We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sawin' Logs(Devils Tower)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
522
42
2
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
42
2
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrank sandersrock climbingplaying the pianonational monumentfamily stylelong tableother guestsclimbing guidesliving roombed and breakfastclimbing experiencepicture windowprivate bathcommunal mealsinteresting peoplebreakfast and dinnerback porch
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 578 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Devils Tower Lodge is NOT for those who would like invisible staff and anonymous guests. It is a welcoming, comfortable home and like all B&Bs I have experienced, provides an opportunity to meet other travelers and converse with others (owner, employees, guests).

The view of the Tower is incredible - I related to the characters portrayed in the movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind, drawn to the monument...and could not stop myself from photographing the Tower at sunrise, late afternoon, during a thunderstorm, sunset and moonrise. As for true characters, owner Frank Sanders is one of a kind, and to be commended for finding his passion and making a living from May - September by operating the Devils Tower Lodge B&B and providing guides and gear for climbers.

We stayed in the Burning Daylight room with a great view of the Tower; a sliding glass door allowed me to step outside at sunrise (wrapped in the warm, comfy bathrobe provided) for photos before climbing back into bed.

Loved Frank's piano playing as a prelude to breakfast each morning.

Both meals, breakfast (8:00 a.m./included) and dinner (7:00 p.m./additional) are served family style in the dining room which naturally has an awesome view of the Tower. Unless they are climbing, or hiking, or horseback riding, guests and staff enjoy meals at the large dining room table with abundant homestyle food.

As for internet access, the wi-fi worked best in the living room, so if you are compelled to check your email, you will be joining the others on the comfortable couches.

Rock-climbing guide, Gabe introduced crack climbing to my daughter; she enjoyed her time on the Tower with him!

We hope to return next year...

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cabbkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

DTL is a truly magical place--a rustic and welcoming B&B where the views of Devil's Tower are so gorgeous and up close you have to pinch yourself to believe it. All the rooms have a view of the Tower, as does the dining area, the back porch, the back yard, etc. You can't get away from the Tower! But what really makes this such an exceptional experience is Frank, the owner, and his friendly and knowledgeable staff. Frank is a world class climber who is there to make sure anyone, regardless of level of (in)experience has an opportunity to climb if they like. And then there's all the other sound, sage, and helpful advice on other things to do around the area. (In our party of two, one went climbing for half a day, the other booked a fabulous six hour horseback ride at the Diamond 7 Bar Ranch--both of us came back very happy with lots of stories to tell.) If you stay at the Lodge, make sure you arrange to eat dinner there--it's family style, the food is FANTASTIC home cooking, and everyone has a wonderful time talking about their day, engaging in lively discussions on all sorts of topics with Frank, and learning all about the world from others. Once you come you'll never want to leave, so stay for at least a couple of nights if you can. They say the Tower is a hidden gem of the American landscape, and, no question, the Lodge is, too.

Room Tip: Forget about TV and wifi. The joy of being here is to enjoy the human company and beauty of nature around you.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lasharp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We stayed here for the first time for a climbing trip at the end of June. We booked three different rooms. I personally was in the Weissner Cottage, and it was IDEAL! The hosts and guides were TOP NOTCH! The friendly staff and guests made our stay in this unique and beautiful place WONDERFUL! Hope to come back with my family soon!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Great place to stay if you are climbing the tower or just visiting and sightseeing.
The rooms are unique, comfortable, and nicely decorated.
The food was excellent and there was plenty of it.
The staff are friendly, helpful, courteous, and just fun people to hang with.
The climbing, of course, is outstanding and Frank is a marvelous guide. That is not to shortchange the other climbing staff - all are competent and qualified and fun.
We will return in a heartbeat without persuasion.
Highest recommendations!! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We stayed over night here in early June 2016 and had a wonderful experience. The hots and his staff were gracious and welcoming and the food was excellent. We had the Window Room and were greeted by the beautiful view of the Tower as soon as we threw the drapes open in the morning. We highly recommend the family style dinners as well. They are a great value.

Room Tip: Get the Window Room
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dscherger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews