We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely mountain charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle nsw
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely mountain charm”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Charming old school mountain resort. Very friendly staff and associated with a beautiful restaurant serving gorgeous food with style. The in house laundry is great for road trippers. The rooms are large enough and comfortable and warm. We saw a bear in the car park as an extra bonus.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    203
    86
    31
    33
See reviews for
241
297
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My standards are very high for hotel/motels and Sierra Nevada Resort meets and exceeded my expectations.

Cleanliness in the room and around hotel A++
Comfort A++
Safety in and around hotel A+
Friendly and attentive staff A++

I can't say enough about our 4 day stay! Our room was glorious (Fireplace Suite).

Kitchenette with large mini fridge, large microwave with drawers and cabinets stocked with everything you need to prepare and serve meals, coffee etc. 4 person dining table.

The bathroom was the highlight of the stay for me. Large, deep bathtub, beautiful spacious vanity with glass bowl style sinks. Heated stone tile floor, heated toilet seat and the best of the best shower.

The king size bed was super comfy.

The fire place area was lovely.

There was a nice large desk area for computer work.

Free wi-fi.

I could go on and on. But the moral of the story is, spend your hard earned dollars at this place because you get more for your dollar than anywhere else in the Mammoth area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #113, the fireplace suite. It was great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I cannot say enough nice things about this wonderful hotel!! I cannot vouch for any of the other rooms as we stayed in one of the Fireplace Suites and absolutely loved our room. It was spacious with a small fully equipped kitchen area, sitting room area in front of the fireplace and a bed so huge you needed a step-stool (yes, one was provided) to climb up onto it.

Stayed here for 3 nights & could not wait to have an early dinner to get back and relax in front of the fire each night after either soaking in the deep bath or having a shower in the duel headed shower booth big enough for 4 and wearing the thick toweling dressing gowns they provided. And yes everyone has commented on the heated toilet seat.........now I know why - I LOVED it!! As well as the heated bathroom floors

Internet was a bit slow as others have commented as the hotel got busier over the weekend but we could live with it as we were there to relax.

The hotel staff were very friendly & attentive, especially the receptionist who took the time to recommend various places to visit & eat at. On our last day we asked to see some of the cabins that could accommodate as family visit & the manager was nice enough to arrange for someone to take us & show us around

Spend the little bit extra to stay in the Fireplace Suite.........you will not be disappointed - look out for specials too as their Fall special was only $135/night

We will stay there again & will highly recommended this place to our friends & family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I only stayed one night but all was good. No wifi in the the room only in reception and no complimentary breakfast of any sort
The receptionist was very helpful in getting information about our onward journey and stay in Yosemite as the Government shutdown started that morning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martinthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

All the rustic charm with all the modern amenities. The bed was amazing; the sheets and comforter and pillows were coZy and perfect. We didn't want to wake up. The wall sconces in the hall were so cute. It was obvious that the owners put a lot of individual attention into the decor. Great big fire in lobby and a pool table. Jacuzzi was big and inviting. Staff v helpful. All thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alljoytome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We traveled to Mammoth Lakes, California with two of our dogs in early September. Samantha, the friendly and helpful young lady at the desk, upgraded us to a nicer room. What a surprise!! Ususally when we travel with dogs we pay more and seem to get a downgrade!

The room was super clean and quiet. The bed and pillows were excellent. The bathroom was gorgeous with a natural wood vanity and dual head shower. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gseaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife booked a room the day before we decided to go on our last minute mammoth honey moon. When we got there michael assured that our last minute booking was no issue and they made it one of the most memorable times in mammoth for my wife and I. We will stay there again and we've recommended to all our friends. Thank you Michael and staff!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJGomez1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing