We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed in many different motels ,hotels in my travels for my job .
The price for the room was average for mammoth lakes ( unless you want to stay at motel 6)
The service at the front deck was good.
The room was very inviting or homey to me.
The room was clean, the water was hot , and the bed was comfortable.
There was a nice sitting area to relax in. I enjoyed my stay and
I will stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Greg,

We appreciate your taking the time to write a few words about your stay at the Shilo Inn in Mammoth Lakes, It is so nice to hear the positive reviews. We will share this with our hard-working staff and we look forward to your return to Shilo in Mammoth Lakes.
And, thank you, once again!

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    111
    85
    40
    21
See reviews for
96
126
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The good:
Renovation has replaced carpets on 3rd floor where I stayed. A/C unit was quiet as was room.
There is a covered parking garage which would be great when the snow flies.
Within walking distance of some fairly good eateries, like Chart House.
McDonalds right next door.
The not so good:
Average morning breakfast, nourishing but not special. Staff is cordial but not "happy-happy".
Some public areas could use a little sprucing up, mostly just blah now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eureka_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Eureka_9,

Thank you for your review and thoughts regarding your stay at the Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We appreciate your views and will address the issues with the appropriate departments. We hope you will be able to come back to Mammoth Lakes and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

For what they charge, they should be very embarrassed! Overpriced! The front desk clerk was a jerk. The room was from 1970, the carpet you don’t ever want to know about, and the entire hotel is dirty. I would not recommend this place to anybody! Not even for 1 night. You can find a better value in Mammoth Lakes, there are plenty of other hotels. We had stayed in a Shiloh Inn in Palm Springs many many years ago and it was nice, so we thought this one would be nice too. But, apparently all the owners care about it making a lot of money and don’t care about the hotel condition or the way their employees LOOK and perform their duties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sandee K,

We are sorry to hear about your stay at our hotel was not up to your expectations. Please contact me at mgrmamm@shiloinns.com and let me know more detail regarding your stay so we can be sure the appropriate departments are notified regarding your comments. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Palo Alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'm not picky, but I definitely will never stay again at Shilo Inn! First of all, you will not get a suite, but just a below average room. Probably, someone would like to have an extra telephone near the toilet, but I'd rather prefer to have working electric outlets and coffee maker. In my room in order to use electric appliances like hair drier or shaver it was necessary to plug them instead of coffee maker. When we tried to use the coffee maker, it instantly produced unknown light brown lukewarm liquid. The breakfast area so tiny, that it can fit only a few people, thus, many guests just have to go upstairs and eat "enjoying" smell of Clorox, because maids start to clean up empty rooms at this time. Food is OK for kids, but if there is a man in your party, you probably prefer to go out, so, bring extra cash, for, not all places in the area accept credit cards. At checkout the clerk Ramon was not able to print a detailed receipt, but tried to serve several customers at the same time, so everybody had to wait longer and felt ignored. I’m really regret that I didn’t pay attention to the review of another customer, who wrote that a clerk acted like he own the place and didn’t try to be polite, but just told everybody that the hotel is sold out. I got a proof of that review in hard way. Yes, there are not too many places to stay in this area, but this is not a reason to be treated like this. Choose another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia28917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Natalia 28917,

Shilo Inn Mammoth appreciates all points of view. We are sorry to hear you were having problems with the electrical outlets in your room, I’m sure our maintenance staff would have been happy to assist you. Thank you for your views on housekeeping cleaning hours. Sounds like we need to adjust their schedule a bit when our 2nd floor meeting space is being used for breakfast bar seating. We are sorry our Front Desk Agent was struggling with our slow internet connection. I’m sure he did not mean to make you feel ignored. We do value your business. Please accept our apologies and reconsider another stay at any one of our Shilo Inn locations.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Family of 4 stayed in a 2 queen bed room at the Shilo Inn in August 2013.

We were on our way from Yosemite to Vegas and just stopped in without a reservation. Great service at the front desk. Price was a little steep ($148) for this type of hotel/room but I think this is Mammoth Lakes.

The hotel was clean, location was nice, rooms were large, beds were comfortable, coffee maker and fridge in room, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast buffet, .............

Although this place is very clean, it is so outdated. Carpets, wallpaper, paint, furniture, is '70s, '80s The advertising inside the elevator has a picture of a woman wearing a dress and hairstyle that was in fashion in the early '80s

Also, the single elevator is so slow, I actually went up the 4 floors by foot to see if it was held by a guest or housekeeping. I had time to climb the steps to the 4th floor and come back down before the elevator arrived (I was bringing up my luggage not looking for exercise). The Wifi also kept going dead every 5 minutes - not disconnected just not downloading data.

To summarize, I am not disappointed with my stay but just not sure I would recommend it with all the other hotels, condos, inns in this area - There must be a newer place for the same price.

PS Please vote as helpful if you like this review

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MICMERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear MICMERG,

We appreciate your views of the Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We are pleased your room was clean and comfortable. We are gradually updating our décor, the wifi is being upgraded and should be complete by October, the provider says. We hope that you will return to see the improvements and continue to be a fan of Shilo Inn for your future stays.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip from Vegas to Yosemite Park. First thing that came to my mind when standing in the recepton area: this is a hotel without a soul. Employees, especially the cleaningladies, looked very somber and were just going through the motions.
Reception staff made us wait a long time before we could check in and no real welcome from this young man either.

Breakfast in the morning was a hoot, really. You're supposed to eat it in the reception area (there is a tiny breakfast room on the side but that is too depressing to even consider). American hotel breakfasts are bad but this was the worst, great achievement!
Their regular customers obviously know this, because one lady came in with bags from MacDonalds to take upstairs to her room. Unfortunately, she used the bell boy cart (!) to transport the breakfast items to her room and we never saw that cart again when we wanted to check out from our room on the 3rd floor with all our luggage.....

On the positive side, the room was very good, spacious, with a fridge, flatscreen and a decent bathroom. Our 3 children enjoyed the indoor swimmingpool and we had a good night sleep.

Stay there for one or two nights, that is just fine. Would not want to spend my skiing vacation there, no good vibes. Location is great by the way, unfortunately we did not have time to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear LucaMaastricht,

Thank you for your candid review of Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We appreciate that you found the room clean, spacious and comfortable. We are sorry for the small eating area for our breakfast. We are not fortunate to allocate any other space for the breakfast as it was a retrofit amenity when the complimentary breakfast became the norm. We are happy to offer this amenity but space is limited. The Front Desk Staff can get a bit busy from time to time, and we are sorry that our Guest Service Agent’s demeanor appeared unwelcoming. Shilo Inn Staff never want our guests to feel unwelcome. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and we will share your comments with our staff. We hope you will return to the Shilo Family for your future travel plans and give us the opportunity to do better.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

First night stayed at quality inn..smelled and old. Next night we went to shilo inn. Got a web match price of $122 which was fine. Next morning we ran into friends and decided to stay additional night. We went to front desk at 9 am hoping to see nice helpful cheery young girl who checked us in, only to be approached by a older "not so friendly or helpful women. We ask if we could stay another night and she said sure for $196! She then started whining that she would be losing money if she went any lower. After much deliberation she said the best web match price would be $186. This women was so rude and unwelcoming! She acted as if she was doing US a favor! We showed her the web price of $141 and she said then book it there! We went back up to our room and looked around at the patched ceilings, the holes in the curtains which were blinding in the morning, looked at the holes in the lampshades and the old decor and handicap bathtub that you could not really take a bath in because of the bars all around the tub! We decided to go to a hotel that appreciated our business and showed us some respect! Hard to believe shilo inn would allow such a disrespectful employee! We happily checked out and found a fabulous place just down the road called Mammoth Creek Inn. They were very friendly and happy to have our business. Better rooms, updates decor and great breakfast. Better try a little harder Shilo Inn. Time to clean house!

Signed
Sucker for one night

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Chrisethompson,

Shilo Inn Management would like to offer our apologies for the rude and unwelcoming service you felt you received when staying with us. It is never our intention to be disrespectful to any of our guests. We always encourage our staff to offer web rates to our guests, we apologize that this was not understood when you found a lower rate on line. We will report the damages you mentioned to our maintenance and housekeeping staff as we continue to make improvements to our Mammoth Lakes location. We hope you will find it in your heart to give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When your plans take you to the breathtaking beautiful Yuma desert, the Shilo Inn Hotel is the place to stay. After a long day of meetings, shopping, or sight-seeing, luxuriate in our immaculate spa, swim in our Olympic-size pool or work out your fatigue in our state-of-the-art fitness center, sauna or steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing