We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I arrived in mammoth after a 6 hour drive from Mendocino County. It was in the wee hours of the morning when I finally arrived. At first, I stopped at the Super 8, a reasonable deal but was unsatisfied with overall appearance and service. It was a cold night and I wanted something warming to the soul as well as aesthetically pleasing. The Sierra Nevada Resort had all the charm of a mountain ski resort and more. The fire was burning, the antique pool table racked, and an old piano, keys covered in the corner of the great room. The beautifully decorated christmas tree is was ultimately sold me, on my way back home for the holidays I truly appreciated the rugged beauty and charm of this fabulous resort! Great service, comfortable room, all for a relatively cheap price. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDAVEs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    183
    76
    27
    27
See reviews for
227
253
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman oaks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my first time in Mammoth, i took my kids.
the room was great very spasouse and comfortoble and clean
I spent time with my kids at the Cub's Den. and they loved the XOBX!

while the kids where at the room, i went to dinner at Jimmys and the food was amazing.

and last but not lease the service at the front desk was great

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmdale Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at this resort on a business trip and upgraded to the Sierra Suite. Plush rugs, heated tile floor in the bathroom, rain head shower and a deep tub. A majestic 4 post bed with the most comfortable mattress I ever slept on. Fireplace and leather lounge chairs to watch TV. The meal at Jimmy's was tasty and generous. I'll definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Convenient to great restaurants and a shopping center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We booked this ace for thanksgiving as a bit of a treat. We looked online and thought it looked quaint and full of character... When we arrived we were met with an icy welcome and unclear reasonings of why they wanted to swipe our card (again) and for what amount. Our room was incredibly basic with a lack of toilet roll, bin, coffee mugs, sugar. The door had to be slammed several times in order to lock/shut. We have stayed in a different motel almost every night for 3 weeks and have had much better service and facilities from $50 motels. Incredibly disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoops172689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We wanted a quiet getaway pre-Thanksgiving and chose the Sierra Nevada Resort, and specifically a Fireplace Suite room. So glad we did! These rooms are very recently remodelled and have been done so to a very high standard. We had a fabulous time and felt thoroughly spoiled!

You probably already know about the kitchenette (with fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and cooking rings), the dining table and chairs, the wall mounted LCD tv, the luxurious leather armchairs, the comfortable bed and the beautiful bathroom with twin sinks, and a separate shower and bath.

But what I didn't know, and what blew me away was the high quality of all the furniture and fittings, and some of the surprising smaller details that were so nice:

- heated toilet seat(!)
- choice of two showerheads in the massive shower
- a proper deep bathtub which you can soak in for hours (unlike most american bathtubs which are very shallow)
- a light in the closet which automatically comes on when you open the door
- the solid wooden furniture and leather armchairs
- the fluffy and luxurious bathrobes
- the beautiful lamps on the walls made from antlers

The only disappointment was that the wifi wasn't great, it was quite slow. But as this was a romantic getaway this really wasn't a problem.

I would highly recommend this place and I personally can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the entrances do have some noise from people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wirefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where to start but if you are thinking of staying anywhere in Mammoth, it has to be Sierra Nevada Resort. The room was spectacular, CLEAN, comfortable CLEAN bed, amazing kitchenette, fab fireplace. I mean you just can't go wrong. We were there for 4 days and I didn't want to leave. Actually we went from there to Tahoe and were disgusted of staying anywhere else. My husband actually contemplated going back and just driving into Tahoe every day. The staff was super friendly! We played pool every night for a couple of hours. Just an amazing amazing expedience. No matter how many times I say it, it will never really describe the awesomeness we experienced staying here! Love it and will definitely return. RESERVE NOW!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adelgabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ok so we stayed there for our mini gateway at the beginning of October and everything was grea we arrived a little bit earlier than check in time and we asked if we could get upgraded to a suite room and said they didn't have any suites available and that our room wasn't available yet so if we wanted to go around town check it out and come back so we did, half an hour later we received a phone call from the desk saying they got a cancellation on a suite and if we wanted to upgrade of course we felt great!!! that she thought about us for the upgrade so we took it and I was not disappointed on the suite at all, very clean beautiful decorated the bathroom was great. Ok now we go to the bad side 7 am and we hear people upstairs running and jumping and it also sounded like rolling a cart for cleaning so we called the front desk to see if it was possible to call the room above us to see if they could be a little more quiet but the noise just kept going and going finally an hour later we called front desk again to see if they had a chance to call and she says she didn't have a chance to call so we said ok they might be busy but by 9 the noise was still going and when we called again she said there was nobody above us that they check out earlier that day but didn't sound like they did, we didnt get the sleep we desired, that was our main reason for our mini gateway rest, relax and enjoy, we decided to get up and check out early since we had to drive back home (5 hrs). When we spoke to the manager about it said he would take care of it and get us a certificate for a night stay or something that he would email us but is been over a month and we haven't even received an a pologizy letter for not been able to enjoy 100% our mini gateway. Other than that the hotel was very nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ncristina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing