We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashion comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old fashion comfort”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The first thing I noticed is that the service was very friendly. We were greeted with a huge smile and a warm welcome. To the left of the front desk is a bar that was not yet open when we visited but we were assured that it was only a matter of weeks. The decor is reminiscent of 40's and 50's retreat from the Hollywood scene. The hallways smelled of Christmas pine. The room was clean with classic decor. Our room was specifically marketed as a suite. However, it was simply a room with a bed, and bathroom. Inside the bathroom was a small fridge, microwave and safe. My only complaint is that the shower head was too high. I couldn't adjust it to a position that was comfortable for me (I'm 5'4"). The sink basin, though fashionable, was also too high. It was pointed out to me that children and little people would have a hard time washing their hands, faces, and brushing their teeth over the sink.

For light sleepers, beware, the heater and air conditioning unit in our room was a bit loud when it kicked on and off. This was fixed when we requested a small space heater.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCamQOTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    203
    86
    31
    33
See reviews for
241
297
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Usually stay at Marriott, but they don't have a presence at Mammoth Lakes so I stayed at the Sierra Nevada Resort. Comfortable, clean rooms and a professional staff with many perks that
made my skiing getaway outstanding. They have shuttle service to Canyon and Village lodges at 8, 9 n 10 am and pickup at 3 n 4 pm. I started each morning at Canyon, but from there you can ski your way to the village or to the Main Lodge and back on a number of chairs so you can enjoy the whole mountain at any level you choose.
Black tie Ski Rentals has a shop on the premises so your rental needs can be handled in their shop or delivered to your room. Personally I prefer to rent at the Lodge and store equipment in a locker so I walk to lodge n back to the resort in street shoes and not ski boots.
The resort has free coffee, tea or water in the lobby along with a pool table, bar (open on weekends) and a free newspaper.
Didn't try the spa, but did enjoy the Rafters restaurant. The Rafters has a terrific bar and books musicians for the weekend.
The decor is rustic and reflects some of the former owners and patrons like Jerry Buss and Hollywood notables.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kaoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We ski 30 days a year (90% of the time in Mammoth). We've stayed just about everywhere. For our most recent trip in March, we stayed at Sierra Nevada Resort. It was our first time, but definitely not our last. The rooms were clean and spacious. The beds were divine, especially after a full day of skiing. The hot tub was HUGE (major plus because I didn't have to cuddle up next to a random furry guy in a hot tub, which is so common at some of the other places in town). They even had a little basket of goodies waiting for us.

Other pros: steps from Rafters and Jimmy's. Kids Club on site. Great for groups and families and yet intimate enough for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I loved our stay! Short and sweet I have all good things to say. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were able to park our car and walk to coffee in the morning, and to dinner at night. But we were also close enough to drive to anything we wanted in no time. We stayed in room 212, which is a king suite. They thought of everything from heated toilet seat to a humidifier in the room. Cozy and romantic for two:). We also loved the use of the spa for sauna and steam at no charge. If you are looking for a great romantic get away this is the spot!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a long flight and then driven from LA when we arrived in Mammoth late afternoon. There was little snow left, so the place didn't look that inviting when you just drive into a car park and come in a side entrance. The first thing you see is a green and grubby half empty small pool ( would be pretty inefficient in summer when hotel was full) next to a working spa. Not at all inviting - put a cover over it if you can't be bothered to keep it nice! We then entered reception which is where the bar ( you have to ask them to serve you from here which is a shame as it's attractive) , pool table and seats around the non- existent fire. It's a late winter afternoon and a.fire always looks inviting - it's gas - press the switch! The receptionist, whilst looking fairly unprepossessing - I always thought their job was to be welcoming and smiling - practically banged our keys on the desk and pointed the way to our room. When I asked if that was the only pool, she said it would be impossible to keep an outdoor pool heated at that altitude in the winter!! I pointed out that hotels all over the mountains have heated outdoor pools that are often much larger than theirs but was told that was impossible!
Our room was a fireplace suite facing away form the car park on the top floor. The ceiling raked up very high and the room had been refurbished. The room which is a perfect size for 2 , is very dark with a burgundy ceiling, even with every light on, but the furnishings are good quality and the bed comfy. For some reason even though their is an incinerator in the sink their is again plastic bin sitting on the floor on the kitchen! Who thinks this looks OK? Put a smaller one in a cupboard - there's room service every day to empty it. The bathroom is a high point with heated floor and toilet seat (personally I'd have preferred a working pool) and decent toiletries, the shower is large and there is a full bath. There is one washing machine/dryer on the ground floor - which again would be insufficient if full - but is useful.
It was day 3 before we were told there were lockers for our skis, a free champagne and restaurant discounts. Both the restaurants/bar are pretty good with good service and food, but aren't attached to the hotel. If you weren't staying you would think they were any old restaurant as they are out in a large car park.
The hotel is very central so you can walk most places in the evenings and the rest of the staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: You definitely don't want the lower floor facing the car park as the cars are almost in your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltales3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Jessyca was the bomb! She was so helpful and friendly, even when she had been up all night working the midnight shift. Complementary champagne was a wonderful surprise. Restaurants are within walking distance so location was very convenient. A short drive to the Mammoth Mountain Ski Resort, but if you wanted to you could take the shuttle that picks up and drops off right across the street. A hundred dollars less than the hotels adjacent to the skiing and definitely a great option...especially if Jessyca is working!

Room Tip: Only get a handicapped accessible room if you need it because the shower is funky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkdjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during two different trips this year. The first time we stayed in a regular room which was nice. The second time we stayed in a fireplace suite. This was a really nice room, with many unexpected amenities. The bed and linens were very comfortable. There is a good size shower and a separate soaking tub. The hotel staff are always very friendly and helpful. We had nice meals at the nearby restaurants. The town transit bus stop is right in front and the hotel also offers a shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssnowskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#14 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing