We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice condos, clean & well furnished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountainback at Mammoth
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice condos, clean & well furnished”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We went with a large group that rented several units. Our family shared a unit with another couple. The units are very comfortable, very clean and convenient. Well equipped kitchens. You must go upstairs from the underground parking, no elevator. We are going back again in 2009. Good, solid value. Lots to do: we hiked, kayaked, road and mountain biked, shopped and more.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

A novel idea which we came to through Trip Advisor; stay in a condo instead of a hotel for the same price! We were late in arriving at Mammoth Lakes so reception kindly left us keys and instructions. The unit they allocated us (72) was amazing; much nicer than other condos we have stayed in before; two beds, two baths and a wonderful living / dining / cooking area with windows with views to three sides and balconies to two. The unit was extremely well equipped with every comfort; open fire with wood, TV + DVD, new kitchen with nice appliances etc. In addition the whole place was spotlessly clean and well-presented so that it felt as if you were a guest in somebody's home. In addition, free local, long-distance and international calls were an unusual and welcome boon! We spent a really great couple of days here; the town is quite lovely with a range of stores and things to do and if you tire of that, Mountainback has a pool and the usual amenities. The reception staff were really friendly and we didn't want to leave.

One note of caution though; if you plan to use Mountainback as a base for exploring Yosemite, as we did, be prepared to get up very early as the road to the park is very long and slow. I'd still stay here again though!

  • Liked — The amenities
  • Disliked — A little far from Yosemite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We could have spent slightly less at the Holiday Inn but for just $30 more per night we got a two bedroom condo in excellent shape. It was past the peak season but the prices could not be beat. It is very close to the ski lodge, close to town, and with very helpful staff. The room was spotless.

  • Liked — Updated, clean, internet access, spacious
  • Disliked — A lot of stairs to get there
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JLDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I have stayed at Mountainback condos 2 to 3 times a year for the last 4 years. We have booked 2 more trips this year!!! It is a very nice place to stay with a Great Location. Make sure to use the main website booking through the onsite office and you won't have any problems. I have stayed in a couple of different units and mostly at one particular unit over the years and I have found them to be very nice. This is one of the few places in Mammoth where you can get a 3 bedrooms plus a loft with 3 bathrooms at a decent price. Their online system is easy to use and the management has always been very helpful. I have read the other reviews and I wanted to reply to their experiences with my own. This is NOT a 4 star resort. It is a very nice place to stay especially when you might be having a group of 8 to 10 people staying in the same unit. With pricing of about $500 per night after taxes for 10 people to stay in a condo just down the street from Canyon Lodge with Underground parking, I feel that it would be hard to beat this deal. I would definitely recommend this property to others. Just make sure to book through the main website.

  • Liked — Size of the units
  • Disliked — Nothing it is a great place
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lexus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We love Mountainback Condos and have been staying there since 1998 that I can remember. We love it so much we were lucky enough to buy a 2 bedroom/den unit this year. We have stayed all over Mammoth and and kept coming back to Mountainback because we liked the roomy condos, great location, underground parking, pool and spa. While other condos built around the same time are looking dated and detiorated, Mountainback conitnues to look modern and has been maintained nicely. The on site managers have always been great to us, even when we were not owners. We love being able to walk to the Village and we usually shuttle the skiers up to Canyon Lodge. Our unit has been totally remodeled and has a great view of the pool and spa. We have a blast in Mammoth over the summer and love being able to use the pool area and BBQ. Great place for families as the units are some of the most spacious in Mammoth, we can sleep 8 in ours without driving each other nuts.

  • Liked — Comfortable, good location, relaxing, good value
  • Disliked — Not ski in ski out
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Solushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2005

Every year since 2000, we stay at a Mountainback Condo. It's so exhilirating driving up the steep street and looking at one beautiful building after another, wondering which one we'lll be staying in this time. When the sun comes up and hits the front of the building, the color of the wood shingles is warm and rich. Each condo is huge. The long staircase next to the fireplace leads up to the loft bedrooms. My wife likes the kitchen because all accessories are stocked whenever you want to cook a nice meal. The building is built like a mountain fortress beautiful, rugged and solid. I wish my home felt like that. The 2 downstair bedrooms have big windows that open for fresh air and are in an area where you have privacy if you don,t close the blinds. The furniture is very nice and comfortable and the dining table is big.. The condos look very expensive so I imagine this is how wealthy people must live every day. Its fun to open the living room or bedroom doors to enter the outdoor porch. The porch is attractive because it holds fresh split logs for the fireplace. One year we all stood there watching the hail bouncing off the lawn and street for half an hour. Or I'll stand on the lawn and throw a miniature football up to my kids to catch. My wife and I are doctor's and we love this place !!

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2004

The 2 bedroom/loft condo was comfortable and accommodated 6 adults with room to spare. It was also well equipped. If there was any complaint it would be that the view was somewhat limited. Other than that this is a great choice.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
#22 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Austria Hof Lodge
Austria Hof Lodge
#13 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainback at Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainback at Mammoth

Property: Mountainback at Mammoth
Address: 435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainback at Mammoth 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mountainback at Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainback At Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mountainback At Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing