We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed recently at the Sierra Nevada Resort and truly enjoyed my experience. I stayed in one of the newly renovated suites which were very large for a typical hotel suite. I fell asleep with the fireplace on, extremely comfortable bed and top of the line linens. I have never stayed at a hotel with a toilet seat warmer. Never realized I couldn't live without one until now! Everything in the room was top quality and the character of the room décor was the epitome of what Mammoth Lakes is all about. I can't wait to go back, this time with snow on the ground.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 853 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. The lady at check in was very helpful and we received a free upgrade to the fireplace suite. The room was fantastic, very large and incredibly well equipped. We were exceptionally comfortable here and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Suite is Fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just stayed for 1 night and the room was really nice with a good bathroom and shower. The service was really good. As other reviewers have said, there isn't much of a view, but the location is good and close to restaurants etc. Would like to stay in Mammoth Lakes for longer and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 2 nights here on our trip around california. It was fine. I'm reviewing all the hotels I stayed at, but not got a lot to say about this one. We didn't use the hotel restaurants but the room was comfortable (the views are not very special - car parks both sides), and there is a laundry room for guests to use which is really useful and cheap. Service was mixed: on check-in we seemingly irritated the receptionist by asking for a room on the second floor (an error in hindsight, as there is no lift), but on finding a massive black bear helping itself to the contents of another guest's car, the man working on the night shift went and scared it off, which I think is probably above the call of duty (and very cool to watch).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebirdnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived in town with no reservations, saw the Sierra Nevada Resort. Stopped in to see if they had a rooms available, they had a standard king and a king suite. They upgraded us to the King suite for a great price. Kat was working the front desk, she was wonderful. The owners have done a outstanding job in updating and renovation this hotel. Our room was amazing, it had a rock faced fireplace, a four poster bed that was so tall that they have a step stool next to the bed. The bathroom had heated floor and toilet seat, and a huge glass shower and nice separate tub. The furniture and decor was very upscale. The hot tub was huge, enough for you and probably 20 friends. The place was very clean. My husband and I are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived to late and to tired to set up camp. We checked out Tripadvisor for best reviews and picked Sierra Nevada Resort. It was better than we imagined. Had the best sleep ever! Will be back without the camp gear. Thank you Michael for your hospitatlity and taking such good care of us at a late hour. Steph

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

In over five years…. After doing all my homework about rates and services all these hotels in town have to offer, I compared the top 6 or 7 on Trip Advisor. And let me tell you, none of them hold a candle to The Sierra Nevada Resort.

Me and my friend, we are both semi-retired. Wanted a simple room with two beds nothing more nothing less.
We got so much more than we expected. The “deluxe two queens” at the Resort was great. The colors in the rooms along with the linen were very tastefully done. The wood trim is great, the colors in the room makes your taste buds wake up. The pictures in the room were very classy. And the bathrooms are great. Didn’t like the fridge in it, but overall the bathroom is very functional.

the hallways were great too clean and elegant.

They have a few restaurant’s on property, I was their middle of the week Jimmy’s was closed, I was told it was fabulous. Rafter was great as well. Breakfast was amazing!!

The lobby, was very well done, classical music was playing, some other guests were playing pool. They have a bar, it was closed.
The staff was very nice and helped me with every request I had and suggested on what to do in the area as well!!

A definite place to come back in the winter and holidays time…

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjj434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
837 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $136 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing