjoy entertaining strangers, and when you leave you feel as if you have known them forever, I certainly will never forget them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbroad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

If you're visiting Whidbey Island you must stay at this bed and breakfast! I can't recommend it enough. It's a beautiful victorian house, wonderfully decorated with antiques, well located in Coupeville. I came over with my parents from England to attend a wedding at the nearby Jenne Farm. Jan and Marshall Bronson were brillant and made our stay memorable with their excellent hospitality. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fantastic. I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone planning a break in Whidbey Island.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JDW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

If you are travelling to Whidbey Island then you must stay here. Our hosts and owners Marshall and Jan Bronson could not do more for you. To start with you are welcomed with tea on your first day, then they give you so much information regarding the area on how to spend your vacation it is overwhelming. Each moring you are treated to a spectacular breakfast served by Marshall and Jan. Three fantastic courses served by candlelight that will not dissapoint. The whole house is full of antiques that would take you a day to browse and the stories that are told by them both on how they came about are fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable. Coupville is a lovely town to visit and please do go down to Christophers on Front street for lunch or dinner. The food is as good as any that will be served anywhere on Whidbey or Washington state.
If we are anywhere near seattle or vancouver we will be back.
Visit the Compass Rose website for more details regarding ferry crossings etc and price.

  • Liked — The hosts Jan and Marshall
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You have to book early as the B&B is busy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, MT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2003

What a delight! The house, gardens and furnishings are so beautiful - but the extraordinary couple who run this extraordinary B&B are what make the whole experience so very special. I don't think the Queen of England would be afforded any more lavish attention than all of the Compass Rose's "normal" - and very fortunate! - guests! Unforgetable!
Go!

Helpful?
6 Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2002

This was a wonderful place to stay.

The couple who run it, Jan & Marshall Bronson, have travelled the world several times over. Their exquiste collection of beautiful and interesting objets d'arts graces the entire house.

Silver tea services, ostriche eggs, 17th century grandfather clocks, antique everything...

Breakfast was a sight to behold, not to mention very tasty. Coffe, tea or hot chocolate served in the finest silver (of course), with eggs, crepes, fruit, etc.

Very interesting and enjoyable place to stay.

Worth a trip in itself.

J.L. Freed

Helpful?
6 Thank jeanlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
2.2 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 14 in Coupeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.8 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 508 S Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-3516
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 1890 Queen Anne Victorian home, on the National Register of Historic Places, is now an elegant two room bed and breakfast, furnished with antiques and glorious things from around the globe by the hosts, Captain and Mrs. Marshall Bronson. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing