We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avid Mammoth skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avid Mammoth skiers”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family vacations in Mammoth every season of the year, from fishing, biking to skiing. We love what Sierra Nevada has done with the renovations to rooms. Kristen at the front desk offered champagne at check-in and informed us of the complementary "kids club" open 4-9pm. This allowed us to run next door to Rafters for some parent-time for as long as the kiddos wanted to stay. Perfect after a day on the slopes! Brett the GM was helpful and informative with all the changes from the lodge to partnering restaurants. He was so pleasant! We sat in the lobby with friends around the beautiful fireplace. The welcoming feel is comfortable and inviting. I was only surprised to see dogs in the hotel. However, the pet-friendly hotel showed no evidence of the sort. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms are the way to go! We've stayed In the standard rooms, King firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critterrlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    208
    89
    33
    34
See reviews for
248
308
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I have visited Mammoth a handful of times, and stayed here twice - most recently this week (through new year). This time we had our husky puppy with us. We love the friendly staff, the cozy cabin lobby, the pet-welcoming staff/rooms, and the close distance to the lifts. The bus line picks up close to Rafters (which is an outstanding choice for lunch or dinner, right outside the rooms), and takes you right to Eagle Lodge, which we're a fan of for back-mountain snowboarding. Sierra Nevada Lodge is also close enough to the Village, without all the hustle and crowds. We love it here, and definitely recommend it - especially if you are bringing your furry babes with you to enjoy the snow!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We took a family vacation to the sky resort. The room was what we expected. Nothing fancy, full size beds (not queen as advertised but comfortable), a small fridge, no microwave, and generally clean. The lobby is cozy with a nice pool table and fireplace to warm up around their benches and small tables. They have a sky rental shop right on the premises for our convenience.
We traveled on Christmas holidays so everything around was pricey (including the hotel rate)
The staff was helpful and ready to help with our questions on how to get around town, get good meals, interest points, etc.
There was a pool (not intended to use it) but the water was frozen.
The Rafter is a restaurant in the site, it was nice but pricey, and did not have kids menu (and our group had 6 kids) the day we went, so we ended up eating somewhere else for almost half the price.Breakfast was not included.
Old hotel and pricey, but I understand it was the holidays...
I would try a different place next time (oh yeah, we are coming back to Mammoth Mountain), perhaps closer to the village.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fireplace room was comfortable and cozy for a long weekend in November. Location in the center of Mammoth was convenient to restaurants, yet it was still & quiet, grounds were park-like. Every staff person we met was helpful and pleasant. Great home base for fishing and hiking. Loved the craftsman decor. Room service was wonderful - quick and reasonable but out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Fireplace room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsdobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room pictures on the hotels website do not match the rooms. I paid a total of $285 for one night and the room was disgusting. I've had better rooms at motel 6. The room was dirty, bathroom was substandard, wallpaper peeling, crayon scribbles on walls, dog barking all night next door, beds not made right... It was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wash200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The service is awesome! Will our shuttle to and from the mountain was supreme. He even pull off my boots and brought my shoes with him after a long day of skiing! Black Tie Ski Rentals were full service as well. Front desk and our bartender for the complimentary champagne were the best!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparklezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Sierra Nevada Resort will accommodate guests for all of their needs. I was specifically impressed with the professionalism and flexibility of shuttle service to the airport. Our driver Matthew was willing to work with our requests, was on time, and even let us know in advance that our plane had a delay at the airport. I would highly recommend staying at this resort in town. Great proximity to all of your needs, and only a quick trip to the mountain to start your ski lessons!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#17 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing