We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did we wait so long to visit...?”

Devils Tower National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 870-foot stone monument, thought to have been created from the remains of a volcano, is the center of many Indian religious ceremonies.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Why did we wait so long to visit...?”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Pulling our travel trailer from Deadwood, SD to Douglas, WY, we had plenty of time to make a stop at Devil’s Tower. Take note that there IS a parking lot inside the ranger gate to drop your rig. Please do NOT attempt to take your RV to the tower base. We saw several motorhomes and rental RV drivers thinking they were the “special ones” who could drive to the top and park. They blocked accesses and made of mess of things…there is no place for a large vehicle to safely park people!

We didn’t realize one could walk around the whole base of the tower and on a whim, we packed a couple of water bottles and hit the trail which was easy for us 50-60 something to do. I was wearing flip-flops and studier shoes would have been better. It took us about 1.5 hours to walk the base taking our time to see the views and take in all the tower had to show us. Recommend you walk the trail counter clockwise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,803
    475
    69
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Well devils tower has spiritual beauty, surrounded by the legend of the seven sisters, the hiking is awesome, the camp grounds are well kept, and many in view of the tower, sunsets worth viewing
this, a beautiful, area, take grandkids! Learn them traditional views
and historical significance of this area, treasure by native Americans

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breathtaking ever after multiple visits over 24 years.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beautiful, interesting and the hike is nice and fairly easy for the elderly and very young. Make sure to stop at the ladder viewing point to see where the ladder was built for the first person to climb the tower.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were travelling across America and in Perryton TX when I had the great idea of driving to Devils Monument. I have to say it was well worth the 10 hour drive.Totally blew my mind.
The prairie dogs at the base were worth watching, especially the young ones playing, who didn't seem at all bothered with us being there. The drive round to the information centre had a few places to stop and look at the monument, so the you could get a real feel for the different colours and aspects of it.
I would so recommend this site, the feeling of peace and beauty were indescribable, a real spiritual experience for me and trust me, I am really not like that at all!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kerryjproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strange but awesome to see in-person”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Having seen this first in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind", it was strange to see it in person, decades later, but wholly outstanding. It's mind-blowing to ponder that "ground-level" used to be that high.

Worth the drive during our visit in the Rapid City, South Dakota area; about 1.5 hours iirc.

The walk around the base took us about 60 minutes at a decent pace; a sign says 45 minutes. Somewhat hilly in spots, but do it if you can, or as much as you can.

The entrance fee to the national park was $11 for our car (not per person). Restrooms in the parking area at the base. Obligatory tourist trap stores at the park entrance.

Drive slow through the prairie dog area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank The-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Tower National Monument also viewed

Devils Tower, WY
Devils Tower, WY
 

Been to Devils Tower National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing